Should Black Parents give their children European names?
Sizzla Kalonji? At first I thought it was a new artist. Kalonji are small black seeds used as a flavoring for foods and as an herbal remedy.
Perhaps if Black parents started giving their children real African names, they wouldn't have a need to make up names when they grow up. His parents named him Miguel Orlando Collins. I wonda if dem mix wid Italian, Spanish or Portuguese?
Miguel is Spanish or Portuguese for Michael.
The name Orlando derives as an Italian version of the name “Roland,” which stems from the Old High German “Hruodland” meaning “renowned land,” “famous land” or “fame of the land.” It is a combination of “hruod” meaning “fame” and “land” meaning “land.”
No wondah de pickney dem confuse and ave fe mek up name.
Last edited by Tropicana; 08-21-2013, 10:14 AM.
i have heard cases where resume's are discounted because of ethnic sounding names...so people i know have opted for "white" names to make sue their kids don't face this.
I also know people who give their kids White name but call them by other names not shown on the birth certificate.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
i think they should give their children african american name - it is unique to D'Shea, D'Shawn and D'Andre.
my daughter has an african name, but she's a girl and it's a pretty name. i'm not gonna call my son kofi because i've never set foot in africa, besides i notice a lot of african simons, olivers, samuels and josephs.
My African friend was checking out at a grocery store in Washington, DC, with her twin sons, David and Eric. When the cashier asked asked and heard their names, she told my friend that if she had twin boys she would name them Dante and DeLante. My friend was like
Originally posted by RichD View Posti have heard cases where resume's are discounted because of ethnic sounding names...so people i know have opted for "white" names to make sue their kids don't face this.
I also know people who give their kids White name but call them by other names not shown on the birth certificate.
same here...very true...example...friend name Jason...nobody but immediate family and close friends know that name...everyone else knows him as Montrel or Trel
Originally posted by Peasie View PostMy African friend was checking out at a grocery store in Washington, DC, with her twin sons, David and Eric. When the cashier asked asked and heard their names, she told my friend that if she had twin boys she would name them Dante and DeLante. My friend was like
For now, she remains happy with her three bundles of joy - Danniela, Daniela and Denniel.
Funny this thread should come up as we are all coming up with names for a family member who is expecting a boy and a girl. The expectant parents do not want an english sounding nor an african/arabic sounding name so we are looking at Egyptian/ Ethiopian/Polynesian
edited to add: The girl's name is set but still working on the boy's nameIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Originally posted by kia027 View PostFunny this thread should come up as we are all coming up with names for a family member who is expecting a boy and a girl. The expectant parents do not want an english sounding nor an african/arabic sounding name so we are looking at Egyptian/ Ethiopian/Polynesian
edited to add: The girl's name is set but still working on the boy's name