Re: Sunday dinner feb 20
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Skelly</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: johnnycakes</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Dessert: Concord grape pie w/ French vanilla ice cream
(Grapes are frozen from last fall's back yard harvest.) </div></div>
interesting..never knew grape cudda mek pie...how yu mek di filling?
Not very easily Skelly,
There are only two kinds of grapes that are what they call slipskins: the skin just slides off the "eyeball" center when you squeeze them. Of the two, only Concord grapes (native to the northeast ) have enough flavor for a pie. If you have more, you can cook it up per instructions below and freeze in 3 cup batches for pies to cook whenever you want and when Concords are not in season..
Process: go find or grow a big pile of grapes. Pop the skins off the grapes, putting the skins in one bowl and the eyeballs in another discarding bad grapes and bugs along the way. Make sure the skins have no seeds left in them. When you have at least three cups of grapes, cook the eyeball parts in a pot and after about twenty minutes or so the eyeballs will all liquefy. Pour it through a strainer keeping the liquid and discarding the seeds. Then mix in the skins and simmer another twenty minutes.
For a pie you need three cups of this mixture. Add in 1/2 cup of flour, one cup of sugar or Splenda, a tablespoon of lemon juice and two tablespoons of melted butter.
Pour into unbaked pie shell.
Bake for about 40 minutes at 375 degreesF.
While it bakes, mix 1/2 cup flour with 1/2 cup SUGAR (no Splenda here ) and cut in a half stick of unsalted butter (1/8th lb) with a pastry cutter until you have all nice fine crumbs. At the 40 minute mark, take out the pie and spread the crumbed mixture evenly over the top and bake for another 15 minutes.
When done you can eat as is or serve with vanilla ice cream.
Recipe is from recent memory so it should be good.
I'll check later and get back to you if any corrections are needed which I doubt.
Warning: the eyeball popping is a lot of work and you should have a partner and a spliff to help make the work go more pleasantly and faster.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Skelly</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: johnnycakes</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Dessert: Concord grape pie w/ French vanilla ice cream
(Grapes are frozen from last fall's back yard harvest.) </div></div>
interesting..never knew grape cudda mek pie...how yu mek di filling?
</div></div>Not very easily Skelly,
There are only two kinds of grapes that are what they call slipskins: the skin just slides off the "eyeball" center when you squeeze them. Of the two, only Concord grapes (native to the northeast ) have enough flavor for a pie. If you have more, you can cook it up per instructions below and freeze in 3 cup batches for pies to cook whenever you want and when Concords are not in season..
Process: go find or grow a big pile of grapes. Pop the skins off the grapes, putting the skins in one bowl and the eyeballs in another discarding bad grapes and bugs along the way. Make sure the skins have no seeds left in them. When you have at least three cups of grapes, cook the eyeball parts in a pot and after about twenty minutes or so the eyeballs will all liquefy. Pour it through a strainer keeping the liquid and discarding the seeds. Then mix in the skins and simmer another twenty minutes.
For a pie you need three cups of this mixture. Add in 1/2 cup of flour, one cup of sugar or Splenda, a tablespoon of lemon juice and two tablespoons of melted butter.
Pour into unbaked pie shell.
Bake for about 40 minutes at 375 degreesF.
While it bakes, mix 1/2 cup flour with 1/2 cup SUGAR (no Splenda here ) and cut in a half stick of unsalted butter (1/8th lb) with a pastry cutter until you have all nice fine crumbs. At the 40 minute mark, take out the pie and spread the crumbed mixture evenly over the top and bake for another 15 minutes.
When done you can eat as is or serve with vanilla ice cream.
Recipe is from recent memory so it should be good.
I'll check later and get back to you if any corrections are needed which I doubt.
Warning: the eyeball popping is a lot of work and you should have a partner and a spliff to help make the work go more pleasantly and faster.