for those that do....how do u do...cook it (or not)...that is.
Kale
Re: Kale
The only kale I remember eating was indian kale as a child...
My mother used to add it to soup, steam it and add to ackee and saltfish, etc. Indian kale btw is same as Taro (aka elephant ear plant)
Is it the same kale you are referring to CeeBea?
I eat Kale about once every other week. I go between Kale, Collards, Spinach, etc. I cook them all the same way. Steam with onions...sometimes I add smoked turkey sometimes not. Kale (like Collards) take a bit longer to cook.
when mi mek omelettes with it.....
Yeah it sound
any leafy greens dat tough and tek too long fi cook not worth it fi me.
but maybe it can pass when it juice up wid other things
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">if i recall it tase
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CeaBee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
for those that do....how do u do...cook it (or not)...that is. </div></div>
flling it in a blender like the BWDW and mek a juice out of it!If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Kale Chips are the BEST! Even the kids will eat them. coat kale leaves lightly with Olive oil...sprinkle with garlic salt and bake them on a cookie sheet at 350 for 10-15 minutes or until crisp...I cant cook them fast enough around here...the family nyam them up as fast as I take them out of the oven.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CeaBee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">ok thanks
crossing off mi list.....i had collard green this past weekend and me nuh tink me like it..so chances are.. </div></div>
Kale tastes very similar to collards. I sometimes mix the two together in one pot.
Way 1: You can cook them southern style for a long time until all the vitamins are in what is called the pot liquor lol which you absorb with cornbread. Basically you get some seasoning meat going in a pot for about 10 minutes, add garlic and scallion, and then add freshly washed greens. Add a bit of olive oil or vegetable oil and some pepper and then cover and turn to low. They make their own juice as they simmer.
Way 2: Heat about a tablespoon of olive in a skillet and add a bit of chopped garlic. Roll the leaves into a tight bundle and slice thinly (think it's called a chiffonade cut). Stir fry for a few minutes and squeeze lemon juice over it and lightly sprinkle with salt.
Way 3: Steam in low sodium chicken broth until tender
Kale is nothing like spinach in taste or texture. As compared to collards, it has a sweeter taste; some people find collards bitter.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Kale tastes very similar to collards</div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">As compared to collards, it has a sweeter taste; some people find collards bitter.</div></div>
u is a very confusing woman miss tulip
yes that's why i didn't like collard greens- because of the bitter taste
I think if i gwine try them i gwine try ochigal's baking method. mi caan bother stand up over stove fi vegetable.
me --------------> lazy cook
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CeaBee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">u is a very confusing woman miss tulip
yes that's why i didn't like collard greens- because of the bitter taste
I think if i gwine try them i gwine try ochigal's baking method. mi caan bother stand up over stove fi vegetable.
me --------------> lazy cook
I know I can be CB lol.
The textures are almost the same, but the taste of kale is sweeter. It wasn't until I got to the end of typing how I cook kale that I remembered some people add a couple of pinches of sugar to collards even though I don't.
Kale is very good to me so I hope you enjoy. Be sure and report back on how you liked the kale chips.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MrsOchigal</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Kale Chips are the BEST! Even the kids will eat them. coat kale leaves lightly with Olive oil...sprinkle with garlic salt and bake them on a cookie sheet at 350 for 10-15 minutes or until crisp...I cant cook them fast enough around here...the family nyam them up as fast as I take them out of the oven. </div></div>