Re: So Apparently Cah Mi is Jamaican
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SPOTS</div><div class="ubbcode-body">This thread makes me wonder though if there actually is a problem.
Without being emotive, is "IT" whatever IT is, something that we can seriously identify as something that is preventing some of us from progressing in the workplace?
Where I work, there is a stereotype about Jamaicans "having a bad attitude". That is often said about us women (me included) and my defense is that I am here to work and not make friends. I feel that there are times that I might seem unapproachable, because I too, don't grin and LOL at everything.
I am usually very serious at work, but reading this thread and based on feedback I have received during performance evaluation, I am now wondering if I am indeed sending the wrong message. I do not hesitate to laugh at myself and each other when I an with family and friends, but my coworkers would never know that.
If I were to change something, I would perhaps smile more and become more engaging (not necessarily social), but is that all there is to it? Is it really a part of our culture to appear unapproachable and serious? I don't think so, yet many outsiders are convinced.
I plan to trial a change starting today and see how my coworkers respond/react. What do I have to lose? </div></div>
I have noted many, <span style="font-style: italic">many</span> Jamaican women acting so unfriendly, especially those in a customer relations field, that it is just plain embarrassing. It's like if they tried to crack a smile, their face would crumble or supm...
While I understand not wanting to get <span style="font-style: italic">too</span> friendly, I have learnt that some amount of 'friendliness' is required, especially if you are looking to advance in that environment.
I don't do the after hours get-togethers either. I am always asked. I always decline. Yet, I am friendly at work without getting <span style="font-style: italic">too</span> friendly.
I am not a butt kisser. I have the tendency to be very blunt, but with a smile. Funny how much easier it is for someone to take criticism if it is delivered with a smile...
Anyway, with ILP's history at that place, I can't blame her for being 'standoffish'... However, I know of lots of other women, especially young Jamaican women, who need to stop wearing the badge 'mi come yah fi wok, not fi look fren' at work.
They're just shooting themselves in the foot. This is North America after all...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SPOTS</div><div class="ubbcode-body">This thread makes me wonder though if there actually is a problem.
Without being emotive, is "IT" whatever IT is, something that we can seriously identify as something that is preventing some of us from progressing in the workplace?
Where I work, there is a stereotype about Jamaicans "having a bad attitude". That is often said about us women (me included) and my defense is that I am here to work and not make friends. I feel that there are times that I might seem unapproachable, because I too, don't grin and LOL at everything.
I am usually very serious at work, but reading this thread and based on feedback I have received during performance evaluation, I am now wondering if I am indeed sending the wrong message. I do not hesitate to laugh at myself and each other when I an with family and friends, but my coworkers would never know that.
If I were to change something, I would perhaps smile more and become more engaging (not necessarily social), but is that all there is to it? Is it really a part of our culture to appear unapproachable and serious? I don't think so, yet many outsiders are convinced.
I plan to trial a change starting today and see how my coworkers respond/react. What do I have to lose? </div></div>
I have noted many, <span style="font-style: italic">many</span> Jamaican women acting so unfriendly, especially those in a customer relations field, that it is just plain embarrassing. It's like if they tried to crack a smile, their face would crumble or supm...
While I understand not wanting to get <span style="font-style: italic">too</span> friendly, I have learnt that some amount of 'friendliness' is required, especially if you are looking to advance in that environment.
I don't do the after hours get-togethers either. I am always asked. I always decline. Yet, I am friendly at work without getting <span style="font-style: italic">too</span> friendly.
I am not a butt kisser. I have the tendency to be very blunt, but with a smile. Funny how much easier it is for someone to take criticism if it is delivered with a smile...
Anyway, with ILP's history at that place, I can't blame her for being 'standoffish'... However, I know of lots of other women, especially young Jamaican women, who need to stop wearing the badge 'mi come yah fi wok, not fi look fren' at work.
They're just shooting themselves in the foot. This is North America after all...
mi skin mi grin wid dem
mi will beat a juice at team event or at work but not enuf fi lose mi mind and become unprofessional

Thanks.
) you know whe yuh a talk bout an yuh fren husban know whe im si.