OH MY GOSH!!!...Me cyan believe she do it again...another whole day without an installment....
me done wid dis post ya see....ME SAY ME DONE!!!!
Me naw come back...me no care...me hope BB break a nail next time she try fe type... ME GONE! Likkle more peeps. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70400-talktohand.gif[/img]
My team lead is a woman who I just adored. She is probably the funniest person I have ever met in my entire life. I thought she and I had really hit it off, as she was the person who ended up providing most of the training that I needed.
I thought we had hit it off until just a few weeks before my hysterical outburst I heard her talking about me. Someone was talking about me to her, and I heard her chime in with her own little comment. At that point I stopped talking to her, I stopped joking with her, and I simply tuned her out with all of the others. This is a woman that I respected and really enjoyed working with. When I heard her talking about me, it seriously hurt. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img] She is a grown woman, and one of the most intelligent and most unbelievably funny women I know.
So when everyone else has left the room, she lets me just sit there and sob for a minute while I pull myself together. Internally, I am kicking myself for crying like that in the first place. Internally I am embarrassed for appearing so young and foolish in front of my co-workers. If they thought I was a drama queen, there was no disputing it now. I was feeling incredibly stupid and small.
The team lead looks me dead in the eye and says “Do you think we don’t know?” “We alllllll know. We have all worked here a long time. We have all worked with Amanda (my team mate) a long time. We know she is unorganized, we know she isn’t pulling her weight. Why do you think she was working solo for so long before you came? This whole organization knows this about her.” The team lead also goes on to tell me how threatened Amanda is by me. How Amanda, and the rest of the team, is well aware that I could very well be the person that gets Amanda fired. Amanda apparently has expressed her fear to the team lead, and to other members of the staff, and has been working very hard to get me out of the job.
I am shocked.
Shocked that all of the things I am hearing are common knowledge among the staff. I have been thinking this entire time that I am the outsider to this very tight nitch of people who have all worked together for a long time. I had been feeling that I didn’t fit in b/c I couldn’t make the relationship work. I had no idea so many people knew how hard I was working, and how bad the relationship was, and that I wasn’t really to blame for it. I could barely find the words to speak so instead I cried even more. The entire time I am kicking myself for it but I can’t seem to make myself stop.
The team lead lets me cry and continues to affirm all the things I have been thinking about my team mate from day one. The more she speaks the more the shock wears off. Now I am getting mad. Everyone has known this about her for this long, yet I have been suffering? It is obvious I have been made the outsider even though it appeared the entire company was in agreement with me and my feelings about Amanda. Why have I been made to feel this way? Why has this been ignored until now? Why, in all of my attempts to communicate this to my manager has it always failed? Why hasn’t anything been done about this?
I have already shamed myself by crying like a 2 year old, there is no holding back at this point. I get mad, angry, visibly so, and I tell the team lead everything going through my head. She confirms that I have been treated like an outsider, intentionally, by just about every member on our team. She says she can’t explain it except to say they have all worked together for a long time and I a new. This seems to justify it in her mind. Not in mine. I am still [censored]. I tell her I heard her and just about every other member of the team talking about me behind my back. I tell her I thought she and I had hit it off until I heard her say the things she said. I pointed out the team mate who was laughing at me just a few minutes prior, and wondered what I had ever done to her to make her dislike me so much.
She is looking embarrassed and uncomfortable. She apologizes to me up and down, left and right, and agrees she needs to do better. She tells me that she will go to our manager on my behalf and be sure that something is done to lighten my work load and kick my team mates butt into gear. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
Apparently our manager is kept in the dark regarding a lot of issues, the team all covers for one another. (Personally I like this about our team, but not when it is detrimental to me!) He is a happy manager as long as no one is rocking the boat. The team lead swears to me, that our manager will listen to her, b/c she isn’t the new girl… like me. She tells me she is making it her priority. I am too valuable an employee and too hard a worker for the company to loose. It’s funny to hear her say these things, when she a few weeks ago I overheard her say I was too hard a worker and was making everyone look bad. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif[/img]
I am so irritated at the conversation.
I can’t believe I work for a company, where just b/c you are new and don’t exactly “fit in” with the culture in the office, you are immediately treated like an alien. When I met with the Executive Director of the company during my interview process, he said to me, “we need some new blood. We need to shake things up and get these people back on their toes. I think you are just the person to do it.” I had no idea how much weight there was in that sentence. Why bring me in with that assumption, and then ignore every attempt I made to start the ball rolling to make slight changes? Why hasn’t management listened to me at all? Why does it take one of the people who have been there the longest to get things done? I am questioning this “rising star” business as well. If they really think so highly of me, why not take me seriously enough to kick my team mates butt into gear already? Have they been lying to me this entire time, just to get me to stay there?
I left the meeting emotionally drained. I went back to my office and tried to concentrate on work. Sometime during the day my manager knocked on my office door and asked “How did the presentation go?” Obviously no one had spoken to him yet to tell him I didn’t present. I replied with “Oh well… I presented something. It wasn’t exactly what everyone wanted, but it was something.” Sensing that there was some hidden meaning behind my statement that would rock the boat, my manager just smiled and walked away.
I didn’t know what way to turn or what to do. I decided to climb the stairs and look for Orville. He and I had developed a nice friendship/working relationship at this point. I mean, we had a sort of history; it was almost like he was a member of my family! We were always chatting in the hallways at work when we passed one another. We spoke about work a lot, he had also been helping me learn the ropes, and we spoke about Jamaica, it turns out he has some family that went to college with Red. I am not sure what made me want to talk to him. I just wanted some confirmation that I wasn’t loosing my mind, that somehow the company I worked for really was a crazy environment, and I myself wasn’t crazy.
but what happened wiht Orville or haven't you finished climbing the steps yet?????????????
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img]
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] Well, there are 6 flights of stairs between our offices. Fortunately he is on the same wing as me though. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.