yeah but when de come, me can point out seh mi married to a jamaican man [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: coolbeans</div><div class="ubbcode-body">True nursey..i actually found it easier to get along with non-jamaican men.
me too. in fact, mi noh like dem at all and that's just the ones i've met. naturally, mi can't seh nott'n bout di ones them i haven't met. i just can't stand their natural arrogance and their weird attitudes toward women.
So funny, I've been thinking about this very same topic for a while; and even more so since I visited JA this Xmas...I would date anyone of any culture as long as they are interesting and respectful and intelligent. But for the longterm/marriage/life-time partnership, it has got to be at the very least someone from the Caribbean, with Jamaican at the very top of that list. I love the multiculturality of Canada and more power to the inter-cultural couples, but I don't have the patience to be constantly explaining/translating my culture, especially after having lived away from Jamaica for most of my life and having fairly recently "rediscovered" it...
I still like J'can women but I am dating a woman from another culture. Everyday can be a battle with west indian women. I would rather cooperate with a woman than have a home life where every situation devolves into open combat.
<span style="color: #3333FF"> [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70377-loveeyes.gif[/img] is the first Jamaican man that I've been with and yes, I prefer him above all others. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif[/img] </span>
man Jamaican men..they've got that ting [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70377-loveeyes.gif[/img]...but no me cyaan seriously si meself wid one of dem..<s>me nu tink </s>dem cyan <s>could </s>hangle me [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: B_P</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I still like J'can women but I am dating a woman from another culture. Everyday can be a battle with west indian women. I would rather cooperate with a woman than have a home life where every situation devolves into open combat. </div></div>
wait a minute. Are you puerto rican saying JA women are argumentative? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/confused.gif[/img] :P
I don't know any that are that way, particularly when it comes to being in a relationship that's inter-cultural or inter-racial. What have your experiences been papi? :P [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/confused.gif[/img]
I see a lot of stereotyping happening in this post...
I'll say this - I have been in serious ,long term relationships with non Jamaicans... a white German, a Black American (my ex husband and father of my child) I have now come full circle and am with a Jamaican.
I can't say whether he loves me the more than the others did, but for me the realtionship is much easier because he gets *IT*
and that *IT* factor includes, my sense of humour, my patois, my love of certain foods, my constantly quoting Jamaican proverbs, why my child has to go to private school an wear uniform, my dancing, mi love of soca, why I'll trade sex for Stew Peas... why Bogle can never die... why money always has to be in the budget to go home once or twice a year... he gets it all... and that makes life that much easier for me and cuts down on half the potential arguments we could have.
Now - is not every Jamaican man I could be with - just being Jamaican doesn;t automatically qualify you... there are many Ja. men who I have absolutley nothing in common with. So you still have to find that person that you connect with outside of the common culture...
but to answer the question... Yes , I prefer a Jamaican Mate. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jazz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Now - is not every Jamaican man I could be with - just being Jamaican doesn;t automatically qualify you... there are many Ja. men who I have absolutley nothing in common with. So you still have to find that person that you connect with outside of the common culture...</div></div>
dats where me did leff off too... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bannana_purple.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bannana_purple.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nunya</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jazz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Now - is not every Jamaican man I could be with - just being Jamaican doesn;t automatically qualify you... there are many Ja. men who I have absolutley nothing in common with. So you still have to find that person that you connect with outside of the common culture...</div></div>
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.