<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: justblue</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <span style="color: #3333FF">I was thinking the same thing. Wedding? Ten years? Geez. </span> </div></div>
...as a matter of fact, I went to Ochi for my honeymoon! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70365-flirt.gif[/img] We loved it so much we went back 2 years later...and met up with all of the ppl we met the first time around...hoping to go back in March and see them...see if they're still around....
...not going to speak about the ex no more and not going to "hijack" this thread no more! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
The feelings when you're finally free are wierd...
When I moved into this place, I'd be at work and start stressing about going home to whoever happened to be in a bad mood that day or did I miss a crumb when I washed down the counter? Did I leave the spoon from my coffee in the sink?
Then I'd realize... I LIVE ALONE!! And my whole day would immediately improve!! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70459-hugs.gif[/img]
Now I am sooo happy to come home!
You'll see it was well worth the $200 or so she left with without paying just to be free of "the roommate" [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70371-jump.gif[/img]
I left on ok terms and we were friends for 30+ years. Any longer and we wouldn't be friends anymore.
Congrats on your new peace of mind. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
My former roomie, that I've spoken about so many times, used to cause me to dread going home. As a single mom, I could not begin to express how draining that is - rooming with someone who spent the majority of their time locked away their room, or ketching attitude about the least little thing.
So I can relate to Bandanna. I mean, this woman actually called me while I was at work one day, to let me know that I should wash the stuff I'd left in the sink. When I came home, I saw that she'd picked out the utensils she'd used and left mine.
How petty was that ish??? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70400-talktohand.gif[/img]
But on the flip side, before I had my child, I had to live with someone who had kids. We had an arrangement: I would be a parttime caregiver for her 3 kids, and in exchange I got room and board.
In no time, I was watching those kids round the clock. Weekends and midnight. Kids would be coming to me for whatever. Where was their mom? Acting like she was young, free and single... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70400-talktohand.gif[/img]
After I started to work and I started to contribute (I could appreciate that she had it difficult as a single mom) she began to ketch attitude.
It's like, I was moving on up and how dare I not want to watch de pickney dem so dat she can go out at 11 oclock a night time??? She started talking chit about me - even though I wasn't eating her food and I was paying rent for the tiny corner of the house.
She figured that when I got home from work, I could stay with the kids while she'd go out. I should do dishes, I should vacuum, I should wash the bathroom...
It's a position I hope to God I never ever find myself in again... it's not a pretty place to be...
Thank you all for reading my Rant [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70392-silly.gif[/img] and lending you support and feedback... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
Magic LadyZ and My Silver Batty friend... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif[/img] you don't know how bad I wanted to box her ears at times. But I am a lover, not a fighter, and I kept thinking things would get better. I saw the things that Nunya pointed out, and I wanted happiness for all of us... Towards the end I just kept telling myself to hold back one more day, one more day...
Nunya [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif[/img]
[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] bout sex in the Woody... I would not have minded that at all...
Boy that man was nice looking [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70377-loveeyes.gif[/img] and his $400 dollars sure did save me!!
Nina [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70459-hugs.gif[/img] there may be a day that I forgive and forget, but I don't see myself ever calling this person friend again... this experience made me really reflect over the years, and how her "irresponsibility" was often selfishness and disregard for others... I do not need friends like that [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70400-talktohand.gif[/img]
Q.K. Yes, it feels so good to be here tonight just the little man and I [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
I understand a little bit more where your first reactions came from... I know there were times when she felt unappreciated too, and there were plenty times when she did help, in other ways besides watch the pikney...
But as soon as I came home, I was Mama. I love my baby more than I have ever loved anything in my life. And I have a lot of love in me so that's saying something... She did watch him a couple times so I could go out for a date or something, but not all the time. I do not have to freedom to be out galavanting all the time. I am a mother and I take that roll seriously. My mother was a wonderful woman, and I hope to be half the lady she was...
Thanks for sharing your experiences... there is always 2 sides to every coin.
Regarding mothers: My mom raised 8 kids. And there was a time when we lived in a little two bedroom house (2 kids had moved on by then) so it was 6 kids and my mom & dad.
Yet, she took in her friend, her friend's man, and her friend's kid.
So while I resented that chit back then (I was a teen), I was still awed by the size of her heart. And I always felt that any such generosity shown me later in life, would be a direct fruitage of her own goodness.
But gi yuh joke: The couple that she took in, she took them in with the intention that they be there for a few weeks.
Months started to come and go and de people dem nah budge. Is like dem get toooo comfortable... They weren't paying my mom (the deal was that they saved enough money for a month to get their own place) but months and months and no money... in a two bedroom house... wid 8 adda people...
Until one day, my quiet mother, who hardly ever said more than 2 words to any one person, went off.
Mi say, she tell dat ooman some [censored]. I neva know say mi madda coulda cuss so [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/eek2.gif[/img] Some words come outta har mout mek mi look pan har like: who the heck are you???? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/confused.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/blush.gif[/img]
But it worked man. By the next day, dem move out. An yeah, dat was de end of dat friendship, but damn, why people mus ovastay dem welcome so man??? ~lol~
Bandy if yu se har again..just wish har well, yaw. She sounds as if she had issues that are gonna follow her no matta wear she goes [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img]
...OR, she'll have an experience or meet someone that opens her eyes to let he see herself for who/what she really is...and just perhaps she will be able to deal with that knowledge of "self" and do something about it...ya nevva know! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
Wow, Bandy! I read your story last night and this morning. What a load of ish, but I am glad it is over. You do not need all of that negativity around you or your son. Lesson learned, and move on. I am betting on 2007 being a great year for you! Bless.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.