This has happened a number of times, always with men and it happened tome again yesterday when I was waiting for the transfer bus at the hotel.
Out of the blue, a man will walk up to me and say "You're Jamaican right?" It's always Jamaican men who does this, never women.
Now I can understand if this happens in Toronto as the Jamaican community is sizeable here but I am talking places like New York, Vegas and Florida where the majority of Black people are African American and there are also a ton of Black Latinas.
I don't have a Jamaican accent so how are these men spotting me....or is this a pick up line and do they just walk up to every Black woman they see and ask "You're Jamaican right?" or "Are you Jamaican?"
Out of the blue, a man will walk up to me and say "You're Jamaican right?" It's always Jamaican men who does this, never women.
Now I can understand if this happens in Toronto as the Jamaican community is sizeable here but I am talking places like New York, Vegas and Florida where the majority of Black people are African American and there are also a ton of Black Latinas.
I don't have a Jamaican accent so how are these men spotting me....or is this a pick up line and do they just walk up to every Black woman they see and ask "You're Jamaican right?" or "Are you Jamaican?"
--- they're just honing in on you in the hopes that you drap babby
Thinking about what Suesumba said. Maybe that is why in any part of the world as soon as you say you're from Jamaica....the men get all excited. Even the Arabs and Latinos who barely speak English get all excited..."Oh Jamaica", yacking away in Arabic or Spanish, motioning for you to sit with them. Happened with an Argentinian the other night.
pon all my
and getting all excited are usually Arabs, European or Latino.
before blugian, jah_yout, and Emperah come
Does anybody ever really fall or this stuff.

fi true.
All of that is without any alcohol. What more smash you want?
Look like you wan' tun me into a memba a your