<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/enpFde5rgmw"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/enpFde5rgmw" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
Do you hate your hair?
Re: Do you hate your hair? - no Because I am Not My Hair!
This is one of my favorite songs of all time - I love this Lady and what a POWERFUL MESSAGE!
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/OZH6lKxA_q0"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/OZH6lKxA_q0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
Jah_Yout
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/enpFde5rgmw"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/enpFde5rgmw" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
white guy encouraging black girls to love their hair
saw him on cnn yesterday...
apparently he wrote this song because he adopted a baby girl from ethiopia...
as she got older he noticed she wanted the straight hair that she saw on tv which is always portrayed as the image of true beauty;
he even mentioned that modern day stepin fetchit named chris rock's movie "good hair"...
it took a white guy? this is truly sad
Re: Jah_Yout
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Stormmey1</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Jay_Yout I love your air too
i'm posting inna GD
this is more social issue than style & fashion...
sad that it took a white guy to do this
but he is absolutely on the money...
little asian girls are not being forced to get afros so why are little african girls being forced to straighten
i actually caught the guy on CNN yesterday...
he has an adopted ethiopian daughter so he noticed after a while that it was straight hair alone presented in the media as 'beautiful'..and his daughter became obsessed with getting straight hair...
a white guy can see it but most black women still have heads in the sand
Re: white guy encouraging black girls to love their hair
Many, if not most women I see out in public in Jamaica wear hair that is, lets call it rootless.
Only the Rootswomen Rasta and those naturals that sport the Sista Locks seem to have real hair visible.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i actually caught the guy on CNN yesterday...
he has an adopted ethiopian daughter so he noticed after a while that it was straight hair alone presented in the media as 'beautiful'..and his daughter became obsessed with getting straight hair...
a white guy can see it but most black women still have heads in the sand </div></div>
It doesn`t matter to them.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jazz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">This is one of my favorite songs of all time - I love this Lady and what a POWERFUL MESSAGE!
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/OZH6lKxA_q0"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/OZH6lKxA_q0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
love india arie but i don't agree with it;
if we are not our hair, why are black girls taught from a young age that their hair is a birth defect that should be changed as soon as possible...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Q3210</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Many, if not most women I see out in public in Jamaica wear hair that is, lets call it rootless.
Only the Rootswomen Rasta and those naturals that sport the Sista Locks seem to have real hair visible. </div></div>
i think it's actually changing...
i see far more women wearing natural hair now than say, in the 80's...;
the 80's was a backlash to all the naturalism going on in the 60's & 70's..
even pam grier cremed out
I think you are exaggerating a bit... I don;t think black girls are taught that their hair is a "defect" - Of course they are going to be influenced by societal standards of beauty but believe it or not a lot of hair choices have to do with manageability and ease of styling etc.
You are doing exactly what the song says - judging someone BECAUSE Of their hair... your hair does not and should not be a definition of what you stand for as a person.
Do you think that one black woman is better than another because she chooses not to alter the condition of her hair chemically? does it make her more aware of herself as a black woman? the fact is that it tells you nothing about that person except her choice of hairstyles.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jazz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">This is one of my favorite songs of all time - I love this Lady and what a POWERFUL MESSAGE!
love india arie but i don't agree with it;
if we are not our hair, why are black girls taught from a young age that their hair is a birth defect that should be changed as soon as possible...
I love my hair and I also love that at whim I can make it short or long...straight or curly....black or brown...or red...
nothing to do with self hatred but just loving change....i am wearing my hair in a short bob now and I absolutely love it!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I think you are exaggerating a bit... I don;t think black girls are taught that their hair is a "defect" - Of course they are going to be influenced by societal standards of beauty but believe it or not a lot of hair choices have to do with manageability and ease of styling etc. </div></div>
this is the standard response, but i grew up seeing women taking the hot comb or hot creme to their head due to "nappy" hair was seen as ugly or unacceptable.
i have seen girls/women refuse to go outside or without a hat due to their hair not being in a straightened form
i am not assuming anything- this is from experience-
i have seen little black girls with perms, but i never see others forcing afros or braids on their daughters or forcing them to get a suntan.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">You are doing exactly what the song says - judging someone BECAUSE Of their hair... your hair does not and should not be a definition of what you stand for as a person.</div></div>
i have judged no one...
i saw the guy on CNN & he was talking about how his daughter did not seem to like her own hair...where have i heard this before?
oh yea- the black doll/ white doll experiment...but we are in denial ;
why should people hate the way god made them?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Do you think that one black woman is better than another because she chooses not to alter the condition of her hair chemically? does it make her more aware of herself as a black woman? the fact is that it tells you nothing about that person except her choice of hairstyles</div></div>
i don't think anyone is better than anyone else.
i am just aware that most black women do not accept their natural hair texture..i suggest you watch "good hair" if i am exaggerating about this
don't get me wrong- it's not black women alone..
i just speak more on it because i'm black;
asian women also have issues with their eyes due to society's conceptions of 'beauty'
many try to change their eyelid look even surgically;
women starve themselves to fit into what they have been told is 'beautiful'...
i oppose people obsessively mutilating their body to fit some image of 'beauty' that was standardized by another people
i would also encourage a song for young asian girls called "i love my eyes"
Re: Do you hate your hair?
The sad thing is that even some of the persons who should know better have vocabularies which are rife with self-degrading phrases like pretty hair and picky-picky and high brown and nice this and curly that etc. and etc. "Dry-head" for instance has little to do with lack of moisture. Not to mention those persons who don't know better.
India Arie's sentiments not withstanding the effect is wittingly or unwittingly negative.