Chemical Hair VS Natural hair..think critically!
Re: Chemical Hair VS Natural hair..think critically!
people are gonna do whatever they want with their own head. just yessideh mi cuss awf mi sista caz shi come tell me seh mi fi cut mi hair at chin level [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/rolleyes.gif[/img] talk about overstepping boundaries [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/rolleyes.gif[/img]
My hair is chemically relaxed...i do it because I want too. people should do what they want with their own head period.
Oh and long as it is healthy.... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
Ahn nubbah start bout chemical nah healthy [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70400-talktohand.gif[/img]
chemical nu healthy [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70394-bawlout.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif[/img]
just this weekend i visited a friend who has had locks for the past 15 years or so, and she was surprised and pleased to see my daughters still had natural hair at their age (14 and 16). On the way home we talked about it, and my 16 year old says nuff times her peers tell her "OMG, you haven't permed your hair yet?!" And of course, they talk about natural hair being harder to manage, and about how much "better" permed hair looks.
For me, the thing about permed hair, aside from the racial identity subtext, is that it mash up the scalp. so many older black women are bald now because of a lifetime of subjecting their hair and scalp to chemicals.
<span style='font-family: Arial Black'>and in the end it's still personal choice. if dem want dem head peel out is fi dem prerogative. my daughter is the weave queen soh mi can't seh nott'n </span>
Again is personal choice. Mi as ole as Moses daughta an my head nuh peal off. Hair/Head care is like everything else. You take care of it then it stays healthy...you dont then it peal off. I know peal head women wid natural hair...its about how well you tek care of wah God give you. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70388-shameonyou.gif[/img]
OK mi done now....carry on [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
i received my first perm at the age of 10. i received what they commonly call "kiddie perms". once it turned 13 i started adult relaxers. my mom permed my hair until i turned 16, then i worked and went to the salon to get them done. i go to the salon once every 10-14 days (depending on how my head tan [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70361-embarassed.gif[/img]).
I could go less, if i wanted to, but i enjoy the treatment of having someone else do it for me.
while we're on the subject:
was I wrong?:
yessideh mi sista call me and tell mi seh: "O i meant to tell you this before. you should cut your hair to chin length". so I said "you know, the only people that have an issue with my hair is stupid black people. mi know seh mi a dutty rasta weh need fixing, but mi will manage". she has that "dutty rasta" mindset. was i over reacting? she annoyed me because i felt she overstepped the boundaries. i mean, she's clearly 100 pounds overweight, but i would never suggest to her to do something about it? what unnuz think?
I see much more black women wearing their hair unstraightened nowadays. I think it looks nice and relaxers should be the exception rather than the norm. Still, I wouldn't tell someone what to do with their hair as it's none of my business how they wear it.
i think i would think twice before offering you any advice about your appearance! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
i guess she must have said it in a way, caw just reading the words it no look like she seh anything really insensitive - could have been a suggestion about what would look better on you, in a positive sisterly opinion. but mi no know...
hush, sue. you are a very well put together woman, IMO.