Styling Natural Hair
it's all relative. She has probably heard negative remarks about her hair as well. It nice and thick and full...and I like it..but not everybody down with "unstyled" hairOriginally posted by Suesumba View Post.... erm.... she has *acceptable* hair and an *acceptable* complexion. mek wih talk bout people weh blakk like mi wid di *pig hair* - as i used to be told i had as a chile.Last edited by CeaBee; 09-26-2013, 04:51 PM.
For me it was the opposite. I was natural forever and fought going natural.... until I found that I was missing out on just too many opportunities. When the economy went South I couldn't afford to miss out on income any longer. I had to make sure I had full access to every opportunity possible. He who feels it knows it.Originally posted by FLUFFY View PostOnce u go natural, its hard to turn back.
There is another aspect to this hair debate and I also include Afrocentric attire. I have known a number of people who wore dashikis to work in major companies here in Toronto. Did they have problems? Not to their face but I would hear of the things that were said behind their backs. Yes people did grin up wid dem and laugh wid dem and say "So and so is such a great guy, he tells great jokes and makes me laugh." I guess they watch too much TV and think Black people are here to entertain them.
But there wasn't a hope in hell of any of them being promoted.
Now there are always some exceptions.(For example, I shared already about the lawyer in Dominica who was hired with dreadlocks. The guy who hired her had to fight like crazy to get her in there. It was even in the newspaper...if I can ever find it on-line I will post it.) The bottom line is that for the most part, corporate North America is very conservative and unforgiving of those who break their unwritten rules whether it is hair, dress, or refusing to wear golf shirts on casual Fridays. It may change one day. Until then, do your thing but don't be surprised if it's tough to get promoted.
Now that's just the corporate world. The media is even worse...though I have recently seen some women in commercials with wash and wear hair. I don't know if they were Canadian or American commercials.I'm not sure where the Staples commercial with the Black mother was shot. I know the equivalent commercial with the White mother was definitely shot in Toronto.
There is a light at the end of the tunnel. I did see a young Black actress with a low natural playing a cop on Flashpoint, a Canadian TV series, the other night. Good for her...it's about time. Part of what may help is that one of the assistant casting directors for that show is Jamaican so I guess she has been gradually influencing the producers.....Kudos to her. We need 100 more like her.
..and, as you will see from her reel, they don't always compel Arlene Duncan who I believe was born in Jamaica to wear a wig or play a Muslim.
She has paid her dues for years.
Edited to add: I checked her mother is Jamaican, her father's family is Black Canadain going back 5 generations.
arleneduncan.jpg
arleneduncanbraids.jpg
Last edited by Tropicana; 09-26-2013, 05:57 PM.
I guess it all depends why you wear your hair natural. I dont think of my hair as better than any other black person and my choice is based on my value system. I will not sacrifice my values for a job so if my hair becomes an issue I will either be a pain in the arse and go to human rights or take it as an opportunity to be innovative an create my own work. I have been told i have no ambition as I have no desire to climb the corporate ladder.
Originally posted by twiney View PostI guess it all depends why you wear your hair natural. I dont think of my hair as better than any other black person and my choice is based on my value system. I will not sacrifice my values for a job so if my hair becomes an issue I will either be a pain in the arse and go to human rights or take it as an opportunity to be innovative an create my own work. I have been told i have no ambition as I have no desire to climb the corporate ladder.
Good for you. For me, paying my rent and raising a child became the priorities. Values are important but they won't buy groceries. 2003 all sources of income got hit and it was a time for tough choices. SARS shut down business in Asia, Toronto companies were hard hit and weren't spending, and Americans were refusing to come up here and shoot.Originally posted by twiney View PostI guess it all depends why you wear your hair natural. I dont think of my hair as better than any other black person and my choice is based on my value system. I will not sacrifice my values for a job so if my hair becomes an issue I will either be a pain in the arse and go to human rights or take it as an opportunity to be innovative an create my own work. I have been told i have no ambition as I have no desire to climb the corporate ladder.
Anyway tonight while waiting at Rogers I saw a commercial put out for cheese. It was definitely a Canadian spot and it had a young woman with her hair in a low natural. Good for her I am glad things are changing.
Some casting directors are bringing in women with locks for auditions but they aren't getting cast. I've only seen one woman with locks cast in a commercial up here. Kraft Dinner used her 3X.
That last spot a had Charles Officer who also had locks at the time I notice he doesn't have them anymore. You may have seen the movie he produced "Nurse. Fighter. Boy I'll post a clip from it in a second. He cast performers with natural hair In fact I'll post interviews with him and other filmmakers in the movie section.
http://www.jamaicans.com/forums/show...bbean-Heritage
If I find some of more spots, I'II post them too.Last edited by Tropicana; 09-26-2013, 11:42 PM.
Kraft dinner is not the healthiest option with it's processed cheese and dye so maybe the black women better off not promoting a product with ingredients which are potentially damaging to their family's health. Tropi I learned early in life that everything is a choice and it goes back to why we do what we do or what we believe. Prostitution could have been an option back in the day for you but it may be too far from your values to be worth crossing the line. Similarly, my values would empower me to make things happen to survive which includes not relaxing my hair or values. But then I am not the most loyal person nor am sensitive so I have problem with playing with the bad boys. Yes I tell them every day I am not here to make friends that's why I have friends outside work and if them want loyalty go buy a bloody dog.
I agree but that was not the point of my posting this. I was pointing out that this was one of the few opportunities that was given to a female and male performer with locks in Canada to be cast in a big spot that means lots of money. Off the top of my head I can't think of another commercial cast in Canada in which a female performer was allowed to ear locks.It was for a car commercial and they were going for a high end fashion look. The woman was very light skinned.Originally posted by twiney View PostKraft dinner is not the healthiest option with it's processed cheese and dye so maybe the black women better off not promoting a product with ingredients which are potentially damaging to their family's health.
So what do you propose the performer do?
Yes performers can and do give agents lists of what they will and won't do but if the list gets too long, they simply won't get work. The agent will eventually dump them if they don't book anything. So by the time one says no nudity, no hair straighteners, no booze, no bleaching cream, no stereotypical parts (pimps, welfare Mom's, ho's, thugs, druggies, maids, gays, booty shaking) and, at one time, no cigarettes ads or spots, then on top of it adds no fast foods or foods that are not healthy..... and on top of it wear one's hair natural or in locks when few producers will even think of casting you.......what's left? PSAs that pay pittance and even then they usually cast someone with straight hair or today a weave. Good luck earning a living. May as well pack it in and leave it to the next generation when hopefully things will be better.
The Black community has not done it's part in protesting to producers, sponsors, etc. so, until they do, I am not going to fault performers for doing commercials for food Kraft Dinner, McDonald's or other fast foods.
Easy to say create your own work but that takes NUFF money.
It's good that you were able to do that. I fought it for NUFF years. Cost me a ton of money. Now I see websites springing up with women promoting the value of natural hair. It's too little too late for me. Maybe by the time my granddaughter comes into being, whenever that is, she won't have to fight the same battles.Originally posted by twiney View PostTropi I learned early in life that everything is a choice and it goes back to why we do what we do or what we believe. Prostitution could have been an option back in the day for you but it may be too far from your values to be worth crossing the line. Similarly, my values would empower me to make things happen to survive which includes not relaxing my hair or values.
Originally posted by twiney View PostBut then I am not the most loyal person nor am sensitive so I have problem with playing with the bad boys. Yes I tell them every day I am not here to make friends
My Dad used to say that all the while.
Hope it works for you I have seen other Black Jamaican women eaten alive for that. That was finally the impetus I needed to set up my own thing.Originally posted by twiney View Postthat's why I have friends outside work and if them want loyalty go buy a bloody dog.
It hasn't been easy especially after the economy went into a tailspin NASDAQ crash, 9/11, SARS, 2008 meltdown, but I've raised a child and kept a roof over our heads and food on the table. We all need parents and strong relationships with spouses or ex's when things really get tough.
I remember when I moved to Toronto an older cousin said, now that you have a job the hardest part is keeping it as they will be people out to eat you alive. She is dead and gone now
but man she wasn't kidding.
Last edited by Tropicana; 09-28-2013, 01:55 AM.