Anyone have any good recipes for pasta dishes w/ a Jamaican flare. I'm getting tired of marinara and alfredo.
pasta recipes
Re: pasta recipes
Hello Dr. Bones
How are things with you?
To jazz up pasta, I will often get a tin of lobster bisque(sp?) and then fry up and add onion/green pepper/scotch bonnet/roma tomatoe etc. Different everytime.
Also will sometimes just do elbow macaroni/ with salt fish/onion/oil or butter/black pepper, with some tomatoe for color.
Take care. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Originally posted by dr. bones:
[qb] Anyone have any good recipes for pasta dishes w/ a Jamaican flare. I'm getting tired of marinara and alfredo. [/qb]
You could do like pasta with meat what i mean is this..
In pan sautate chicken strips with butter and salt and pepper to taste after cook to tender add pasta instead of cooking with water cook with chicken broth and seasonsing to taste you could also add so fresh veggies pendig on if you like veggie....Cook until done
Enjoy.
hey (((dr))) long time nuh see, mi was mekin others ansa as mi not too sure wat yu lookin for. now as yu may or may not knoh mi soninlaw is Italian,so we eat more pasta than anything.
here is a few ways i fix it
also boil your pasta (any kind) drain you can pour some olive oil or some butter or margarine (diffrent flavour) with parsley, garlic,black pepper. whether a combination or one at a time.
i like to stir fry some veg. or roast them,then combine with bow tie pasta. also pasta an tuna salad. hope this helps
Originally posted by Redj:
[qb] Hello Dr. Bones
How are things with you?
To jazz up pasta, I will often get a tin of lobster bisque(sp?) and then fry up and add onion/green pepper/scotch bonnet/roma tomatoe etc. Different everytime.
Also will sometimes just do elbow macaroni/ with salt fish/onion/oil or butter/black pepper, with some tomatoe for color.
Take care. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] [/qb][img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] How restrictive is his diet, and do you have trouble finding foods he likes where you live?
Hi Dr. Bones:
In our neck of the woods.... you gotta eat somethings from a tin. ie: ackee/coconut milk. He does use salt, thank god! He will eat eggs/cheese/soy milk/ice cream etc. But not yogurt/sour cream/cottage cheese type things(moldy)... He is not a little skinny man, but over 6ft, and about 200 llbs, so he is not starving !
We can get yellow yam, green banana (for boiling) but have to use spinach/swiss chard for callilou. I do have some callilou in the garden, but its just coming up.
Take care. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Like thyme pasta is a very versatile food try to be creative think of things that you like (veg. crab meat, ham, chicken to give different flavours but there are only 4 basic cauce that you can use with pasta, Maranera Tomato) meat alfraido and rosee but using these base sauses you can do a lot with then to make them different
example pasta alforno
penne pasta, green peppers,(julienne) shreaded cheese mmotza. cheddar, swiss
Red peppers, Onion diced, tomato sauce diced saussage, basil pesto, and of course seasonings
cook and drain pasta, saute veg. add to pasta
sauce toss in pasta sprinkle cheese on top usually you would put it under a salamander to melt the cheese but as we dont have a salamander we use the oven high temp. just to melt the cheese you can do it with any sauce or pasta garlic bread of course to finish the dish
have fun with it, you know enjoy.
I would be interested in that recipe green biscuit. It sounds like something different, and I like the no bake idea in the summer.
Thanks for your recipe too Sister V. I'm a cheese fanatic, and love broiling cheese on top of my pasta. I've never tried it w/ swiss, but definately will.
Dr. Bones, I lost my copy and I have asked the friend that I got it from originally to send it in email. Also, the name of the cookbook it comes from, as I recall it is all no-cook sauces for pasta. She loves it! She is forever telling me about this or that she made from one of the recipes, and it always makes me drool.
Recipe soon come. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Oh, JD, I think I would enjoy dirt in Little Bay (with a little seasoning and pasta of course)!
Grandma2, the recipe the follows is for canned pumpkin. Can you suggest the fresh equivalent?
Anway, Doc, here is the long-awaited recipe.
Pasta with Pumpkin and Basil
1 Lb. Bow tie pasta
1 Lg. garlic clove, chopped
1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper
1/4 canned pumpkin
1 stick unsalted butter @ room temp.
1/2 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. nutmeg
1/4 freshly grated Parmesan cheese plus extra for serving
1/2 cup fresh basil leaves coarsely chopped
lots of fresh ground pepper
Combine garlic, red pepper, pumpkin, butter, salt, pepper, nutmeg, and cheese in pasta serving bowl. Set aside to warm to room temp. or place a heatproof bowl over pasta pot to warm the ingredients and melt the butter while heating the water. Once water boils, remove bowl and set aside.
Cook pasta in large pot, drain well and immediately add to sauce in bowl. Sprinkle w/basil and toss. Serve immediately w/extra cheese. Serves 4 - 6.
The book is called:
No Cook Pasta Sauces by Joie Warner
Let me know if you try and it and if you like it. I certainly did! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
You can put Ice Cream with Pasta and I'd probably like it...
Lawd mi miss ie...
Anyway, you can be inventive with just about anything you have in the house when it comes to Pasta...
What about curried anything with pasta? I bet it's great.
I saw curry flavored ramen noodles in the liitle store near me... haven't been brave enuff to go THERE...
Try making something using chicken or ground turkey or beef with garlic, scotch bonnet, thyme maybe some fresh veggies carrots, corn... whatever...
I have to stop now. I've been pasta free for some time now and I'm starting to drool.... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]