My house got written up in a travel book as a "Bed and Breakfast"! I do have a vacation rental, but I don't do mornings, much less cook in the morning. Anyway, I'm biting the bullet and need recipes for easy to make dishes to serve for breakfast. Anything you can come up with to help me would be greatly appreciated.
(((Susanna))) dats wonderful girl,an i knoh it will be a success.
yu knoh mi brains is all cooked out now, but watch ya,in de new year (nex week ) mi will tink bout some tings fi yu seen [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Hey Susanna, good for you.
How about Kucheen(sweet pastry)
Frittata, started on top of the stove and finished in the oven.
Buttermilk pancakes? If it sounds ok, I give you the recipes.
The kucheen can be made with local island fruits.
Thanks everyone...keep those thinking caps on, cause I definitely need help. Don, a lot of the fruits in Jamaica can be found here in Mexico, so come with the recipes. One thing we can't find is buttermilk, so do you know how to make a substitute. I'd especially like that and any recipes for stuff that can be made the night before and cooked in the morning..hahah..you know night time is the right time in my book.
3 cups Flour
1/2 tb Salt
6 tb Sugar
1/2 tb Baking soda
1 tb Baking powder
1 pt Buttermilk (I use soy milk)
3 Eggs; beaten
4 tb Melted butter
1/2 pt Coco-Lopez (condensed coconut liquid)
1/2 c Toasted coconut; shredded
1/2 c Toasted macadamia nuts; - chopped
4 tb Vegetable oil (or olive oil)
1 c Fresh pineapple; diced
12 oz Maple syrup
Sift the flour, salt, sugar, baking soda and baking powder into a large mixing bowl. In a separate bowl, whisk together buttermilk, eggs, melted butter and Coco-Lopez. Add wet ingredients to dry. Stir with a spoon to combine; batter will be slightly lumpy. Stir in coconut and macadamia nuts. Brush griddle with oil, and heat to 400 degrees. Drop batter onto griddle using a 4-ounce ladle. Cook about 3 minutes, until done on both
sides. Serve garnish with pineapple, maple syrup, and butter.
3 Eggs
1 Onion
1 Green or red chilli -sprig curry leaves
1/2 ts Salt
1/2 ts Black pepper
2 ts Cornflour
25 ml Olive (or vegetable)Oil
Beat the eggs. Chop the onion, chilli and curry leaves. Mix the onion, chilli, curry leaves, salt, pepper and cornflour into the eggs. Heat the oil and when hot pour in half the omelette mixture. Cook for a couple of minutes, carefully turn over and cook the other side. Make another omelette with the remaining mixture.
This is fantastic, and most of the work HAS to be done ahead (the night before). You can get it ready, prepare your coffee except turning it on to brew and go to bed. Next morning, all you have to do is put it in, then settle down for an hour to "wake up". It is a complete breakfast, other than beverages, in one dish, and reheats very well. (BTW, depending on where you are, if you can't find Bob Evans brand, use Jimmy Dean or the like.)
BREAKFAST STRATA
1 LB. Zesty Bob Evans Sausage (or use 2 regular)
1 LB. Regular Bob Evans Sausage (both sausages cooked and drained and set aside)
10 eggs, beaten
10 slices white bread, cubed
3 cups whole white milk
10 oz. Package frozen asparagus spears (thawed)
2 Tbsp melted butter
2 Tbsp flour (stirred into melted butter)
1 Tbsp dry mustard
2 Tsp Basil
1 Tsp Salt
2 Cups shredded cheddar cheese
Whip eggs in bowl and add all ingredients, except asparagus. Add sausage last. Marinate, covered, in refrigerator overnight (no less than six hours).
Grease 13 x 9 x 2 pan. Cook @ 350, uncovered, for 60-70 minutes. Asparagus should be layered first, before pouring other ingredients into pan.
Don are those measurements calling for ounces, by measuring cup or by weight? The recipe sounds great and while we don't have fresh mangos year round, I can get the frozen mango cheeks any time of the year.
Thanks for the buttermilk substitute ~ I cana't even get get buttermilk powder here, but maybe I'll find it when I go back to the states next time.
Sandi - come bring it girl...the welcome mat is out. Those pancakes are not low-cal so they will surely be a hit...I'll just have to remember that they're not for me [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] .
Can I use something besides curry leaves, cause we can't get that here. I have curry powder (Blue Mountain, what else?).
Green Biscuit, the only place I ever found Bob Evans Sausage was in Illinois when I went back there for my uncle's funeral. There was a Bob Evans restaurant across the street from my Hotel and I went there for breakfast. Had biscuits and gravy and nearly had one of those peak sexual experiences they were so so so oh oh oh ahhhhhhhhhhh good! I think sometimes we can get Jimmy Dean's at Sam's Club here. So will make do. That recipe sounds like it would harden your arteries in a minute, but it also sounds yummy.
Thanks for all. I'm waitin on Grandma and Simmy to pass through and have been downloading some things from Food.com, so I should be set.
God, I can't believe I'm going to be fixing breakfast. I think some mornings it will be Granola, yogurt, fresh juice cause I can't see doing a big cooking thing 7 days a week. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Don are those measurements calling for ounces, by measuring cup or by weight? The recipe sounds great and while we don't have fresh mangos year round, I can get the frozen mango cheeks any time of the year
Sorry, I'm just getting back with you. It is by measuring cup. I try only to use wieighted measures when making bread or large quantity baked items. Do you like Briouche?
How about simple dishes that keep well for a while in chafing dishes, buffet style?
Like...
scrambled eggs
bacon, sausage, and other meats
potatoes
fresh fruits (whole and/or sliced or chunks)
coffee
juices
These are all easy to make... 'forgiving', if you get distrcted for a very short while, so long as you don't burn them dreadfully... last a good while at a buffet table in chafing dishes, so you don't even have to serve tables 'properly'... and farily easy to celan up after!
Congrats and good luck. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
here is wat mi would do, find things dat can be cook the night or day before,then just nuke dem or put in a toaster oven.
wen mi did B/B in mi pass travels,mi say de lilke muffin tuff,but no one cares cause usually its for one nite or so and if i stay more its really for the coffee.
so now dont cut into your profit providing too much,a bread roll, a scone,or muffin with coffee tea is good enuff.
anyhow, here is some easy night before recipes,mek dem small doh like plane food. yu just wan tek of de gas dats all
Beat eggs well, then add melted butter and mix well. Add sugar and mix well. Add flour a little at a time and mix well. Add vanilla and mix well. Bake in well heated buttered waffle iron or Belgium waffle iron. Makes 5 dozen.
BELGIUM WAFFLES 2
2 cups Bisquick mix
1 egg
3 tbsp. oil
1 1/3 c. club soda
Mix all ingredients well. Make sure the batter is thick. (Add more mix if necessary.) Pour into greased waffler. Cook for 4 minutes.
and how about a Frittata, you can bake the night before then slice in the morning.
for a treat you could make saltfish fritters
Codfish Fritters
1/2 lb codfish
2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 onion chopped
1 tomato chopped
2 cloves garlic
1/2 of a scotch bonnet pepper chopped
2 stalk escallion chopped
2 teaspoon baking powder
2 tablespoon cooking oil
oil for frying
boil saltfish change water and boil again. drain rinse under cold water. flake fish,making sure all bones are removed. saute chopped seasoning,drain off excess oil,add to raw fish. set aside. add baking powder,black pepper and salt to flour,add saltfish mixture. add enough water to make a medium batter. fry by tablespoon full in deep oil until golden. drain on paper towel.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.