Originally posted by 777:
[QB] Since everybody a dig...
Kia..
1. what is the first real financial venture that you did as a grownup.. Financial venture? Buying my 1st apt? Have not gone into business per seh where mi did put up mi personal $$.
2. Would you consider opening up your own business and if so what would it be.. does self employment count? Then I would say I have done that since '99. I have various ideas but none that are really ready for prime time .
3. Woould you give back to the community and if so how? I used to be a big sister in a corp program when I worked in NY. I do make a point to seek out & support caribbean businesses for what I need done provided their prices are reasonable as compared to other places. Also used to give to various charities when I was working. Participate in the food/clothing drives. Have shipped new items to the childrens homes in JA. Right now have not done as much as I want to.. Would like to volunteer regularly with an org that provides services to children of color.
4. What by your standards, defines a *true friend* Someone that is there for you in your time of need and joy. Offers an ear, and honest advice from the heart.
5. How does those qualities that u list in #4 enhance you as a person. Helps me to identify areas in my life that I need to work on to be a better person.
6. What are some of your pet peeves <ul type="square">[*]Opinionated people who either do not allow others to share their opinion or invalidate opposing opinions[*]People whe pick up tings & neva put it back -they know who they are [*]People who chat u business behind u back[*]Slow drivers in the fast lane[*]people who are judgemental about others without knowing their situation[*]ignorant people[*]Whole heap more but mi tired.. will edit this as I remember them[/list]
7. If you won de lotto this very moment, what would you buy? Please to be specific Well my did win lotto.. all $5 worth.. she bought another ticket.. Mi need dolla amounts fi gauge wha mi can do wid it. :--)
8. The Goya plantain...did Mrs Cool beg/skank you for any as yet? Naw. She contacted the Goya distributor out of Miami and now gets it expressed mail to her
9. This forum, what keeps you coming back..(You love punishment?? Mi deya inna de 'hot seat' so will serve mi term wid a likkle grace.
10. If today was the ultimate *perfect day* , in which you wish for anything in life..(the ultimate now) waht would you wish for.. Warm sunny day by the beach somewhere riding bicyles with the whole family to a perfect spot. Go for a swim and have lunch on the beach. Later go home, get showered and go out on a night on the town with MrKia
Originally posted by coolbeans:
[QB] *reaching way deep inna di bag fi di questions now*
1. What about pets. You have any? 2 big old dawgs.. one friendly de odda one grumpy but mi love him still 2. Ever quit a job when you didnt have another one lined up? Yes.. when I decided to be a sahm (does that count?) [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] 3. What would you say to girlKia if she decided to live with her boyfriend at age 18? at age 25? At age 18 that would not be an option unless she had finished college & grad school which is highly unlikely. Although it would be legal for her to do so.. I would seriously counsel her on the consequences of her actions. Oh and dere is no way she would be getting any money we saved for her college education.
At age 25, I would like to assume she has completed formal education and has been out on her own for a while. Hopefully in this time period her frontal lobes would have been fully formed and we can have the 'getting the cow for free' discussion.
4. Bill Gates: love him or stick needles in his nerdy likeness (voodoo style)? Like - not love
5. Weirdest thing you ever ate (no...get your mind out of di gutter Mrs. Kia [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] ) turtle - it was a sample being given out at John R Wong's when I was a child.
6. What are your attitudes toward public restrooms: do you use gloves and santize and re-sanitize after use, or just wash your hands and figure that what doesn't kill you will just make you a little sick [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] I carry antibacterial wipes, dont touch the toilet, use mi foot to flush, wash hands and use a napkin to touch the door. When girlKia has to go (which is often) wipe down the seat with a wipe, put he paper on, wipe her with wipes,wash her hands and scream if she touch anything in there.
1. Do you use the jamican phrase, *what no kill me will fatten me..* No maam, I say, 'Wha no kill will fatten' [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
2. waht do u consider to be your greatest strength.. My intuition
3. Your greatest weakness.. my heel - achilles that is [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
4. Your biggest lie To myself when I was in a bad relationship and thought I couldnt leave.
5. When you go shopping, what do u plan to buy de family for Christmas..
<ul type="square">[*]BoyKia - a fencing foil- he wants to do fencing after he gets his black belt[*]GirlKia - a few more educational toys.. she loves to sing so something along that line[*]MrKia - Russian III and a few books written by his dad[/list]
Originally posted by coolbeans:
[qb] Why do you think that 7s likes to use the phrase "inspired by ___" so much these days? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] [/qb]
She a give credit man, low ar [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Originally posted by Green_Biscuit:
I am watching quietly on the sidelines here, but....
inspired by 777 [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
What is your greatest professional achievement? becoming self employed and working on my own terms (of sorts)
What is the personal achievement that you are most proud of (except your kids)? overcoming my obstacles - recognizing my parents did not teach me everything i needed to know.. being able to forgive them and then learn how to do what I needed in a win/win fashion. Hows that for obtuse [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
No wishy washy obtuse answers here Missy!
What is the personal achievement that you are most proud of (except your kids)? overcoming my obstacles - recognizing my parents did not teach me everything i needed to know.. being able to forgive them and then learn how to do what I needed in a win/win fashion. Hows that for obtuse
a dat me seh too..well done! [/qb]
life got a lot easier once I figured that out [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.