[img]/forums/images/graemlins/70371-jump.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/bannana_purple.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70371-jump.gif[/img] Finally!!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
As some of you may already know, last year, I traveled around South Africa. After the sad disappointment of seeing only two of the Big Five (my traveling buddy is a National Geographic and wild animal junkie) animals at Kruger Park, someone we met there recommended that we go to the Maasai Mara Game Reserve in Kenya.
FACT: The Maasai Mara National Reserve is part of the vast Serengeti-Mara Ecosystem that stretches north and south across the border with Tanzania. The Maasai Mara itself is 1500 sq km, a small proportion of the total ecosystem.
The Serengeti-Mara ecosystem has one of the highest densities and diversities of mammalian wildlife anywhere in the world, surviving for thousands of years because its unique balance between wildlife and the environment has to-date been relatively uninterrupted by human expansion and development.
It's home to the Big Five-ELEPHANTS, RHINO, LEOPARD, LION and BUFFALO.
The Maasai Mara plays host to the Great Natural Migration every year from July to September.
It is home to Kenya's largest population of lions.
More than 300 species of birds are found in the Mara.
It has the greatest concentration of plains game in Africa.
DISCLAIMER: Most of the countries in East Africa are VERY strict about taking pictures of JUST ABOUT ANYTHING, but especially their military, government and personal businesses. Most of the pictures shown here were taken WITHOUT permission. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img] SOME pictures were permissioned. Please, nobady nuh badda mi wid nuh foolynish bout dis and dat. Please gwey and mekk mi share mi pickcha dem in peace. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70400-talktohand.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70373-kiss.gif[/img]