Easy access to money for higher education.
Making money is easy as long as you willing to sweat for it. I have seen people work two years straight a farrin and pay off house buy more land a Jamaica, things they could not do working a gov. job for 10 years.
Reliable health care system if you have money
Many social programs and grants available
small business easier to start
election keep and nobody even care what color clothes you have to wear and which area to avoid.
Access to information, meeting people from all over the world and expereincing new cultures
More opportunities to better own's position in life.
((dajah)) what do you like about farrin, since you're here and not there.... what keeps you here....?
I have it very good here.
I am one of the lucky ones and I give thanks fot that,
But the mojority of the ppl I deal with pan eddah a friend/family basis or wid ppl troo my involvment in the human rights group don't, many are suffering. And nuff a dese accesses aren't so easily available to them, due to one ting ar aneddah. The grass is not green for nuff ppl due to much individualityness set in the minds of the ppl.
Kingston; yuh nuh si de whole heap a illusion yuh put up deh? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
But dah jah, yu noh notice the caveat that money involved in most of them tings. Dat is what farrin good for, you think most jamaican would a tek up and leff if they could earn not even the same amount but a comparable figure, most a wi just a count dung till the finances right and wi gone back home. Mi also just a talk from my experience of living in America. But if given the choice of being poor in this country or yard, mi a talk dirt poor, I would rather be dirt poor in Jamaica than here. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]
thanks for the answer dajah.. you see you have it ok here.. but still recognizing many dont.... and reality is... its not just jamaicans.. but americans too.. that don't have access or go through the same redtape madness...
this is precisely why I said its about the individual's experience. Nowhere is perfect for all of the people all of the time.
Personally speaking (again) its more than just money for me..if it was I would be making a lot more [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smirk.gif[/img] its that sense of personal freedom
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/70371-jump.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70371-jump.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70371-jump.gif[/img] Great thread! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
1. Customer Service (or the focus)
2. The culture of Expedience
3. Accessibility
4. The freedom to be whoever/whatever you want to be and the understanding of being in control of your own destiny...
5. The Opportunity to Become... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/bannana_purple.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/bannana_purple.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/bannana_purple.gif[/img]
The VARIETY - of men, food, clothes, shoes, bags, and all sorts of other material things. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70379-moneyeyes.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70379-moneyeyes.gif[/img]
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/bannana_purple.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/bannana_purple.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/bannana_purple.gif[/img]
this is precisely why I said its about the individual's experience. Nowhere is perfect for all of the people all of the time.
Personally speaking (again) its more than just money for me..if it was I would be making a lot more [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smirk.gif[/img] its that sense of personal freedom
more upward mobility in the US, not the class consciousness that holds poor ppl who have brains, talents and ambition back
1. de ability to mawket practically anyting
2. freedom of speech
3. access to education
4. access to create both + & - opportunities
5. self reliance
6. social safety net (access to govt services if needed)
7. choice in products sold to consumers
8. drive chru everyting fi de days when u doan have time to stop stop bout de place.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.