Pioneer. That's what mi dawta call mi sometimes, dung to lass nite.
Not for things like being one of the few black women to reach certain circles in my work environment. Or for being the only black 5-year honour student at my high school graduation. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]
No. a cause mi use to use pit toilet when mi was growing up. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
we were talking last nite about our trip to Jamaica this summer, and we visited my grand-aunty house in St. Bess. my 16 year old made a point of experiencing pit toilet. She tell mi seh it "smelled" in there. mi tell har ppl get used to it. then she seh, she could see that, because there were current newspapers in there (meaning she think that you supposed to be reading and catchng up on the news while you're doing your business.)
mi tell har when mi was younger that was the toilet paper, and she was horrified. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
aye sah.
hummuch a wi pioneer still deh bout, eeh? and none a oonu town ppl no badda come in here come talk nuttn to mi bout dat... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70400-talktohand.gif[/img]
Not for things like being one of the few black women to reach certain circles in my work environment. Or for being the only black 5-year honour student at my high school graduation. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]
No. a cause mi use to use pit toilet when mi was growing up. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
we were talking last nite about our trip to Jamaica this summer, and we visited my grand-aunty house in St. Bess. my 16 year old made a point of experiencing pit toilet. She tell mi seh it "smelled" in there. mi tell har ppl get used to it. then she seh, she could see that, because there were current newspapers in there (meaning she think that you supposed to be reading and catchng up on the news while you're doing your business.)
mi tell har when mi was younger that was the toilet paper, and she was horrified. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
aye sah.
hummuch a wi pioneer still deh bout, eeh? and none a oonu town ppl no badda come in here come talk nuttn to mi bout dat... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70400-talktohand.gif[/img]