Anybody ever encounterd duppy yet? Not me, but some people always talking about encounters they had. Have you ever encounterd any, how did you react? Did you your head get "swell" and you lost your voice, mi curious, come tell me about yuh encounter.
Duppy?
Re: Duppy?
yes, twice when I was a kid.
The first time I saw one, everyone had gone to sleep and I was laying in bed not sleeping. The place was dark (now I hate the dark) - lol. After a while I saw the bedroom door opened, in came this white woman in a long white summa dress, with a white straw hat on her head. She came in, turn around and close the door, walked at the foot of the bed, took off the hat and sat down and looked out the window. I was too afraid to say anything. I pulled the covers over my head and every now and then peep up over the covers to see if she was still there. On my last peep over the covers, she was still there so I just kept the covers over my head until I went to sleep. I am still sleeping with the covers over my head -lol
The second time I saw one, I was still a little girl, all of this happened at my Grandmother's house in ja. It was my job to turn on the upstairs light at dusk (mi nuh know where that come from)... Anyways, on my way upstairs, I saw a little boy (white) wearing a khaki shorts outfit, with long socks, and a short beret hat. He came out of the living room upstairs, close the door, looked at me and opened the door the my Grand Uncle's room, went in and close the door. This time I screamed that there was some one in the house. Everyone came running, looked everywhere and found no one.
Originally posted by Spy:
[qb]Sounds like you used to live in one of those older houses, where some white family once lived...and died. There are tons of these old houses around, some great house types.
So you haven't seen any duppy since you came to farrin?[/qb]
Yes, the previous owners of my granparent's home were from England.
when I was a boy I used to live in the country,now as you all know there is invariably a family burying ground near most houses in the country.I used to lay in bed and hear the sounds of "people" circling the house numerous times and moaning as if in pain,I used to pull the covers over my head and listened shaking like a leaf as the moaning sounds would kept going round and round the house.mmmm!!!mmmm!!mmmm!!!nnnngghhh!!!nnngghh!!it was scary....I was even scared during the day in the country,I had a lousy time living in dread of duppies when I was a boy.
bwoy, mi never see any, but i use to feel swell- headed sometimes, but mi hear sey dem nuff otta flat bridge that dem ah call yuh fi join dem inna deh wata!!! an is always white people dem ah see!!!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Originally posted by iches:
[qb]bwoy, mi never see any, but i use to feel swell- headed sometimes, but mi hear sey dem nuff otta flat bridge that dem ah call yuh fi join dem inna deh wata!!! an is always white people dem ah see!!!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [/qb]
Check di archives, fi mi duppi storie dem dung deh. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Originally posted by babydoll:
[qb]Originally posted by sukuna:
[qb]baby girl sounds like the woman was a jabless [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Do you all make a distinction between duppy and jumbie?[/qb]
What is a jumbie?[/qb]
Bwoy, mi ah tell oonoo sumting.. Wen wi was likkle pickney, ah duppy wi frade fah an now wi ah big smaddy, ah gunman tek ova dat fear. Fram de suupah-nachral to de reel ting. Yeh man, duppy did deh bout inna de ole dayz, mi did si wan fi shure.
I haven't seen any duppies myself, but you can certainly feel "something" around you sometimes, especially in older houses or out in the country in Jamaica. But I had a good friend who had many duppy stories, including this one:
Back in the 1940s, two of her aunts were living in a house in Spanish Town, facing the square. One day, one of the aunts happened to look out the window -- and saw a scene from long before: people riding horses instead of cars, women dressed in long Victorian dresses, etc. -- everybody going about their business on a normal, sunny market day -- only it was, maybe, 1880. The aunt motioned to her sister to look out the window; she didn't tell her what she was seeing. The sister also saw the long-ago scene, and they turned to each other to talk about it. But when they looked out the window again -- a minute later -- the scene had changed back to the "present day" -- in the 1940s. People were riding in cars again, wearing modern clothes, etc.
Who can explain these things?
Jamaica seems to be full of "presences"...so, interestingly, is the coast of Maine, in the U.S. You feel, if you don't see, ghosts or spirits around you, especially in the woods, or on lonely points of rock jutting out into the sea; and you hear many stories of electricity going off suddenly, rooms that are much colder than the rest of the house, etc.
Originally posted by sukuna:
[qb]Originally posted by babydoll:
[qb]baby girl sounds like the woman was a jabless [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
What is a jumbie?[/qb]
my father is alive somewhere.....
mi nuh figet fi tell unno dat dis yah month is north street duppy month - an if wan fi stay out late yuh haffe haf sum whites or carry deh smell suh dem nuh badda yuh! an member how some a coffin dem wouldda gi trouble, dat songs were made? like - mr. brown an how deh ppl dem wouldda run. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Originally posted by babydoll:
[qb]Originally posted by babydoll:
What is a jumbie?[/qb]
my father is alive somewhere.....[/qb]