Re: Is there racism in the caribbean?
There had always been conflicts before colonialism.
I am afraid that the ethnic conflicts have racial backgrounds - not because they are all black by colour. The biggest conflicts in Africa are not just between one ethnic group and its cousins but between groups having great variance.
Like the Hausas and Yoruba, Tutsi and Hutu and more recently in Ivory Coast.
The tall, straight nose people come from North seen? An dem na have no call there much less for go reign over the pigmies in Ruanda. Parallel to what happened in India.
All these examples solidify my belief that the whites met these differences, used this to justify the superiority of the whiter and came to the conclusion(because them a de whitest) that they are the most superior. Hitler and all his African references is my witness [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Northerners have always been invading and dominating the native groups. In colonial times the Belgians favour the group that could not pass under a 5ft high pole and more liken to them.
Before white intrusion, the Berber, Arabs and the like exalted themselves over the blacks(by war) who called them whites. Places like Niger and Mauritania come to mind. Sudan is the funniest, because the so-called Arabs now hardly different to them, but a dem dem a fight and a dem a mek dem slaves. So I would say we came with this master-slave | whiter-darker relationship to the Caribbean which is now normal to us.
Originally posted by tonic:
[qb]....
Samuel you make a valid point that ethnic differences in many Africans countries create ethnic conflict. I agree that that prejudice similar to racial prejudice creates conflicts because of the superior and inferior position of the society. Yes, slavery is still a problem in some part of Africa but ethnic conflict creates justification for racism. The weakness in that position is that it fail to address how the heirarcy was created. Look at the Hutu and the Tusti(sorry the spelling is incorrect) in Africa and you would say that this is ethnic conflict based on superior and inferior position if you did not realized that these group use to live peacefully before colonialism. What created[/qb]
[qb]....
Samuel you make a valid point that ethnic differences in many Africans countries create ethnic conflict. I agree that that prejudice similar to racial prejudice creates conflicts because of the superior and inferior position of the society. Yes, slavery is still a problem in some part of Africa but ethnic conflict creates justification for racism. The weakness in that position is that it fail to address how the heirarcy was created. Look at the Hutu and the Tusti(sorry the spelling is incorrect) in Africa and you would say that this is ethnic conflict based on superior and inferior position if you did not realized that these group use to live peacefully before colonialism. What created[/qb]
I am afraid that the ethnic conflicts have racial backgrounds - not because they are all black by colour. The biggest conflicts in Africa are not just between one ethnic group and its cousins but between groups having great variance.
Like the Hausas and Yoruba, Tutsi and Hutu and more recently in Ivory Coast.
The tall, straight nose people come from North seen? An dem na have no call there much less for go reign over the pigmies in Ruanda. Parallel to what happened in India.
All these examples solidify my belief that the whites met these differences, used this to justify the superiority of the whiter and came to the conclusion(because them a de whitest) that they are the most superior. Hitler and all his African references is my witness [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Northerners have always been invading and dominating the native groups. In colonial times the Belgians favour the group that could not pass under a 5ft high pole and more liken to them.
Before white intrusion, the Berber, Arabs and the like exalted themselves over the blacks(by war) who called them whites. Places like Niger and Mauritania come to mind. Sudan is the funniest, because the so-called Arabs now hardly different to them, but a dem dem a fight and a dem a mek dem slaves. So I would say we came with this master-slave | whiter-darker relationship to the Caribbean which is now normal to us.
Groups have always removing the others and this act of theirs can be categorized as such.