u eva notice dat people no say 'excuse me' or 'thank you' anymore...notice how people doan knock pon seh di tilet door fi see if anybody in deh...when did manners go out of style...we was in line at a buffet...a father and likkle daughta were ahead a me an di modda joined behind me...mi know is di modda cause di likkle girl reached for her an di modda kept trying to get har to stay wid di fada...so mi step aside and tell har she could go ahead a me...u know seh di ooman tep in front a mi and neva even seh preckkay much less smile...so me said to har 'you're welcome'...wonda if she got it...doubt it...
what happen to manners and home training....
Re: what happen to manners and home training....
((evan)) she probably didn't get it!
I find the same thing all over - perhaps is the time we were raised in? People are so busy rushing around to 'do for themselves' it seems they forget common courtesies. Then again, some people are just uncommonly rude.
True ((tropi)) I can remember waiting for the bus, both when I was in my last days of pregnancy, or after Junio came along... standing at the front of the line holding stroller, baby etc ready to step on.. in both cases (almost on a daily basis) certain people would practically shove me/us out of the way just to get on first. Another time, the bus was packed and the little one was only about 2 yrs old... I had to stand in the aisle holding onto him with one strong hand and a seat with the other... some nasty woman jumped up and pushed past us slamming her purse into the side of his face - of course he let out an incredible scream - she barely turned to look back, let alone ask if he was okay (mi cuss her out bad!) [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img]
I guess 'we' just have to push our own a little harder to make sure ours do as we would have them do - that way. I get positive comments all the time as to how polite my son is... from storeowners, acquaintences etc - hope he continues.
mi granny sey u haffi learn fe dance a yaad before you can go abroad go dance and a true ting dat caaw if dem learn fe sey please and thank you at home or little common curtisies(sp) dem would take it out when they go in the world
Look and how if when you call some pickney dem answer "WHAT" one day when mi did jus come ya and mi did a babysit dis likkle bwoy and mi call him and him sey "What" and him madda was there and mi sey to him thats not how you answer when you are called and him madda mek mi kno sey that was how him should do it...so mi did ress mi case...now mi have fe mi likkle one and when mi call har and she sey yes mom or yes mommy you find people amazed... but a how u grow u child yah
sweetsop is tru dat...is like ina church di ushers sit behind me a chat all di way tru di sermon...now when dem have fi dem anniversary dem always a gi update on how u fi behave during church but dem seem to break di same rule dem set up...people keep saying times change but good manners are good manners and are not cyclical...dem is forever...is like when u read out loud or speak and people compliment u by saying u r articulate and doan understand why u doan see it as anyting exceptional or complimentary...afta all no dat mek u parents sen u go school...
all a dat a because dem parents allow it. personally mi train fi mi own fi always use im good manners and NEVA ansa mi wid 'what'. im did doit one time and de look mi give im mussi scare im, cause im no doit again.
but is true.. a likkle please & thank you will go a lang way.
kiaIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Sometimes it makes me really angry [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img] . I always say please and thank you I even apologize when someone bumps into me [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img] I find most people here polite and will say please and thank you etc but some it just burns me up. You can tell them a mile off too, there the ones that walk around like they own the world and usually scowl if they are forced to give way to someone else.
Wal-Mart is the worst place in the world for that, Grrr [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img] I now spend a few minutes psyching myself up to go in that place, it seems like everyone in that place leaves their manners at the front door, and on more than one occasion I left there feeling extremely aggressive trying to stop myself from lashing out and punching the next middle aged nighty wearing trailer park mom I see in the face.
It can't be what they were taught at home unless manners skipped a generation because most of the really rude people I come in contact with are older than me. the 40 to 60 something's seemed to be the worst (I have a secret theory but I'll keep it to myself because it likely to get everybody here panties in an uproar) [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
oh do spill it.. i would like to know about the former 60s' generation who became the 70's me generation... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]I have a secret theory but I'll keep it to myself because it likely to get everybody here panties in an uproarIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]Originally posted by kia027:
[qb]oh do spill it.. i would like to know about the former 60s' generation who became the 70's me generation... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] [/qb]I have a secret theory but I'll keep it to myself because it likely to get everybody here panties in an uproar
No I really don't think I should, part of my theory involves capitalism the other part Americans and the Americanization (especially of place like the one I live in) and lots of people that all ready don't like my political views will get offended.
Let just say Canadians used to have a reputation of being some of the friendliest and most mannered people around but things here have changed allot, and we look more and more like our neighbors everyday.
if it is the neighbors to the south as opposed to the very very northwest then i get the drift [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]Let just say Canadians used to have a reputation of being some of the friendliest and most mannered people around but things here have changed allot, and we look more and more like our neighbors everyday.If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
I don't want to over generalize though that's why I didn't want to say to much [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img] cause I've met allot of very mannered friendly people from down south [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] but more often than not..... But then as I just said in another thread I used to work in the tourism industry and I swear you get the worst of the entire world coming for vacations so I'm tainted by to many years of working with a public I learned to hate.Originally posted by kia027:
[qb]if it is the neighbors to the south as opposed to the very very northwest then i get the drift [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img] [/qb]Let just say Canadians used to have a reputation of being some of the friendliest and most mannered people around but things here have changed allot, and we look more and more like our neighbors everyday.