so do u agree or disagree wid dat statement....a man jus seh dat pon a talk show.... waiting anxiously fi some opinion
being 'black' isn't about skin colour....it is about attitude.....
Re: being 'black' isn't about skin colour....it is about attitude.....
At my job when I come in with my "Don't even think about face," I am often referred to as being a "black man with an attitude, that should not be mess with today." These are statements usually made from my white co-workers. So I guess it's both.
Wot attitude? ***sukteet***
Der is naat such a ting as actin black....peeple dem act wotevah way di waan...it doan change di skin colah. An di skin colah doan mean henyting henyways.
Wi all human wid similah dreams, aspirashuns, an chobbles. Now gwaan bout yuh biznez an behave oonuselves.
I don't agree. Then everytime somebody (of whatever color) do sumthing bad, negative, mean, rude..smaddy gwaan seh dem being black
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img] Forget that!!
I am sure it would never be used for anything positive.
Yuh mean fi tell mi seh as a kawkayzhan meself, if mi git up a mawnin an decide seh mi black, den mi is black??? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
and tomorrow yu can bi purple like barney [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]Originally posted by bandido1:
[qb] Yuh mean fi tell mi seh as a kawkayzhan meself, if mi git up a mawnin an decide seh mi black, den mi is black??? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img] [/qb]
being Black is all bout race
if you white - you not black
if you Asian - you not black
if you American Indian - you not black
that is fact
However, in my life I have seen many Black people act more like a white person and likewise, I have known many white people to act like a Black person. I have seen Asians and Black persons get plastic surgery to look more *white* and I have seen white people bake in the sun to get more *black* and puff their lips out with collagen to have fuller lips (more African?)
so there you have it.
we all cross-over like a good R&B song
and it is all good [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Being black is not an attitude...So far a long of negative thing are reffered to as black. So if someone say you're acting "black" that is not a good thing.
Black is a color, but it can be argued as more ie. a culture, a style, a belief, a consciousness, and even an "attitude" which I take offense to.
SPG,
It was more of a rhetorical question. There really is no such thing as "acting black", "acting white", "acting asian", etc. If one were to even attempt to define "acting (fill in the blank)" then one is left with the conundrum of prescribing behaviors that may apply to anyone or no one at a given instant in time. More often than not an attempt at "acting (fill in the blank)" amounts to nothing more than minstrel show banter and shuffle meant to amuse more than lending any insight into the nature of the perpetrator's character or lack thereof.
Instead of "acting (fill in the blank)", may I suggest merely being true to oneself in all things. In other words....just act human.
Boricua - who could argue your point? acting human. I love that
Unfortunately, some people act white and act black and that is why there is much written bout it.
U r so idealistic to think that we all can act one certain way. We are all influenced by so many things in our life, peers, culture, family, environment, etc
Take that old story of the baby growing up with apes. How in the world could he know HOW to act human?
Much respect tho. I like your writing style.