Re: Jamaica/Japan Connections
There is no such thing as the land of milk and honey. There is no such thing as perfection. Never will be. But there has got to be an alternative to the cap in hand beg de Americans approach. I'll tell you one thing. No Japanese person has ever called me [censored], shuned or humiliated me. Americans, Canadians....now that's a whole other story. Are you going to tell me THEY bargain in good faith with other nations? I think not.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">they show u juss wat they want u to see in all things, an if u slip u tek dem at face value....yep, brilliant wid technology an coopting, but ongle on their terms </div></div>
Are the Americans and Canadians any different? Can we take THEM at face value? Are they displaying technological brilliance? All I know is that when I go to Asia I see certain technology and it is quite a while before it reaches the shores of North America.
Canada is a beaut. They are happy to have Jamaicans come to Canada and do the dutty, low paying jobs THEY don't want to do. Try dealing with them as an equal or better yet superior and they don't like it if you're Black. Look at this article:
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Canada recruits more Jamaicans
published: Tuesday | June 5, 2007
Dionne Rose, Staff Reporter
Hundreds of prospective HEART Trust/NTA trainees yesterday flocked the Ministry of Labour's overseas employment office on East Street in Kingston in the hope of being among the 150 to be selected to work in British Columbia in Canada, in the construction industry.
The applicants are being recruited under a new initiative being spearheaded by the ministry in collaboration with the Okanagan College and the Central Okanagan Regional District Economic Development Commission in Canada.
Good partnership
Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Labour, Alwin McIntosh, told The Gleaner yesterday that five employers were in the island conducting interviews yesterday and today to select the best applicants for the jobs available.
"This seems to be a potentially good partnership because we are starting out with 150 workers, but these are low-skilled persons in carpentry and masonry," he explained. "By the end of the year, we expect the figure to move up to 500."
Mr. McIntosh explained that this new initiative would be integrated in the Ministry's Overseas Employment Programme. He said the group of Canadians had visited the island in April and held discussions with Labour Minister Derrick Kellier about the recruitment.
"The minister will be visiting British Columbia shortly to explore possibilities for greater opportunities for the Jamaican workers," he added.
One of the employers, Terry Brown of Greyback Construction Ltd., told The Gleaner that there is currently a shortage of skilled labourers in Canada.
"For all those Canadians who would like to retire in the next decade, we don't have enough skilled workers to fill the gap that we are going to create, so we are looking abroad globally for workers to support our construction industry."
He said his company was looking to recruit 40 skilled workers in masonry, finished carpentry, among other areas. So far, he said, he was pleased with the applicants interviewed.
And you can bet when the children of these Jamaican immigrants get an education are ready to move into professional and managerial positions and compete with THEIR children...dem naw go like i'. Trust me, I know.
At least when the Japanese recruit (and they are recognizing the need for more diversity in their workforce) they are looking for SKILLED labour. Do you know who the president of Hitachi Canada is? Let me leave it to you and others on the board to find out and come back and tell me.
Bottom line is, as Jamaicans, we need to keep our options open and we would do well to forge stronger alliances with other areas of the world that are doing well....Japan, UAE, and Singapore come immediately to mind. As I speak with Black people working in some of these countries, they don't sound unhappy. Certainly, they have not encoutered perfect societies but there doesn't seem to be an automatic you're Black stay back mindset.
We are WAY too dependent on the Americans right now both in terms of exports and tourism. This is not a good thing and leaves us vulnerable. We need to explore our options, forge new alliances and strength some of our developing alliances. If the pre-requisite is that these countries have to be perfect before we will deal with them....well may as well wait until HELL freezes over.
There is no such thing as the land of milk and honey. There is no such thing as perfection. Never will be. But there has got to be an alternative to the cap in hand beg de Americans approach. I'll tell you one thing. No Japanese person has ever called me [censored], shuned or humiliated me. Americans, Canadians....now that's a whole other story. Are you going to tell me THEY bargain in good faith with other nations? I think not.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">they show u juss wat they want u to see in all things, an if u slip u tek dem at face value....yep, brilliant wid technology an coopting, but ongle on their terms </div></div>
Are the Americans and Canadians any different? Can we take THEM at face value? Are they displaying technological brilliance? All I know is that when I go to Asia I see certain technology and it is quite a while before it reaches the shores of North America.
Canada is a beaut. They are happy to have Jamaicans come to Canada and do the dutty, low paying jobs THEY don't want to do. Try dealing with them as an equal or better yet superior and they don't like it if you're Black. Look at this article:
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Canada recruits more Jamaicans
published: Tuesday | June 5, 2007
Dionne Rose, Staff Reporter
Hundreds of prospective HEART Trust/NTA trainees yesterday flocked the Ministry of Labour's overseas employment office on East Street in Kingston in the hope of being among the 150 to be selected to work in British Columbia in Canada, in the construction industry.
The applicants are being recruited under a new initiative being spearheaded by the ministry in collaboration with the Okanagan College and the Central Okanagan Regional District Economic Development Commission in Canada.
Good partnership
Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Labour, Alwin McIntosh, told The Gleaner yesterday that five employers were in the island conducting interviews yesterday and today to select the best applicants for the jobs available.
"This seems to be a potentially good partnership because we are starting out with 150 workers, but these are low-skilled persons in carpentry and masonry," he explained. "By the end of the year, we expect the figure to move up to 500."
Mr. McIntosh explained that this new initiative would be integrated in the Ministry's Overseas Employment Programme. He said the group of Canadians had visited the island in April and held discussions with Labour Minister Derrick Kellier about the recruitment.
"The minister will be visiting British Columbia shortly to explore possibilities for greater opportunities for the Jamaican workers," he added.
One of the employers, Terry Brown of Greyback Construction Ltd., told The Gleaner that there is currently a shortage of skilled labourers in Canada.
"For all those Canadians who would like to retire in the next decade, we don't have enough skilled workers to fill the gap that we are going to create, so we are looking abroad globally for workers to support our construction industry."
He said his company was looking to recruit 40 skilled workers in masonry, finished carpentry, among other areas. So far, he said, he was pleased with the applicants interviewed.
And you can bet when the children of these Jamaican immigrants get an education are ready to move into professional and managerial positions and compete with THEIR children...dem naw go like i'. Trust me, I know.
At least when the Japanese recruit (and they are recognizing the need for more diversity in their workforce) they are looking for SKILLED labour. Do you know who the president of Hitachi Canada is? Let me leave it to you and others on the board to find out and come back and tell me.
Bottom line is, as Jamaicans, we need to keep our options open and we would do well to forge stronger alliances with other areas of the world that are doing well....Japan, UAE, and Singapore come immediately to mind. As I speak with Black people working in some of these countries, they don't sound unhappy. Certainly, they have not encoutered perfect societies but there doesn't seem to be an automatic you're Black stay back mindset.
We are WAY too dependent on the Americans right now both in terms of exports and tourism. This is not a good thing and leaves us vulnerable. We need to explore our options, forge new alliances and strength some of our developing alliances. If the pre-requisite is that these countries have to be perfect before we will deal with them....well may as well wait until HELL freezes over.