Re: Trip Report (IT'S FINISHED!)--Meeting the parents (ALL PICS INCLUDED!!)
Came home after a long days work to read some more report and see some more pictures, What's up?? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
WOW! great job so far BB. Hurry and finish the rest!! Can't wait to see some more pics especially of you and your man [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] Happy new Year
I was trying to hold out on posting more until I picked up my pictures. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img] All I have are the ones from my boyfriends digital camera and they aren't as interesting as the ones I took. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
I guess I will just continue with the trip report and add what little pictures he has to choose from and go back later and add my own pics...
We climb in the car again and I begin to feel like the passenger seat of this Toyota is my second home for this visit to Jamaica.
My boyfriend washing my second home.
We start laughing when we repeat some of the old time sayings Big Red's Grandmother had said while we were visiting. I wish I could remember some of the things she said. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img] I know she said something about the pot calling the kettle black, but it wasn't the standard saying... it was some variation. She also made this statement "Yuh noe, God love hugly too." [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] There were a few others and my boyfriend and I got a good chuckle out of our visit. Up until that point it was the highlight of my trip.
I settle into my seat and feel how tired my body is. My back hurts, my throat hurts, my sinus are a mess, and the cough is just terrible. It sounds awful and I can not make it stop. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img] All I can think of is how terrible I look. I have long wavy hair and normally it looks perfect in Jamaica. Perfectly wavy and pretty... but b/c it was in the rain for a little bit, it had gotten frizzy and huge. I knew my eyes looked tired and like those of a sick person and all I wanted to do was wash my hands b/c I kept coughing into them. Great, I though to myself I am going to be sick, snotty, congested, coughing, frizzy headed mad woman when we get to his Mothers apartment. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70361-embarassed.gif[/img]
This did not help my nerves.
Almost as if he could read my mind, or perhaps it was me desperately trying to tame my hair with my fingers, my boyfriend puts his hand on my leg and say "Nuh Worry Babes... she is gonna love you." I decide to stop fidgeting so much and fall asleep in the car. That was a big mistake.
I slept for most of the ride and when I woke up I felt a million times worse than before. While sleeping I hadn't coughed once so everything had settled in my chest. I now looked atrocious and felt as though an elephant was on my chest. I could not get a deep breath to save my life. It was terrible, and here we were pulling into the gated apartment complex to meet his mother. I thought I might throw up.
We parked the car and I immediatley got out of the car to smooth out any wrinkes my Khaki pants may have gotten during the car ride. I am looking down at my pants smoothing them out when I hear a woman's voice calling out to my boyfriend. I look up and see Big Red's mother coming our way from the door of her apartment. Well, this is it, I tell myself... it is now or never. Big Red stops getting the bags out of the trunk and heads over to his mom to hug her up. What should I do?, I wonder. Let them have this moment for themselves or head over behind him. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img] I instantly thought of my mother...
You see when my younger brother comes home from college during the semster breaks, he always stops and picks up his friend Erin on the way home. She attends school near him and doesn't own a car, my brother picks her up and brings her home every holiday. It is very sweet of him, the problem is this, my family doesn't really dislike Erin but she is just always around. My brother never takes her right home, she always goes to my mothers house with my brother and ends up being there every day and night while my brother is home. My family rarely gets anytime with just my brother...I didn't want Big Red's mother to feel that way about me. She rarely gets to see her son and I wanted her to have all the time in the world with him.
I decided to just kind of hang back and let the two of them hug and smile at one another before I started to head towards the door. Big Red was already in the living room by the time I reached the door and was hugging his younger sister who happens to be my age (26). I smiled at his mom, struggled not to cough and gave her a hug. Now when I say his mom is beautiful it isn't just cause she is my boyfriend mom and I legally have to say things like that [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] ... it is the truth. She is just like her mother in that she is so warm hearted. You can tell this is a mother who would go to the end of the earth for her kids plus more. She has the nicest warmest smile and most caring nature as I hugged her I felt my body calm down a little and a small bit of the fear left me.
Notice I said I small bit of the fear left... I was still nervous as I don't know what!
I knew as soon as I laid eyes on Mrs. Red that this visit would be much more intense than the visit with Roots was. You take one look at Mrs. Red and know for as caring and loving as she is, she is also strong, professional, and would not let a single things harm her children. I was looking at her look at her only son and I knew Mrs. Red was really going to try to get to know me. She wanted to see what her son had gotten into.
Great report BB. Sounds like you had the flu pretty bad though. Hope it did't spoil your trip. Oh, and I have just one question, don't they have one hour photo in Maryland? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img] :verymad: When are you getting your pics back? We fass, and we want to see a pic of you and your man.
Originally posted by dr. bones:
[qb] h, and I have just one question, don't they have one hour photo in Maryland? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img] :verymad: When are you getting your pics back? We fass, and we want to see a pic of you and your man. [/qb]
You know, they do have one hour photo but I didn't get that [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img] ... I had about 8 rolls of film and there was no way I could get all of them in an hour. So I will get them back sometime next week. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
You love to torture us don't you? 8 rolls could be done in an hour, but it would probably cost you a bundle, and we're used to be continued in your stories. Guess you'll just have to make it up to us next week by posting lots of pics then [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.