have anyone heard anything lately. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]ray: [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]ray:
St Elizabeth
Re: St Elizabeth
Nothing yet.
Calling a land line phone I get all circuits busy, tho I really don't expect to get thru anytime soon.
Cell phones just give a busy signal.
I keep hearing that Jamaica was spared, but that's from Kingston, Ochi and Mobay.
St. Elizabeth & the south west coast were closest to the where the eye passed. Charley had done some serious damage to the roads and he was minor.
No word so far on TB.net either.
When I left, ponds were still higher than normal and a heavy rain had already started eroding the newly marled/oiled roads.
fort charles from cross roads down get a bad hit can only assume pond side and such do too an many roof gone much house gone too in Mi hear sum of da murry an lindo family area hit bad, total out all bout roads der wash away an mud slide gone fe seaside an dat from 8 dis morning befor da cell run outta power and da storm only half way done den. Dem fright fe go out an look further.
you know, i've been putting up with Tony Laing's grating voice for the last few hours hoping to hear something from St. Elizabeth and still can't hear. Gawdalmighty, what a man voice can tire the brain!
Anyway, him a bawl out to de St. Elizabeth people now fe call een and mek evrybaddy know whatagwaan. The phone lines are down and cellphones may be dead in St. Elizabeth why we can't hear anything.
Sweetlips, I've got 106 and will post anything I hear right away if there's any news. Right now, it's person after person trying to locate loved ones within the country. Hope it's not long before they connect.
*Glendale, Kingston looking for family in Epsome, St. Mary.
Hurricane Ivan Cat 5 now.
I have spoken to my mother a few times in the Malvern,Monroe,Southfield area of St. Elizabeth via her cell phone. She is telling me that she is fine, but all the houses that she can see around her is destroyed. She says there are no trees standing. The last time i spoke to her was about 7:00 pm eastern time and she said the winds were dying down, but the rain is relentless.
She only got bits and pieces and things are a bit hectic for her because water is entering the house through some windows and doors. she did say that Treasure beach and Junction were hit pretty bad. I try to talk for a little bit at a time because her cell phone is going to die and she has no means to recharge. Funny thing is I just left the island on Monday.
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]ray: [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]ray: [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]ray: Still nothing from TB. Can't get thru by phone. No text messages returned.
Mi just get thru to Mi brother half way between fort charles and treasure beach as he recharged him phone pon da car battery. LOL Him always so smart. Him say large distruction, Him no see no tree a stand an most all place Him can walk out to see loss roof an da water is still flooding in da house about two foot what still standing. Him say roads impassable for now way to much pon da roads gonna be days from what He can see befor tings clear but da roads washed away an Wire down all ovea where it put in new so lan line phone nah good till line fix. Him say him lose sum animals wha him can see dead inna yard but da water still a rise up. Will call again in da morning if can reach Him He will go out and see tings an tek names of dem wha irie or not can pass on.seen.JamaicaPower106 a big BIG UP wit all da communications for da WORLD of JAMAICANs wha nah pon yard fe Ya fantastic WORK!Da USA Raido Stations caan be jealous to hear such Home Town personal care dat da station a put on fe get da people in contact wit dem family and pass public info. Youll have My Money an Donations!