PITTSFIELD -- South Asia is a long way from Pittsfield, but many area residents still want to help in the wake of Sunday's devastating earthquake and tsunami, which, as of yesterday, had killed more than 120,000 people and left millions homeless.
Kathleen Phillips, executive director of the Berkshire County chapter of the American Red Cross on West Street, said yesterday that telephone calls offering help to the victims of the disaster have more than doubled from the 125 daily calls the organization normally receives.
Phone ringing 'nonstop'
"They started coming in on Monday," Phillips said, and the phone has been ringing "nonstop" since. She said that she and her assistant, Kimberly Dean, have done little more than answer the phone the past two days.
The sheer volume of calls reminds her of the situation following Sept. 11 three years ago. She said yesterday afternoon that the Berkshire chapter had raised $4,000 over the previous 24 hours for tsunami victims, although she wasn't sure of the total amount.
People also have visited the Pittsfield office to contribute.
"I've had over 20 walk-ins," Dean said.
The volume of calls to the Pittsfield office is apparently being matched at American Red Cross chapters across the country. As of noon Wednesday, $18 million had been contributed to the American Red Cross International Response Fund. The International Response Fund supports both immediate and long-term relief efforts for disaster victims in countries outside the United States.
Phillips said the biggest single donation the Berkshire chapter had received was $1,000, given by an individual who came to the office on West Street with a check......
Originally posted by evanovitch:
[qb] so car wash weh awfa Bog Walk...well well well...where have i heard this before...ooooh yes..every time rain fall a yaad, is a matter of when a car gwine to wash weh a Bog Walk...
anybody eva look een to building an elevated bridge ova dat riva
did they do a feasibility study an find dat dere was nothing to be done
whe it a go tek fi someting done bout dere...is bad enuff dat two vehicle cyan drive crass given certain tings, but dis a gwane from donkey was a bwoy, and him great great great great grandson deh bout now
cho...enuff is enuff wid dat deh bridge [/qb]
Iches had a three page thread in the Politrix forum about Flat Bridge and it's impassability when likkle rain falls, muchless when it floods. We had some excellent comments, and the concensus is, nothing can be done; and even if so, the cost would be monstrous. It is not that the idea hasn't been explored by engineers from waaay back.
What I find ridiculous is this, Jamaicans know that Flat Bridge is not to be "trifled with" when it rains, still yet they take very risky chances..when will we learn?
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.