Re: How has life bin...For you to live in your Black skin...OURSTORY
MY STORY jus a piece
Being brought up in Canada but as a Jamaican was good till I had to come into contact wid de ress a de world. All we knew was potois. When I started school I’d go to school tellin’ ppl fe nuh henkah roun mi.
Mi tell bwoy mi wi buss him rahtid. De ppl dem look pan mi a way wid confusion. I thought I was speaking proper words. When I came home wid some tings weh de yt ppl wouldan seh (cah dat is how we referred to them ) MI faddah would drape mi up an she yuh tink ya dyam Canadian.
Dis kinda talk went on fe years as a yute. When we’d go to Jamaica dem would seh him a nuh wan a wi him a farinah. Eventually mi realize seh mi nuh belong nuhweh.
Nuff fighting, nuff running, nuff ****** callin’ .
We didn’t tell our parents boutee tuh much cah we were raised to just deal wid it and not fe tek nuttin.
My older brother was there for me quite a bit. He was truly my keeper, no matter how much fighting we did a yaad, when we did outta yaad him did always look out fe mi. Aftah a while all I had to do was mek dem kno a who a mi bredda.
There were only 4 blk ppl een a de school of 1200ppl. We were always picked last to be on a team. The yt girls neh want we fe touch dem cah we got coodies. De whool a dem always feel my head (hair) and seh how it feel like carpet or how it feel like sheep.
They had so much to say about me or against me, but I knew nothing of them, I never had a come back.
I could never speak up for myself. Even the teachers were against me. They could say tings to me in the class, single me out, mek mi bawl infront a everybody an den tell mi fe stop it and be a man. At 5 and 6 dat just made it worse. I hated school, I hated them, I hated being black and would do anything to be like them. I wanted to kill myself, but I hated pain and didn’t know enough about pills (good ting)
This was in the 70’s, Nuff ppl tink we’ve come a long way. But my reality is pure reality. My pain is pure pain, that I hate to see other ppl go through. Sure dem nuh beat we ar hang we nuh more OR DO THEY.
Police still a heng ppl. Anyhow…
My school years were ruff. It got better in high school but that was momentarily. When I finished school I got the job where I am at in the late 80’s. I figured when I got to work I’d be working with big ppl so I wouldn’t have to deal wid dis foolishness nuh more.
What a rude a wakening mi fall into. It was worse. I was never treated so bad (aside from police biz). They tried to give me the lousy jobs. I did have some foreign ppl behind me. Some greeks and other ppl who couldn’t speak the language too well would always ask me what dis word mean or dat word.
So I had a couple of alliances cah de regulah yt Canadian would baddah dem cah a de way dem talk.
When I started to drive better vehicles then them ppl would look pan mi a way and even come ask me how I do it. One time my bosses, boss aks me how I do it DWL, The police have asked me how I do it.
Customs have asked me how I do it. These ppl are amazing.
Fassfahwood tuh 95…
I went the(MMM) million man march, I left work never told a sou, cah a nun a fe dem biz. When mi reach back sumhow dem did kno she a deh suh mi di deh.
Some were pist off cause I went and made their dumb *** comments.
Since then MMM I’ve been harassed to know end. I was foolish and registered to go to the march. A requirement in the states, I should have just went.
I’ve had my Onstar in my truck cloned. I’ve had infiltration of infahmayshun.
I’ve sued the city of London, threatened to sue the city of Tornto. Cause you can’t sue a police station yuh haffee sue the corp of the city.
Now mi a jrive even bigga vehicles den back in 95 and dat a hot de Babylon, not de ppl a wukk cah dem still a wundah how mi dweet.
In 93 a Babylonian cum a mi yaad fe ahx bout a fren.
Him seh is that your car
I said yes
Him seh is this your house
I said yes
Him seh well I work for the London police force and I can’t afford all of this.
Mi seh well you’re in the wrong job then and mi motion mi han tuh show him tuh de door an mi out him.
Well mi deh ya in a city which is 3% blk and still nuh mattah weh mi a guh and how many good moves I make I’m still looked at wid speculation, still dem a wundah. All when mi deh pan TV a teach fe dem yutes in de schools bout racism and de ppl cum up to me and “hey I saw you on TV” dem still speculate aftah de fact.
My life has been so full ( I intend to write a book sometime, I have my notes) I could write bout dis stuff forever. I joined human rights to help ppl deal wid de tings I’ve been through. In all though it was still a good experience, It has made me strong, it has made me know myself, it has made me ME , it had given me the knowledge of knowing when to fight and when not to fight.
But martial arts has given me that too. I was taught by a Master who trained fighters in Korea, so he taught war philosophy jus like the kung fu movie masters. Fighting 4 on 1 and 5 on 1. The confidence fe deal wid any situation dat may arise at any time like how…
The knowledge that anyday I leave home I may not make it back just cah there is smaddy out deh who would love fe duh mi supm.
Therefore I give thanks everytime I reach a mi yaad.
And I give thanks to each and everyone a unno.
JAH BLESS till nex time
GIVE THANKS
MY STORY jus a piece
Being brought up in Canada but as a Jamaican was good till I had to come into contact wid de ress a de world. All we knew was potois. When I started school I’d go to school tellin’ ppl fe nuh henkah roun mi.
Mi tell bwoy mi wi buss him rahtid. De ppl dem look pan mi a way wid confusion. I thought I was speaking proper words. When I came home wid some tings weh de yt ppl wouldan seh (cah dat is how we referred to them ) MI faddah would drape mi up an she yuh tink ya dyam Canadian.
Dis kinda talk went on fe years as a yute. When we’d go to Jamaica dem would seh him a nuh wan a wi him a farinah. Eventually mi realize seh mi nuh belong nuhweh.
Nuff fighting, nuff running, nuff ****** callin’ .
We didn’t tell our parents boutee tuh much cah we were raised to just deal wid it and not fe tek nuttin.
My older brother was there for me quite a bit. He was truly my keeper, no matter how much fighting we did a yaad, when we did outta yaad him did always look out fe mi. Aftah a while all I had to do was mek dem kno a who a mi bredda.
There were only 4 blk ppl een a de school of 1200ppl. We were always picked last to be on a team. The yt girls neh want we fe touch dem cah we got coodies. De whool a dem always feel my head (hair) and seh how it feel like carpet or how it feel like sheep.
They had so much to say about me or against me, but I knew nothing of them, I never had a come back.
I could never speak up for myself. Even the teachers were against me. They could say tings to me in the class, single me out, mek mi bawl infront a everybody an den tell mi fe stop it and be a man. At 5 and 6 dat just made it worse. I hated school, I hated them, I hated being black and would do anything to be like them. I wanted to kill myself, but I hated pain and didn’t know enough about pills (good ting)
This was in the 70’s, Nuff ppl tink we’ve come a long way. But my reality is pure reality. My pain is pure pain, that I hate to see other ppl go through. Sure dem nuh beat we ar hang we nuh more OR DO THEY.
Police still a heng ppl. Anyhow…
My school years were ruff. It got better in high school but that was momentarily. When I finished school I got the job where I am at in the late 80’s. I figured when I got to work I’d be working with big ppl so I wouldn’t have to deal wid dis foolishness nuh more.
What a rude a wakening mi fall into. It was worse. I was never treated so bad (aside from police biz). They tried to give me the lousy jobs. I did have some foreign ppl behind me. Some greeks and other ppl who couldn’t speak the language too well would always ask me what dis word mean or dat word.
So I had a couple of alliances cah de regulah yt Canadian would baddah dem cah a de way dem talk.
When I started to drive better vehicles then them ppl would look pan mi a way and even come ask me how I do it. One time my bosses, boss aks me how I do it DWL, The police have asked me how I do it.
Customs have asked me how I do it. These ppl are amazing.
Fassfahwood tuh 95…
I went the(MMM) million man march, I left work never told a sou, cah a nun a fe dem biz. When mi reach back sumhow dem did kno she a deh suh mi di deh.
Some were pist off cause I went and made their dumb *** comments.
Since then MMM I’ve been harassed to know end. I was foolish and registered to go to the march. A requirement in the states, I should have just went.
I’ve had my Onstar in my truck cloned. I’ve had infiltration of infahmayshun.
I’ve sued the city of London, threatened to sue the city of Tornto. Cause you can’t sue a police station yuh haffee sue the corp of the city.
Now mi a jrive even bigga vehicles den back in 95 and dat a hot de Babylon, not de ppl a wukk cah dem still a wundah how mi dweet.
In 93 a Babylonian cum a mi yaad fe ahx bout a fren.
Him seh is that your car
I said yes
Him seh is this your house
I said yes
Him seh well I work for the London police force and I can’t afford all of this.
Mi seh well you’re in the wrong job then and mi motion mi han tuh show him tuh de door an mi out him.
Well mi deh ya in a city which is 3% blk and still nuh mattah weh mi a guh and how many good moves I make I’m still looked at wid speculation, still dem a wundah. All when mi deh pan TV a teach fe dem yutes in de schools bout racism and de ppl cum up to me and “hey I saw you on TV” dem still speculate aftah de fact.
My life has been so full ( I intend to write a book sometime, I have my notes) I could write bout dis stuff forever. I joined human rights to help ppl deal wid de tings I’ve been through. In all though it was still a good experience, It has made me strong, it has made me know myself, it has made me ME , it had given me the knowledge of knowing when to fight and when not to fight.
But martial arts has given me that too. I was taught by a Master who trained fighters in Korea, so he taught war philosophy jus like the kung fu movie masters. Fighting 4 on 1 and 5 on 1. The confidence fe deal wid any situation dat may arise at any time like how…
The knowledge that anyday I leave home I may not make it back just cah there is smaddy out deh who would love fe duh mi supm.
Therefore I give thanks everytime I reach a mi yaad.
And I give thanks to each and everyone a unno.
JAH BLESS till nex time
GIVE THANKS
hmm....why am i still there?). if i want to go further up the career ladder, and somedays i do, some days i don't, i don't consider my colour as a factor in whether i achieve that or not - i simply don't have the habit of thinking in those terms. i have to say that part of this nonchalance is due to having seen many other white folk facing their own career struggles.
He had the nerve to wipe his hand after you brushed up against him?
They now have a commercial on tv about racism, a black guy sits down and this woman of another race jumps up because she doesn't want to sit beside him. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img] At least you had friends you could hang out with, I like Tropi was wondering about dating if you are a minority in your high school years.
(Don't bother to say it folks, I alredy know it. What a dump, stupid girl I was at 18...completely colour blind and completely clueless). She then said well if it isn't because of race then how come (I'll call her) Mary (a White friend of ours and also a teen at our church) asked me "Don't you know any Black guys?" when I told her we were upset about the dating scenario and the fact that we didn't have dates for the banquet. Talk about: