Living in Jamaica, it was more a joke to me than anything else when I'd see the beauracracy Jamaicans faced when trying to enter other Caribbean nations, but vica-versa, it wasnt that difficult. Still I didnt think of oit as "they hate us" but more like our govt just not doing what it should for its people.
Anyway since moving to Canada, on the rear occasions that I meet other nationals, once in a while, I will hear some disparaging comment. Somewhere in the lines of "Jamaicans give black people bad name becuse they always commiting crime"..
Mi usually laff it off, and quickly move from dat deh topic.. Anyway of late this St. Vincent filly come onboard.. Smart girl, decent looking west indian beauty.
So one time mi and har a talk and she said her dad hate all Jamaicans.. Still mi let that slide.. But yesterday we a have lunch, and my sitren start bout how other black nationals hate Jamaicans, and she can diffrenciate black nationals cause she grw up oin Montreal, so she know when she see aJamaican pon di news as a criminal, it IS a Jamaican, and how her father hates Jamaicans, rah rah rey rey..
So me get mad now and start blast har up inna di restaurant (still me did a try hold back cause a she did drive, and mi neva want fi hafi go teck bus bak to work.. still mi did have mi VEX money [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] ))So mi start point out all the great Jamaicans.. Rathind when mi seh Ben Johnson.. My friend give out.. "Yuh mean the one that took all the drugs??!"..
Anyways, mi just meck she (and all in earshot at the restaurant) know she, the reason why other blacks critisizes Jamaicans is because they are JEALOUS of us.. We as a small nation is known.. We are somebodys.. Those that try to sling muds at us is just their way of calling the grapes sour.
We have REPUTATION, and thats power.
Well in the end mi meck she know that the media has done a number on her, and I'll undo it..
So question.. is from your experience is there any truth to the notion that Jamaicans are despised (more times silently) by other Caribbean nationals?..
Anyway since moving to Canada, on the rear occasions that I meet other nationals, once in a while, I will hear some disparaging comment. Somewhere in the lines of "Jamaicans give black people bad name becuse they always commiting crime"..
Mi usually laff it off, and quickly move from dat deh topic.. Anyway of late this St. Vincent filly come onboard.. Smart girl, decent looking west indian beauty.
So one time mi and har a talk and she said her dad hate all Jamaicans.. Still mi let that slide.. But yesterday we a have lunch, and my sitren start bout how other black nationals hate Jamaicans, and she can diffrenciate black nationals cause she grw up oin Montreal, so she know when she see aJamaican pon di news as a criminal, it IS a Jamaican, and how her father hates Jamaicans, rah rah rey rey..
So me get mad now and start blast har up inna di restaurant (still me did a try hold back cause a she did drive, and mi neva want fi hafi go teck bus bak to work.. still mi did have mi VEX money [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] ))So mi start point out all the great Jamaicans.. Rathind when mi seh Ben Johnson.. My friend give out.. "Yuh mean the one that took all the drugs??!"..
Anyways, mi just meck she (and all in earshot at the restaurant) know she, the reason why other blacks critisizes Jamaicans is because they are JEALOUS of us.. We as a small nation is known.. We are somebodys.. Those that try to sling muds at us is just their way of calling the grapes sour.
We have REPUTATION, and thats power.
Well in the end mi meck she know that the media has done a number on her, and I'll undo it..
So question.. is from your experience is there any truth to the notion that Jamaicans are despised (more times silently) by other Caribbean nationals?..