<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jazz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Wellthe pollsters also predicted that Hilary would take Iowa... </div></div> not the polls imediately leading up to the vote if i recall correctly
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jazz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Yes an mi lissen im speech outta NH laas nite... de more mi lissen him de more mi love him...
mi ah convert verybaddy inna mi office one by one... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
love teh clip [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img] </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jaded</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jazz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Yes an mi lissen im speech outta NH laas nite... de more mi lissen him de more mi love him...
mi ah convert verybaddy inna mi office one by one... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
love teh clip [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img] </div></div>
bway me hope yu not disappointed if im win... </div></div>
well nobodys perfect - I don;t have any unrealistic uepextations that he will wave a magic wand and heal America overnight... if he is honest and remains true to who he says he is - we criss [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jazz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">OK so our boy came in 2nd in Hew Hampshire... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img] - not the best results... but look how tight the race was...
This is not the end - there is s tough fight ahead and he is far from down and out...
He will still triumph and take teh presidency...
MI SEH SO!!! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img] </div></div>
[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img] mi nuh call 2% noh major victory...very tight..
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jazz</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jaded</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jazz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Yes an mi lissen im speech outta NH laas nite... de more mi lissen him de more mi love him...
bway me hope yu not disappointed if im win... </div></div>
well nobodys perfect - I don;t have any unrealistic uepextations that he will wave a magic wand and heal America overnight... if he is honest and remains true to who he says he is - we criss [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
**stawt fret*** </div></div>
no fret..I'm juss an ole cynic who feels the same as we fren JohnnyCakes..me nu really expect too much from none a dem..even if dem stawt out wid good intentions [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img]
de ooman whe ask de question mek hilary bawl end up a bawl arself and she pick obama [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> "I was moved to tears. Not once, but twice," she said. "And he has this enormous electricity. And I was just taken aback. And I just had to go with my feelings."</div></div>
Funny, I was reading similar story earlier on abcnews.com. Made me chuckle..
Here's an excerpt--specific sections copied**
I went to see Hillary. I was undecided and I was moved by her response to me," Pernold Young said in a telephone interview with ABC News. "We saw 10 seconds of Hillary, the caring woman." "But then when she turned away from me, I noticed that she stiffened up and took on that political posture again," she said. "And the woman that I noticed for 10 seconds was gone."
Immediately after the event, Pernold Young told ABC News she felt a connection with Clinton.
"She allowed herself to feel," Pernold Young said at the time. " I was surprised and I said, 'wow there's someone there.'"
"All my girlfriends say, 'how does she do it?' How does she manage, how does she look so great all the time, I'd like to know who her hairdresser is," she said. "I just like to know how she puts it all together and is still plausible, believable and in control."
'I Was in Awe' But in the end, she said it was Obama's message of hope and change that won her vote.
"I went to see Obama on Friday and he moved me to tears, I was in awe," she said in a telephone interview with ABC News. "I'm 64 years old and nobody does that to me." [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Pernold Young said even though Clinton didn't win her vote, she still respects Clinton as a woman.
She also said that she is "worried" about Clinton.
"As a hardworking woman, how does she have down time, how does she get away from it all?" she said. "Especially when her mind is probably racing, and your mind is always with you."
Pernold Young said she's also worried about Obama, acknowledging he, too, is a working senator, a parent and a spouse. But she said she's more worried that the Illinois senator's political momentum will stall.
"He's a new fresh face and I'm just hoping he will keep up the momentum, that he will stay the course and success and bring fresh air to the White House," she said.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">That raised fears that Obama had suffered from concealed racism through what pollsters nickname "the Bradley effect", a reference to the black mayor of Los Angeles, Tom Bradley, who lost an election for governor of California in 1982 despite having commanding opinion poll leads with white voters beforehand.
According to this theory, when faced with a black candidate, voters tell pollsters one thing and then do another in the privacy of the voting booth. In Iowa, where the caucuses mean voting is done in open sight, the Bradley effect could not take place.</div></div>
There might very well be such a thing, but I don't think this was the case in NH. For one, all indications are that Clinton surged on the very day of the primary, which would be after the polls were conducted. Hence, I don't think the polls were at fault, as some in the media are saying. Women came out in droves to support her, and NH democrats more often than not tend to vote for the 'establishment' candidate - which would be Clinton. Indeed, the results bear this out: Clinton did particularly well among the democratic base in that state. Students who overwhelmingly support Obama did not come out in significant numbers for their candidate. It was always known that this constituency (students) are generally unreliable on election day. The other thing is that many of Obama's supporters, confident that he had locked up a win, did not go out, despite the record level of turnout, generally, in the democratic primary. This may be a case where the polls lulled Obama's supporters into a false sense of security, and hence their candidate lost, though so slightly. Obama has to learn from this; he has to get his supporters, as much as possible, to the polls. In any case, a two-point win by Clinton is hardly a confirmation of this "effect." So, I would discount the "Bradley effect."
A much talked about example since last night, the case of Harold Ford in Tennessee, is different. He deserved to loose. Besides, those polls numbers had mostly shown him and his opponent neck and neck.
The fact is that people can change their minds on election day and it may have nothing to do with race.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.