Re: Jamaicans.Com Story
Phatty rolled over in bed and groaned at the streak of sunlight that hit her eyes. She rolled onto her back and looked up at the ceiling. She let the sounds of the birds chirping and the wind blowing sink in as she meditated before rising.
She freshened up and made her way down to the kitchen to get a cup of coffee then it hit her, 'you haven't been grocery shopping yet, dummy' she said as she sighed with annoyance.
She began to make her way out the door as she heard sounds coming from the kitchen. Her heart began to race as she stopped in her tracks to listen closely. Pots and pans clanged together as they were being shifted around. Phatty slowly made her way toward the kitchen. She froze as she heard footsteps shuffle across the floor. She felt dizzy with fear as she pushed open the kitchen door and walked in. She looked around and no one seem to be in there. "Good morning Phatty." She heard behind her.
Phatty screamed with all she knew when she realized that it was RichD that stood behind the door. "Oh my gosh, you scared me to death." Phatty said clutching her heart. RichD came from behind the door with a chuckle.
"I'm sorry. I let myself in so I can get started early on a few things. I didn't want to wake you, knowing you had a long drive up yesterday.
"Well I rather be woken up than giving a heart attack." Phatty laughed nervously as her nerves calmed.
"Sorry, well i'll keep that in mind. I was planning on doing what I can in the kitchen today, so you will be able to use it. Eating out can get expensive and boring. So I'll try and have the kitchen done by the end of the week."
"Thanks, well do you know where's a good place to get some breakfast?
"Well, my wife owns the diner across from the police station downtown, 'MarieK's'. Pop in and tell her I sent you."
"Okay thanks, I'm gonna see if TLC wants to have breakfast too. Then I'll head over there. Catch later."
"Later."
Phatty unrigged her SUV from the moving van and made her way over to TLC's. The early morning ride felt so good through the country. Phatty wind the window down to get some the fresh morning air flowing. She pulled up into TLC's yard where there was another car in the drive.
She began walking up the stairs towards the front door when it swung open and out came a familiar face. Dahjah, High School jock and College sports hero. "Hi there Dahjah." Phatty greeted.
Dahjah walked pass her without even acknowledging she was there. It kind of irked Phatty due to the fact that they all used to be such good friends. He got in his car and drove off.
TLC exited shortly before Phatty could regain her composure to approach her door again. "Hey girl, what you doing her so early?"
"Just wandering if you were interested in going to MarieK's for breakfast? I'm paying."
"Sure girl, let's go I was gonna go for my morning walk, but i'll do that tomorrow we have some catching up to do."
On the way to the diner, they spoke of what they've been doing since Phatty left.
"I've missed it here so bad. Not most of the people, but the atmosphere, the peace."
"We took our little town for granted until we went into the big city, that showed us what we really had. It's a better state of mind here, a lot better."
"So Dahjah huh?"
"Yeah, we stopped dating for awhile, just started again recently. We're meant to be."
"Said hello to him this morning no answer."
"I figured. Remember Kingy and him was really good friends. Suh him ah carry cross fi yuh."
"Why should he? Kingy isn't."
"Phatty I don't think you realized the dent you left in some of our lives when you left. It's always the person who thought they didn't have any effect that has the most."
"I guess you're right. So anything of wedding bells."
"No, because I want a prenup." Phatty turned and looked at TLC in shock.
"Come on girl."
"Just because we grew up together doesn't mean that you forget how hard you and your own worked to get where you are."
"Doesn't he have a lot of his own though."
"Yea, but i'm talking about what I have built and generations of my family what I have is worth more. You know the one that has more assets get scre*ed on the divorce."
"Well it's easy to rectify that situation. Just don't get a divorce."
"Let's make it easier, get a prenup and I don't have to worry."
Phatty pulled up in front of the Diner. On hopping out of the van she noticed Tanya, Gen, and Bizi sitting at one of the booths by the window. "Has this town shrunk? Run ins are so easy around here." She said as she held the door for TLC to walk in.
"Don't worry about them girl. No life means they have to tamper with yours. Feel great, someone's always talking about you, you're practically a celebrity. Oops excuse me, look at who I am talking to the celebrity chef." TLC chuckled as she sat in the booth behind the girls, as that was the only one available.
'Spaces just get smaller and smaller around here.' Phatty thought to herself.
"Yeah girl I heard you're gonna open a restaurant here. That's gonna pull people from near and far huh?"
"Yes, girl the dream is finally coming true."
"It's a small town, doesn't need another restaurant." Bizi said from behing Phatty. Phatty rolled her eyes as she realized that Bizi was not gonna make this an easy move.
"Di city folk dem jus love come try tek ova. Dem tek wi fi eeidat. Dem might get proven wrong." Tanya spoke up before she took the last sip of her coffee.
"Dem wi learn soon and faas." Gen added.
"Wow it's like listening to a three headed monster speak." Phatty retorted.
"Wha mek unoo nuh act like smaddy when people come roun' dat's why unoo have hard time deh find man."
"Maybe because we don't go after men that are already taken." Bizi spat. TLC rose to approach her, but Phatty caught her arm and pulled her back.
"Girl don't fight in the gutter." Phatty said pointing her to sit back down.
The three girls got up to leave, Gen stopped at the door. "Don't forget the past Phatty, because if you do it will take away your present." She walked out.
This was going to be an interesting opening.
Phatty rolled over in bed and groaned at the streak of sunlight that hit her eyes. She rolled onto her back and looked up at the ceiling. She let the sounds of the birds chirping and the wind blowing sink in as she meditated before rising.
She freshened up and made her way down to the kitchen to get a cup of coffee then it hit her, 'you haven't been grocery shopping yet, dummy' she said as she sighed with annoyance.
She began to make her way out the door as she heard sounds coming from the kitchen. Her heart began to race as she stopped in her tracks to listen closely. Pots and pans clanged together as they were being shifted around. Phatty slowly made her way toward the kitchen. She froze as she heard footsteps shuffle across the floor. She felt dizzy with fear as she pushed open the kitchen door and walked in. She looked around and no one seem to be in there. "Good morning Phatty." She heard behind her.
Phatty screamed with all she knew when she realized that it was RichD that stood behind the door. "Oh my gosh, you scared me to death." Phatty said clutching her heart. RichD came from behind the door with a chuckle.
"I'm sorry. I let myself in so I can get started early on a few things. I didn't want to wake you, knowing you had a long drive up yesterday.
"Well I rather be woken up than giving a heart attack." Phatty laughed nervously as her nerves calmed.
"Sorry, well i'll keep that in mind. I was planning on doing what I can in the kitchen today, so you will be able to use it. Eating out can get expensive and boring. So I'll try and have the kitchen done by the end of the week."
"Thanks, well do you know where's a good place to get some breakfast?
"Well, my wife owns the diner across from the police station downtown, 'MarieK's'. Pop in and tell her I sent you."
"Okay thanks, I'm gonna see if TLC wants to have breakfast too. Then I'll head over there. Catch later."
"Later."
Phatty unrigged her SUV from the moving van and made her way over to TLC's. The early morning ride felt so good through the country. Phatty wind the window down to get some the fresh morning air flowing. She pulled up into TLC's yard where there was another car in the drive.
She began walking up the stairs towards the front door when it swung open and out came a familiar face. Dahjah, High School jock and College sports hero. "Hi there Dahjah." Phatty greeted.
Dahjah walked pass her without even acknowledging she was there. It kind of irked Phatty due to the fact that they all used to be such good friends. He got in his car and drove off.
TLC exited shortly before Phatty could regain her composure to approach her door again. "Hey girl, what you doing her so early?"
"Just wandering if you were interested in going to MarieK's for breakfast? I'm paying."
"Sure girl, let's go I was gonna go for my morning walk, but i'll do that tomorrow we have some catching up to do."
On the way to the diner, they spoke of what they've been doing since Phatty left.
"I've missed it here so bad. Not most of the people, but the atmosphere, the peace."
"We took our little town for granted until we went into the big city, that showed us what we really had. It's a better state of mind here, a lot better."
"So Dahjah huh?"
"Yeah, we stopped dating for awhile, just started again recently. We're meant to be."
"Said hello to him this morning no answer."
"I figured. Remember Kingy and him was really good friends. Suh him ah carry cross fi yuh."
"Why should he? Kingy isn't."
"Phatty I don't think you realized the dent you left in some of our lives when you left. It's always the person who thought they didn't have any effect that has the most."
"I guess you're right. So anything of wedding bells."
"No, because I want a prenup." Phatty turned and looked at TLC in shock.
"Come on girl."
"Just because we grew up together doesn't mean that you forget how hard you and your own worked to get where you are."
"Doesn't he have a lot of his own though."
"Yea, but i'm talking about what I have built and generations of my family what I have is worth more. You know the one that has more assets get scre*ed on the divorce."
"Well it's easy to rectify that situation. Just don't get a divorce."
"Let's make it easier, get a prenup and I don't have to worry."
Phatty pulled up in front of the Diner. On hopping out of the van she noticed Tanya, Gen, and Bizi sitting at one of the booths by the window. "Has this town shrunk? Run ins are so easy around here." She said as she held the door for TLC to walk in.
"Don't worry about them girl. No life means they have to tamper with yours. Feel great, someone's always talking about you, you're practically a celebrity. Oops excuse me, look at who I am talking to the celebrity chef." TLC chuckled as she sat in the booth behind the girls, as that was the only one available.
'Spaces just get smaller and smaller around here.' Phatty thought to herself.
"Yeah girl I heard you're gonna open a restaurant here. That's gonna pull people from near and far huh?"
"Yes, girl the dream is finally coming true."
"It's a small town, doesn't need another restaurant." Bizi said from behing Phatty. Phatty rolled her eyes as she realized that Bizi was not gonna make this an easy move.
"Di city folk dem jus love come try tek ova. Dem tek wi fi eeidat. Dem might get proven wrong." Tanya spoke up before she took the last sip of her coffee.
"Dem wi learn soon and faas." Gen added.
"Wow it's like listening to a three headed monster speak." Phatty retorted.
"Wha mek unoo nuh act like smaddy when people come roun' dat's why unoo have hard time deh find man."
"Maybe because we don't go after men that are already taken." Bizi spat. TLC rose to approach her, but Phatty caught her arm and pulled her back.
"Girl don't fight in the gutter." Phatty said pointing her to sit back down.
The three girls got up to leave, Gen stopped at the door. "Don't forget the past Phatty, because if you do it will take away your present." She walked out.
This was going to be an interesting opening.