<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/GuTbvRRJJmI&feature=player_embedded#at=389"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/GuTbvRRJJmI&feature=player_embedded#at=389" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
"We Are The World 25th" (Haiti Version)
Re: "We Are The World 25th" (Haiti Version)
I enjoyed that ..
Thank God they started out with the weaker singers and left the stronger voices to the end. They revived the song at the end. Not sure if I liked the rap parts but it can do.
Loved that they included Michael and Ray Charles in it. Big up fi dat
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Magix</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/GuTbvRRJJmI&feature=player_embedded#at=389"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/GuTbvRRJJmI&feature=player_embedded#at=389" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object> </div></div>
Orianthi and Carlos Santana (on guitar) the rappers - LL Cool J - Will.i.am - Snoop Dogg - Busta Rhymes - Swizz Beatz - Iyaz - Kanye West
I enjoyed the rap.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistahD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I enjoyed that too... oddly I was not impressed with Wyclef!
Mi neidaToo much blastid nize.. sometimes mi tink Wyclef too dam extra
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistahD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I enjoyed that too... oddly I was not impressed with Wyclef!
mii tink dat remake suck
mii agree widd jayz dat dem shood ave cum widd ariginnal song instead aff remaking we ar de wurld
wyclef look like imm wass inna da spirit zone
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wendilina</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistahD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I enjoyed that too... oddly I was not impressed with Wyclef!
Mi neidaToo much blastid nize.. sometimes mi tink Wyclef too dam extra
I think Wyclef should be excused. I have never heard him perform before but I think this was more a cheer-leading effort than anything else. He was trying to support and motivate his people; just like a KC, Calabar, JC or Reggae Boyz supporter.
Nou se moun la...tan pare...nou se la monde...nou se ti moun yo.
I am not an expert. I am just trying to learn the language but I am going to make an attempt at interpretation (as opposed to translation). Nou se moun la - we are people here/there probably suggesting "we are with you" or "we are here/there for you. Tan pare - it will rain (expect showers of blessing I suppose) Nou se le monde - we are the world, nou se ti moun yo (you can figure that one out). "Ti" turns everything into the younger or smaller version.
Even if he is full of himself, I think he is emotionally into it this time.
Re: jayz diss "We Are The World 25th" (Haiti Version)
One face you won’t spot in the all-star “We Are the World” remake that premiered on Friday night is Jay-Z’s. Turns out, there’s a reason he didn’t want to participate. “I know everybody is gonna take this wrong: ‘We Are the World,’ I love it, and I understand the point and think it’s great,” Jay told MTV News in Dallas this weekend. “But I think ‘We Are the World’ is like ‘Thriller’ to me. I don’t ever wanna see it touched.” He went on: “I know the plight and everything that’s going on in Haiti. I applaud the efforts…but ‘We are the World’ is untouchable like ‘Thriller’ is untouchable. Some things are just untouchable. It was a valiant effort, but for me, it’s gonna be untouchable.” Instead, Jay-Z suggested that it might have been a better idea to record an entirely new song for Haiti relief — like, for instance, “Stranded,” the tune he performed last month at the Hope for Haiti Now telethon with Rihanna, Bono, and the Edge.
Do you think Jay-Z has a point here? Was the original “We Are the World” so timeless that any attempt to remake it would inevitably pale by comparison? Did Jay use the word “untouchable” enough in that quotation?
If I were to make a list of songs/videos that shouldn't be remade then "We Are the World" would be way, way down on the list; and the lines, "as God as shown us, by turning stones to bread" don't help either (or maybe those lines make it priceless like errors on a coin). Songs like Redemption song and So Jah Seh would be way up. Thriller as a video probably and Umbrella would make my list. I suppose it's all a matter of taste.
The one thing where I agree with JZ about and I think he wanted to say it but it would probably seem insensitive ..is that the birth of "We are the World" was to support a wide range of people particular in Africa. This remake that is dedicated only to Haiti (although admirable) seem a little "Self Indulgent" and minimized the initial worldwide/ cross cutural acceptance of the song.
I don't know if I am making sense.. that's the only itching I had about this remake. A new song dedicated to Haiti would seem a little more "genuine" for the cause.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nunya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Umbrella???? The Rihanna make-me-wanna-slit-my-wrist Umbrella???</div></div>
I can enjoy the VIDEO without the audio
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: blakkgiant</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> Do you think Jay-Z has a point here? Was the original “We Are the World” so timeless that any attempt to remake it would inevitably pale by comparison? Did Jay use the word “untouchable” enough in that quotation? </div></div>
And Jay-Z should talk?Look hummuch song him cover? *kissteet*