Re: A moral dilemma for Ex-Christians???
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Jedi l:
[qb]
My conscience is neither my consciousness nor my capacity for judgment. Those are basic constituents of my self.
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Jedi l:
[qb]
Originally posted by Fledgist:
[qb]
Your conscience [/qb]
[qb]
Originally posted by Jedi l:
[qb]
My self, that part of me which is aware of the world and capable of judging. [/qb]
[qb]
[qb]
So?
And which part of you is ME....or did you mean your conscience? [/qb]
[qb]
[qb]
It comes from me. BTW, 'whence' means 'from where'. [/qb]
[qb]
[qb]
What, pray tell, is the difference between anger and wrath?
Jedi: Obviously both speak of displeasure, but anger does not necessarily denote wrath as wrath is a higher degree of anger more akin to rage. Anger leads to wrath so that if a person would avoid being angry (or at least take control of it) he/she is less likely to become enraged or wrathful .
{Fledgist: 'Wrath' and 'anger' are synonyms. For example, consider these lines by William Blake:
I was angry with my friend,
I told my wrath, my wrath did end;
I was angry with my foe,
I hid my wrath, my wrath did grow.}
Morality is founded on reason. My reason tells me that certain behaviours are not acceptable if I wish to live in a human community.
Jedi: and pray tell from whence comes your reason?
[/qb]
[qb]
[qb] Awright mek me put dis in plain langwige-
In the absence of belief in Jesus Christ, or let say Jesus never even lived would jealousy, anger, wrath, malice, gluttony, greed, lust be acceptable? [/qb]
[qb] Awright mek me put dis in plain langwige-
In the absence of belief in Jesus Christ, or let say Jesus never even lived would jealousy, anger, wrath, malice, gluttony, greed, lust be acceptable? [/qb]
Jedi: Obviously both speak of displeasure, but anger does not necessarily denote wrath as wrath is a higher degree of anger more akin to rage. Anger leads to wrath so that if a person would avoid being angry (or at least take control of it) he/she is less likely to become enraged or wrathful .
{Fledgist: 'Wrath' and 'anger' are synonyms. For example, consider these lines by William Blake:
I was angry with my friend,
I told my wrath, my wrath did end;
I was angry with my foe,
I hid my wrath, my wrath did grow.}
Morality is founded on reason. My reason tells me that certain behaviours are not acceptable if I wish to live in a human community.
Jedi: and pray tell from whence comes your reason?
[/qb]
And which part of you is ME....or did you mean your conscience? [/qb]