This is a really big debate right now in the DC area... what oonu think?
Should parents be punished for the crimes of their children
Re: Should parents be punished for the crimes of their children
I think some parents should be punished for having kids in the first place.Originally posted by babydoll:
[qb] This is a really big debate right now in the DC area... what oonu think? [/qb]
I agreeOriginally posted by neutral:
[qb]I think some parents should be punished for having kids in the first place. [/qb]Originally posted by babydoll:
[qb] This is a really big debate right now in the DC area... what oonu think? [/qb]
but they are taking about crimes, for example, stealing a car. If the child steals a car, then the parents drivers license are suspended.
Babydoll .. yuh right this is a big debate .. Was having while driving home yesterday with a friend.
Well some a unu noh up to date about whta's going on in DC wid dese blinking teenagers. So if I was an outsider my answer would probably be diff.
Hear me now .. wid di DC situation - HELL YES!!
Now you have kids that commit crimes where the parents really can't control.. but
I am mad as hell at these DC parents because these crimes are being committed during school hours and by the same set a bad pickney dem. That means there is absolutely NO supervision. ..an di pickney tink dem a do a joke business.
Mi seh dem fi fine out who bring dem pickney pan di eart an naah tek care a busines and lack up dem backside!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img] Weh mi seh? Lack up dem baxide.. Mi feel seh both pickney Modda and Faada (even if im absent) fi get di same amount a sentence. An lack dem up ina di same cell to. maybe then dem wi get di parents fi really siddung an talk to di lickle ole brat dem.
I had my car stolen by two 2 kids and the way the law is written here in Connecticut is such that as long as the parents were unaware and didn't condone the crime they are not held liableOriginally posted by babydoll:
but they are taking about crimes, for example, stealing a car. If the child steals a car, then the parents drivers license are suspended.
This is completely unfair IMHO.
I got my car back but I had to pay out of my pocket for all damages, the tow and tow storage fees [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img]
Parents should be held liable for children's crimes, but liability is different to imprisonment. On the other hand, juveniles should not be subject to the death penalty.Originally posted by LINDA:
[qb] I had my car stolen by two 2 kids and the way the law is written here in Connecticut is such that as long as the parents were unaware and didn't condone the crime they are not held liable
This is completely unfair IMHO.
I got my car back but I had to pay out of my pocket for all damages, the tow and tow storage fees [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img] [/qb]
Wendy, it is getting out of hand, they need some drastic measures fi real. However, I am not sure if taking the parent's drivers license is the answer.Originally posted by Me_ Wendy:
[qb] Babydoll .. yuh right this is a big debate .. Was having while driving home yesterday with a friend.
Well some a unu noh up to date about whta's going on in DC wid dese blinking teenagers. So if I was an outsider my answer would probably be diff.
Hear me now .. wid di DC situation - HELL YES!!
Now you have kids that commit crimes where the parents really can't control.. but
I am mad as hell at these DC parents because these crimes are being committed during school hours and by the same set a bad pickney dem. That means there is absolutely NO supervision. ..an di pickney tink dem a do a joke business.
Mi seh dem fi fine out who bring dem pickney pan di eart an naah tek care a busines and lack up dem backside!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img] Weh mi seh? Lack up dem baxide.. Mi feel seh both pickney Modda and Faada (even if im absent) fi get di same amount a sentence. An lack dem up ina di same cell to. maybe then dem wi get di parents fi really siddung an talk to di lickle ole brat dem.
[/qb]
I was listening to WHUR this morning and a caller suggest that the parents should pay for the stolen car and be able to sue if the family that hurt their child.
It is really getting out of hand and yesterday another child was killed in his home [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
they are saying if the parents feel what the other person has to feel, then they will take steps to control their children.Originally posted by BIGGAHVIEW:
[qb] thats silly..it depends.. how is suspending the parent drivers license aggo help..what if him/her steal another car..den what dem put dem innah jail. [/qb]
Bigga, the kids who are stealing the cars are from 11 - 15, dem not adults. A couple of them have gotten into some serious accidents.
If it is a law in DC, it will be across the board. MissB, it is bad. Even with police patroling the areas, the kids are stealing cars.Originally posted by MissB:
[qb] My first reaction was yes. However, on second thought, probably only poor parents will be imprisoned, while the rich ones get to send their troublemakers off to boarding school somewhere. [/qb]
btw, the neighborhood where the kids are stealing these cars are not the really poor areas.
but what about the costs the victims have to pay out of pocket for that car. IF the car is in an accident or hurt someone, etc... what about that stuff..Originally posted by BJam:
[qb] My input...mi no sey di parents dem fi get lack up sinc dem neva do it whey yu a put dem in a jail fah...
A di dam pickney dem dem need fi lack up put dem baxide a jail and dash whey di keys. [/qb]