Originally posted by Nunya:
[qb] Today I asked the storekeeper why he puts my change on the counter. I was smilingly polite. Very unthreatening.
Suddenly im no speaky English... Im no undastan... an im suddenly discova dat im deaf to boot... [/qb]
Im prally seh, "Sorry but I do not understand the Queen's English but perhaps if we were to converse in Mandarin, free-flowing communication would be more forthcoming."
[qb] Today I asked the storekeeper why he puts my change on the counter. I was smilingly polite. Very unthreatening.
Suddenly im no speaky English... Im no undastan... an im suddenly discova dat im deaf to boot... [/qb]
Im prally seh, "Sorry but I do not understand the Queen's English but perhaps if we were to converse in Mandarin, free-flowing communication would be more forthcoming." [/qb]
His grasp of English far outweighs the little Mandarin I know.
There's another convenience store across the street. Very limited stock but the proprietors were always pleasant. Now it's changed ownership and the new proprietors are Korean.
They are always friendly, always smiling, always trying to converse. And their English is very limited. Gotta listen keenly jus fi ketch one an two word.
They put my change in my hand. I have waited in line and noticed that they do the same for the other customers. Now if they would just increase their stock, then...
Keep patronizing the new business Nunya. Recommend it to your friends. Soon they'll be doing enough business to increase their stock.
THEN see what happens across the street.
Hey Nunya - jus sharing the little perspective that I have - rascism exists in many forms and in every culture. - so mi jus ah speak from my limited perspective.
My mother can be very abrupt she nuh have no tact whatsoever - but i don;t think she intentionally tries to be rude - she jus feel dat she fe seh anyting weh come to har head
seet deh now u prove seh dem ah intentionally dweet so dere goes de culcha argument troo de window...
BTW are they chinese, korean, vietnamese??? just curious?
[qb] His grasp of English far outweighs the little Mandarin I know.
There's another convenience store across the street. Very limited stock but the proprietors were always pleasant. Now it's changed ownership and the new proprietors are Korean.
They are always friendly, always smiling, always trying to converse. And their English is very limited. Gotta listen keenly jus fi ketch one an two word.
They put my change in my hand. I have waited in line and noticed that they do the same for the other customers. Now if they would just increase their stock, then... [/qb]
I agree with Q, I would rather be treated properly no matter about their stock. You can always ask the Koreans about the stock issue. Yes it's funny about different cultures, the two kids that I care for are Korean. Their mom told me monday that they went to a Korean restaurant and the ladies there found out that the baby"s first birthday will be in March. Their first birthday is suppose to be done Korean style with Korean foods and the baby has to wear her special Korean wear. Well one Korean lady insisted that she would cook all the food for her party and invited them into their home.
I have gone into the same restaurant to pick up something for the family and they were smiling and very talkative, they even gave the little one and myself candy from thier little store. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] There is no reason for merchants to treat customers like crap. Like I said before I would rather go without or drive miles if I really wanted whatever, they wouldn't get my business rude and vomit.
Racism is within every culture...it's funny my grandmother always tells us "anything too black not good." Meanwhile she does have a lighter skin colour and her father was as black as midnight and her mother was white, go figure. I have a aunt who is chinese and married a very dark complexion man, yuh know my grandmother cuss har (my aunt) and her husband.
Originally posted by Jazz:
[qb] Hey Nunya - jus sharing the little perspective that I have - rascism exists in many forms and in every culture. - so mi jus ah speak from my limited perspective.
My mother can be very abrupt she nuh have no tact whatsoever - but i don;t think she intentionally tries to be rude - she jus feel dat she fe seh anyting weh come to har head
seet deh now u prove seh dem ah intentionally dweet so dere goes de culcha argument troo de window...
BTW are they chinese, korean, vietnamese??? just curious? [/qb]
Bwoy Jazz, mi neva did waa assume dat they were being intentionally rude, so, like mi say before, mi was giving dem de benefit of the doubt. Plus, I had heard before that some cultures have this 'don't touch a stranger' policy...
I have known Chinese who were very friendly people, yet they always snatch the money outta mi han an always put mi change dung pan de counta... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
I have known Vietnamese who were very obsequious - who would carefully take the money from you and just as carefully put your change in your hand. Smiling in your face all the while and offering you everyhing else in the store - for a price ofcourse. Yet, they would have a disparaging comment to make about every customer to enter the store (in Vietnamese ofcourse).
I have known Japanese who were cool, polite and would never put the change in your hand. One could almost sense the distaste they had for taking the money from your hand...
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.