It seems that one of the main goals of "being a Christian" is to receive the gift of everlasting life, and you get to go to Heaven. But, there is very little said in the Bible about what this infinite life will be like. Will we have problems to solve there? Will we have a home? Will we have failures and successes? Or will it be one long church service sitting next to God?
What's up in Heaven?
Re: What's up in Heaven?
I've often wondered the same meself. Perhaps the start of my departure from Christianity occurred when I realized that part of the religion hadn't been thoroughly thought out. Everlasting life never seemed as appealing a prospect to me, especially since it seemed to be without sex.
Reincarnation sounds more my speed, though I don't believe in that either.
Ah who sey dat? the DEAD is very much alive! That's why we have fi get the oil this ... oil a that....! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Everlasting is such a long long time. It just seems like life is our problems, our complicated relationships with other people, and filling our needs, and the needs of those we are linked with to me. And what would life be without those problems?
dead [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] we should live so that others enjoy their live while we are gone [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]Originally posted by fOrTyLeGz:
[qb]"Everlasting" is such a long long time. It just seems like life is our problems, our complicated relationships with other people, and filling our needs, and the needs of those we are linked with to me. And what would "life" be without those problems?[/qb]
~~~~~~~~~~
iches me see wid you.
all i say is when we have died, we have done living and everything else. Our spirit continues to live unless we have lives a cursed life where all kill our spirits with their thoughts. Our work will be done. So were must work here for our live after death, because that life will not be everlasting either. Spirit die too and they don't have spirits
I remember Dale Bisnauth -- now Guyana's Minister of Education -- speculating on the existence of pubs in heaven! However, as is well known, in heaven there is no beer...Originally posted by mountaingal:
[qb]I've often wondered the same meself. Perhaps the start of my departure from Christianity occurred when I realized that part of the religion hadn't been thoroughly thought out. Everlasting life never seemed as appealing a prospect to me, especially since it seemed to be without sex.
Reincarnation sounds more my speed, though I don't believe in that either.[/qb]
Seriously, the Christian heaven is neither well-thought-out, not particularly interesting. It reflects the imagination of its creators, such as the author of Revelations, which seems rather cramped.
The Hindu/Buddhist concept of nirvana is actually interesting. Being there without being there has both mystery and possibility. However, the fact that you approach annihilation that is not annihilation after going through life (as Trimurti knows how many beings) repeatedly, is just plain dumb.
Doctrines of transmigration (that is the passage of the soul from one incarnation, or invegetation, to another) are pretty old. I recall reading that Pythagoras forbade the eating of beans because he believed the, ahem, percussively gaseous effects indicated a soul escaping into the outer air. Vegetarians, how can you eat your granparents like that? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Seriously, the Christian heaven is neither well-thought-out, not particularly interesting. It reflects the imagination of its creators, such as the author of Revelations, which seems rather cramped.
And of course, many others see it differently, so while you have your "belief" we have our "beliefs" as well; which btw we'll hold on to, regardless of what atheists say or "think"..
Seriously what is the Christian heaven ? Was it not descibed as it was uncertain or it is up to the individual to create his image of it ?
I like the image that some of Islam has... endless virgins and a perpetual erection... Unfortunately this would rather displease my wife..
Now hell would be the same except the virgins had no sexual organs or were all gay males....
Hell is so much easier to describe.... I always recall that Twilight zone episode where the gangster dies and goes to what he thought was paradise and every thing he did came up rosey.. After a few weeks he got bored....
Well actually the book of Revelation say how it will be like - me think. It seem to be filled with beasts having many heads and horns.
From chapter 4 on. A bare john crow, jambull, rolling calves and goules up deh [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Revelation Chapter 4
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
4:1 After this I looked, and, behold, a door was opened in heaven: and the first voice which I heard was as it were of a trumpet talking with me; which said, Come up hither, and I will show thee things which must be hereafter.
4:2 And immediately I was in the spirit; and, behold, a throne was set in heaven, and one sat on the throne.
4:3 And he that sat was to look upon like a jasper and a sardine stone: and there was a rainbow round about the throne, in sight like unto an emerald.
4:4 And round about the throne were four and twenty seats: and upon the seats I saw four and twenty elders sitting, clothed in white raiment; and they had on their heads crowns of gold.
4:5 And out of the throne proceeded lightnings and thunderings and voices: and there were seven lamps of fire burning before the throne, which are the seven Spirits of God.
4:6 And before the throne there was a sea of glass like unto crystal: and in the midst of the throne, and round about the throne, were four beasts full of eyes before and behind.
4:7 And the first beast was like a lion, and the second beast like a calf, and the third beast had a face as a man, and the fourth beast was like a flying eagle.
4:8 And the four beasts had each of them six wings about him; and they were full of eyes within: and they rest not day and night, saying, Holy, holy, holy, Lord God Almighty, which was, and is, and is to come.
4:9 And when those beasts give glory and honour and thanks to him that sat on the throne, who liveth for ever and ever,
4:10 The four and twenty elders fall down before him that sat on the throne, and worship him that liveth for ever and ever, and cast their crowns before the throne, saying,
4:11 Thou art worthy, O Lord, to receive glory and honour and power: for thou hast created all things, and for thy pleasure they are and were created.
In the Christian heaven, there will be everlasting bliss, walking or frolicking on streets of GOLD, while drinking MILK and HONEY of which I am told, there will be an endless supply!
I do hope that by the time I get there, St Paul will have stocked up on some good liquor, including an endless supply of JAMAICAN white rum for those who would be so inclined, for blending purposes. Something to look forward to!!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]