JA - BACK FROM ALL AROUND THE ISLAND TRIP
Re: JA - BACK FROM ALL AROUND THE ISLAND TRIP
Great report so far. I can hardly wait for your next installment. We met Chef & Libby on our last trip to Jamaica.
www.garion.tzo.com/lynn/couple.htm
Wonderful report sophie..you travel the same way i like to.. Stay a few days some place and move on...
and i also came to the same conclusion long ago.. that while i go to negril for some sun and to see friends, it's really not the Jamaica i love.
Dec.. we head to Portland.. Had planned to check out Zion for a future trip.. is it easy to find when going to or from Reach Falls?? any photos?
I also feel encouraged that you two drove yourself.. we are renting for the first time.. and i am hoping it will dramatically change our mobility..
cant wait to hear the rest... tho we will be with miss libs soon for a night as well.. best sunrise and sunset by her anywhere I think.
PS.. do you eat that coconut candy they sell in the small bags on the beach in TB.. i stayed right next to golden sands at silver dawn last year.. and each morning i walked to translove as well... just love that place.... may go in feb..
Hi everyone! Will post more of the report this evening.
BDN1999: Yes, Zion Country is about a 2 minute drive past Reach Falls. There is a bright sign on the left hand side of the road. The road curves to the right, what you want is to go straight. He's about 8 houses down on the ocean side. Dollybaby and Olivia drove this trip. I've driven in the past, but would prefer not to. It's stressful! Yes, for sure, I eat the coconut candy, even better at Reach Falls! I've also had dinner with local families quite a few times. I like that.
We reach Libby’s at around 9:00 p.m. It has been a really long day. Dolly and Olivia stay for a bit, Chef turns the car around in the yard and they leave.
Libby’s is busy. I love Sea Lawn because Libby really treats guests royally. It’s like A-1 service but better. It’s PRIVATE! Mikey Higgins who owns Sea Lawn is on the property. His wife Jasmine is here from Sweden. It’s nice when the yard is full of activity. I actually did not have a reservation but called at the last minute and Libby was able to accommodate me for a week.
Libby, Chef, George, Taf are at home on the verandah. I’m especially fond of the dogs. This time Libby has added a cat. He’s beautiful, his name escapes me. (Libby help!) We catch up and off to bed I go!
I wake early but not early enough to see the sunrise! Libby has coffee ready. Very quickly, I become a permanent fixture on the verandah! After breakfast Libby usually sits and chats for a bit, I like to see her sit!
I go to explore the beach, there seems to be a lot of white sand at sea level. It’s so peaceful, just the occasional fishing boat checking their pots. Love to nap in the back bedroom with the door open and the banana leaves making that “swooshing” sound. Heaven! (I did not keep a journal so my days mesh here and there.)
Couple days later, England Girl arrives with her niece. Now we are really “full up”. It’s a party! Malaika (sp?) Sonia help??? Is a very inquisitive and bright child and it’s a pleasure to have her around. We become fast friends. Now our mornings are really full on the verandah. England Girl is relaxing and I think beats me at porch sitting.!
Jasmine and I do some nude bathing down at ocean level. It’s so liberating – even though I know there are people in their yards watching. After a couple of hours we go up and I have the pleasure of watching Jasmine wash out her dreads. They are dragging on the ground. 24 years of growing. (pictures to follow). I feel honoured. Mikey is weaving a basket and the vibes are great!
We end up in Port Maria buying some groceries. It’s a busy town. Check on the “Rasta United” soccer club, lots of rastas hanging under the tree! It did not feel right to take pictures.
I tagged along on some “school runs” that Libby does for the neighbourhood kids. She pickes up a few kids on the way.
England Girl, Libby and I make our way to Ochi. It’s raining heavy. Libby stops at Fisherman’s Beach, they stay in the car, I ask if I can take couple of pictures of a boat being pulled in – very agreeable men. But the next rasta I asked said no. I respect everyone’s choices. It’s a nifty place. We do groceries and decide to come back the next day for a “likkle party” atmosphere! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
Is that a picture of you? It looks like you are enjoying yourself! Love the glasses on the one on the left...
I was able to see your picture, but it is not showing up on the board. It appears as though Imagestation doesn't allow you to post the pictures elsewhere. I am not that familiar with Imagestation, however. Some members use snapfish, others use club photo. Maybe you could try to put your photos there, or another sharing-friendly photo host.
If you have a program such as photoshop or microsoft picture-it, you could also lessen the size of the photo, making it open faster. I wish you luck it looks like you have great pics, looking forward to seeing them, if I can help let me know!
Enjoying your trip report, it's my kind of trip....
I'll go get this picture and post it for you...
Great photo of Dolly. Is that u sophie on the right?
Thanks for the trip report. loving it! I would love to try Zion country one of these days. looks like my kind of place.
Thanks again for sharing? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Tell Dolly to hurry up with her report [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
The next day Libby, England Girl and her niece and myself are off to Ochi. It’s about noon. We get a prime seat in front of the band at BiBiBi’s (sp) and watch the cruise ship people go by. It’s pretty funny, watching the ship people, the way the husbands hold the women like some local is literally going whisk her off to who knows where! The music is playing, the beer is flowing, we are having a blast. Libby is very funny, we banter with people who are “working” the sidewalk in front of us. I invite a man up for a drink. We share pleasant chats and it’s time to go.
The next day, England Girl, Malaika and I frolick on the beach by Libby’s. We take a boat ride with captain Bruce (sure hope I can make the picture thing work) and later Sonia and I return to Ochi alone. The local bus ride from Libby’s is uneventful. Ochi is busy. We get the same seats. Bonus! I invite the same local man up for a drink. The management comes to make sure he’s not trying to sell me his stuff. All is cool. We have a great time. I decide that I’m going to spend my last three days in Ochi and we check out Fisherman’s Point. I make a deal for the second suite I see and we go to the bus station to go back to Libby’s. After supper, Libby drives me into Ochi. I’m exhausted, take a shower, go down to the bar. There are four local men at the bar. I’m after some bottled water, they don’t have any. I order a beer – the bartender suggests I give the man next to me money so he can go out on the road and buy me water and a lighter. The man comes back and I’m introduced. His name is Curry. I ask if he’s Marilyn’s friend and yes, it’s the same man. I ask if he’d take me out somewhere locally and he said he’d call.
I go up to my suite, the view is breathtaking! I can actually hear music coming from somewhere, all is great. Off to bed for me.
WOw, you really took me back to the Sea Lawn porch [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Here's the picture above, I can only see it if i copy and paste the address into a new window: