Re: Negril - Trip Report/Review of Negril From a Man Who Traveled There Alone.
First of all, the guy I met on the beach wouldn't have fit into that likkle shack. Must be a crank inside to raise the roof,
And second, you didn't mention that breakfast was being served, I'd have went with you instead of following the two goofs I was with! Heck, we didn't get breakfast for at least two hours later.
But it was nice to meet ya. Glad you enjoyed Negril!.
Decided to walk to Mi Yard this morning for some Ackee & Saltfish. I headed into town via the beach. I walk over the bridge and am through the west end of town and down the road to Mi Yard.
What can I say! The food was worth the hassle over my sandals!
I am greeted by a guy who introduces himself to me as the resident ganga seller. I smile and say hello. He ask if I need anything and I tell him “no thanks”. He heads inside for a moment and I grab a seat out on the porch. I tilt my chair back a bit and close my eyes and just listen to the sweet reggae music that is blasting out from the two large speakers located nearby. A minute or two go by and I can sense there is someone standing very close to me. I open my eyes and there standing directly over me is the ganga guy. One hand is on the table infront of me, the other hand is grasping the back of my chair. And he is right in my face. I try to remain calm but I feel the hairs on the back of my neck standing on end. “Those are nice sandals you have there” he tells me. Now my sandals are WalMart $10 sandals made from rubber and are well worn yet comfortable. He ask me if I could let him have them. I look down at his feet and he is sporting a nice pair of leather sandals that put mine to shame. I reply “no, I need these sandals and I’m sorry but I can’t help you”. By this time we are the only two people left sitting up on the porch and I am getting ready to duck, swing, kick the table, anything if this guy tries something. After a couple minutes of persistent request on his part to obtain my sandals he gives up and leaves in a bit of a huff, mumbling something under his breath, no compliments for me I’m guessing. I order my breakfast and eventually enjoy the Ackee & Saltfish in peace. The food was GREAT!!!
Sorry about the quality of this shot. It was taken with one of those throw away cameras and it needed a flash I guess.
I take the opportunity to walk around a bit to some of the stores in and around town. I do the HiLo thing and a few other smaller places. I sit down for a while on a cement wall on the west end road just past the roundabout and just observe. People walk by asking for money or offering me this or that. Being the middle man in Negril is big business. If someone tries to sell you one thing and you refuse the same person can get you anything else you need. No matter if its fabulous T Shirts or some Blue Mountain coffee beans the same guy can arrange for you to get anything you desire. Everything is just a quick cell phone call away. I’m guessing he gets his middle man cut from any transaction. It’s the free enterprise system in its most pure form.
Here is a quick list of goods and services I was offered by vendors during my stay in Negril.
- Ganga, Hash, Coke - Goes without saying.
- Aloe Massage
- Patties Mmmmmm!
- CDs
- Donuts
- Ice Cream Mmmmmm!
- Cigarets
- Fruit Mmmmm!
- Salvation through the precious blood of Jesus Christ
- Sex
- Tours to the mountains
- Tours to see the "real" Jamaica
- Snorkeling Tours
- Time Share Accommodation
- Baked Goods Mmmmm!
I’m sure there are many more but those are the ones I remember off the top of my head.
Anyway I head back to the beach and as I begin to make my way up when the heavens open up and Negril is hit with a torrential rain storm. I duck into the Bar B Barn beach bar and wait ‘til it’s over.
I continue up the beach and make a stop at Arthur’s bar. (The 24 hour bar on the beach). I grab a seat and the gentleman sitting next to me introduces himself as Ronnie Arthurs. He is the owner and we chat for a bit. Mr. Arthurs life reads like a tragic opera and he has had more than his fair share of pain over the years. I can relate somewhat to a few of the things he has been through, but I must say that I felt very sorry for him. I could even see the pain in his eyes as he talked, as if there were many open wounds which had yet to be healed. He shows me a picture of his dream home which he built with much blood, sweat and tears, only to have it taken away from him through a series of unfortunate events. Now he is getting on in age and his life seems to be a very Spartan one. The saying “why do bad things happen to good people” comes to my mind. As I leave we shake hands and Mr. Arthurs gives me a short firm squeeze at the end of our handshake as if to say “thank you for listening to my story”. Perhaps he was feeling a little down in the dumps that day and just needed someone to talk to. If so I’m glad I could help.
By now the sun was out and the beach was starting to look inviting so it was time to grab the air mattress and do a whole lot of nothing.
Then for supper I wondered up the beach road a few minutes to a little place called Cool Spot. (Across the road from Footprints). There was a limited menu but the food was great and the prices were very reasonable!
Then it was back to my cabin to change and then over to the beach bar at For Real to watch soccer and just hang out.
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
The next day is uneventful for the most part. Just hanging around the hotel talking to my fellow guest and enjoying the beach. Bruno and Cynthia, the couple from Italy are sunning themselves on the beach as well. As I mentioned before Cynthia is the classic Italian beauty. Well as it turns out every time her husband went to take a dip or went back to their room to fetch something or another the guys who worked the beach would come over and start hitting on her. This had been going on for days now. This particular day however, one of them must have said something that really upset her because she came running up to the bar in a panic. Shawn, the bartender at Firefly talks with her, comforts her and apologizes to her even though she has nothing to do with what happened. I never did find out what happened to make Cynthia so upset. Cynthia stays with Shawn for a while until Bruno gets back. I think to myself "this is better than any reality show on TV".
I really admired Shawn. She is a very beautiful young lady and she has a heart of gold. Firefly is lucky to have her on their staff!!!
Originally posted by Milo Man:
[qb]
Here is a quick list of goods and services I was offered by vendors during my stay in Negril.
- Ganga, Hash, Coke - Goes without saying.
- Aloe Massage
- Patties Mmmmmm!
- CDs
- Donuts
- Ice Cream Mmmmmm!
- Cigarets
- Fruit Mmmmm!
- Salvation through the precious blood of Jesus Christ
- Sex
- Tours to the mountains
- Tours to see the "real" Jamaica
- Snorkeling Tours
- Time Share Accommodation
- Baked Goods Mmmmm!
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img] [/qb]
I can top this list with a story from the Bahamas. I was a 20 y/o college student there with a girl friend and two little kids offered use various kinds of drugs. We declined and then they asked us if we wanted to buy a baby! Yup, a baby! (I hoped they were joking but either way, it was sad).
quote by dream jamaica:
I can top this list with a story from the Bahamas. I was a 20 y/o college student there with a girl friend and two little kids offered use various kinds of drugs. We declined and then they asked us if we wanted to buy a baby! Yup, a baby! (I hoped they were joking but either way, it was sad).
Really enjoying this Milo. I hope that you liked firefly, I would feel awfully guilty if you hated it and wound up there because of me firefly is kinda modest not a luxury hotel, but i prefer places like that, I'm not a putting on the Ritz vacationer and like a place that is more homey and real than allot of those AI's
Originally posted by Milo Man:
[qb] I really admired Shawn. She is a very beautiful young lady and she has a heart of gold. Firefly is lucky to have her on their staff!!! [/qb]
Shawn is wonderful isn't she. A very warm person. i didn't get to meet many people last time we were there (you know the story) but Shawn was one person I was very glad I met. I've meant to write her just to say hello and see how she's doing, but haven't. your report is a good kick in the butt I think I will write her a letter tonight. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] If I can find her address again [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
Ya know what I just learned from this thread...I learned that Milo Man and Halfwaytree a de same person all this time I never knew. In fact just the other day I was making a mental list of posters I didnt see around anymore and Halfwaytree was on my list... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] Guess I gotta cross ya off now Milo man. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] Good to see you AGAIN. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Milo
I will bet the farm that the beach romeo gave her the "new Line" that I caught several times during this past trip that upset me so bad. I know that t he horny tourist are the reason that the scene has degenerated to this level. People don't try to sell cows if their is no one buying cattle. So I do realize that someone has encouraged this stuff. It so saddened me, and made me almost paranoid, especially in Ochii where I ran into much more if it than I did in Negril.
((milo)) enjoying your venture... I am not one who loves Negril as the rest.. but the way you capture your days is nice..
On one of our first trips to Negril... my son was 13.. just beginning his voyage into reggae/rasta.... and he disappeared for hours.. I wasn't worried but headed down the beach to see if i could spot him.. when all of a sudden i heard lots of drumming... (nyabingis).. and there amidst a group of men was my kid drumming away.... that was right at Arthur's place... Dan made his first friend in negril there.. and so each time we go there.. it's generally his first stop to say hello.. While hes moved on in his spiritual growth.. and made many new friends elsewhere.. he will spend atleast one hour of every day in Negril sitting at Arthurs bar with his old friend...... dont know if you met him.. Jah Youth... (arthur makes a good chicken dinner too)
Keep going.. and i agree with tuffy.. that grieving photo is quite good.. though what it implies makes my stomach pain..
((Milo Man)) great report and pictures your trip sounds exactly what I'm looking for in December more, more please [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.