Re: Trip Report - Ochi - Paul and Dolly's Saga Continues
Originally posted by Marilyn:
[qb] When I told Magic about her first trip report he told me he was going to the store and buy some kind of special ice cream and sit and read the whole thing. Man she has got us going. [/qb]
LOL DWL [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
That's Grapenut Ice Cream Marilyn! And I can't have my Trip Reports without it!!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Originally posted by dollybaby74:
[qb] We both order tea. The milk that comes with the tea isn’t really milk. It was like a mixture of milk and honey or something. It makes the tea taste so good. [/qb]
LOL Sweet milk. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] And when you put it in tea (which is delicious and you can use it instead of sugar) then it's called "CoffeeTea"
[qb] Paul has a 3 year old son who I have never met yet, I told him awhile ago that I'm really hoping to see him this upcoming trip. Baby's Mom does NOT want Paul being with anyone else, even if she's not with him. In fact, he couldn't even tell her about the girlfriend he had before me because apparently she has a tendency to want to fight. [...]
Trip #3 - How Dolly's nose gets broken. [/qb]
Ooooogh! A twist to the story!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]
And you call this "boring"?? Cho man!
Hi Everybody, I"m not new to Jamaican.com just new to this forum! I use to luv reading things from Mrs. K"s board and this site is quite new to me! I just finished reading the saga of Dolly and Paul and had some of these same experiences if not more if anyone is interested I would luv to share my experiences tomorrow for now it is just to late to start!!! I"m sure you get a good laugh if nothing else. Ta Ta for now, Boopie
Magic, I was going to make a comment about the ice cream you bought....thanks for clarifying what flavor it WASN'T. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Wednesday
We wake up early at around 7:30. Take showers, get dressed and head out for breakfast. Sigh. This is my last full day, the bus picks me up at 9:00 tomorrow morning. Five days is definitely NOT enough time
We take a walk by Fisherman’s Point Hotel (I think that was what it was called) and stand on the sidewalk by the beach watching the men work on the boats. I can see the Jamaica Grande across the water and the spot where we were in the ocean that one night. I point over to it and say “Remember when we went swimming over there”? “Yeah, I remember. I went home and when I took off my clothes there was sand everywhere”. Hmm…maybe that’s why he didn’t show up at Margaritaville that night. He was probably ticked off to have to clean out all of the sand out of his clothes and on top of it didn’t even get lucky to compensate. He says “I don’t know why you didn’t want to make love with me that night”. I say. “What kind of girl would I be to sleep with someone I met two days before”. I think about what I said. I guess waiting three days makes all the difference in the world.
We walk over to a picnic table and sit down. He says to me “Would you stay here and live with me? You’d have to get a job though. I don’t make enough to support both of us”. Ok, that one throws me for a loop. I tell him that while my whole heart and soul would like to wake up with him everyday, the logical part of me knows that’s not possible. “For one, it is illegal for me to just come and live your country, and two, I just met you two months ago”. He says nothing but looks kind of hurt at my response. A Jamaican man sits along side us on the bench. I ask him if he could take our picture. He says “No, I can’t. I’ve never taken a picture before”. Paul whispers to me “I’ve never taken a picture before, that sounds weird”. I tell the man. “It’s real easy”. I show him to look “and then you just push the button”. He takes the picture and seems proud of himself. “That’s it”? “Yep, that’s it”.
We go back to the room and I fiddle with Paul’s cell phone. “Can I leave a message on this if I call”? I ask. He says he’s not sure. I call up Digicel and ask them if his number is hooked up with voice mail. They say it is not but they will set it up, it works about five minutes later. He practices leaving messages “Hi, this is Paul. I’m not available right now but leave a message and I’ll call you back. Love ya”. I roll my eyes. “What kind of player message is that. Give me that”. I take the phone and record my own message. “Hi. Paul’s not available right now, but as soon as I’m done with him he’ll call you back”. His eyes are wide and I hand his phone back.
Paul asks if I could comb out his cornrows and re-braid them for him. I laugh. Really hard. I tell him “You don’t want to be sporting anything that I will do to your hair”. I offer to comb it out at least. He lays in my lap while I pick out the tiny braids one by one. I ask him about the club that we walked by a little earlier. He says it is a go-go club or “men’s club”. I ask him where are the ones that cater to the ladies. He tells me there is no such thing. “What?? What do you mean? I’m SURE there must be some tourist ladies, heck, even Jamaican ladies that would give such a place some business”. I tell him that’s the business I’m opening the next time I come to Jamaica. He laughs at me. This is hard work. He falls asleep in about 5 minutes while I work on his hair for a good hour. He looks like a baby lying there.
After I finish, I wake him up and he throws a hat on. We head out to grab a bite at a place near his work where he eats lunch everyday and after back to his place so his cousin can fix his hair. At the food stand he introduces me to “Chef” the cook. We order the food and take it go. The place beside the food stand is a hotel which another of his Aunt’s owns. We go in and he introduces me to her.
We leave, catch a cab and head out to his place. This is the first time I’ve been there in the daytime. We step out of the cab and I walk with him into the little road side drink shop that his Aunt owns. Paul’s seventeen year old niece is running the shop. She is the most beautiful girl I think I’ve ever seen in my life. She had these big sparkly green eyes and her skin didn’t have one imperfection. Not one. She kind of resembled a younger Vanessa Williams. That is SO not fair. I’m sure she must drive the Jamaican High School boys crazy. Paul tells her to grab us two carbonated apple drinks. I can’t remember the name, Apple J? Apple Y? We eat our food and then head back to his room. As we walk to his place I am STUNNED at how beautiful the scenery is. Now that it is light I can see way down the hill into Fern Gully. I’m not sure for those of you that have been through Fern Gully at the bottom what it’s like. But I can tell you from the top looking down it is amazing. Paul thinks he’s got it SOOO rough, I wish I could say I have a rainforest in my backyard. I curse myself for not bringing a camera. Next time I am there I will take a picture and post it.
We step into his room and it looks exactly like it did when I was there in November except he’s got a few more speakers installed around the room (he works in electronics so those are his toys). We go in, he fiddles with the stereo. I eye pictures of girls on the wall. He leaves the room and goes to check if his cousin is around so she can fix his hair. I peer out the window to make sure he is out of sight and take a closer look. There is one picture of his ‘babymodda’ I can tell from his description of her. The others are of him and a light skinned girl at the beach. That must be the girlfriend that lives in Kingston. Why am I suddenly feeling so jealous since I knew what I was getting into? My memories flash back to that night in November when we were on the beach.
Rewind to November while sitting on the chairs watching the sunset. “Do you have any kids”? I ask. “Yeah, I have a son”. “Hold old is he”? “Two”. (He’s now three). “Don’t you think your baby’s Mom is going to upset that you’re here with me”? “I’m not with my baby’s Mom. But I want to be honest with you that I have a girlfriend, she lives in Kingston” “Well then, I need to be honest with you that I’m living with someone at home”.
I didn’t want to talk too much about that up until this point in the report because I know conclusions would have been made on my character earlier on. Before all this happened, I was the straight as an arrow girl. I was the one who judged others for this type of thing. If there is one thing I learned out of this whole experience, it’s that I can’t judge anyone because I havn’t walked in their shoes. Anyways….getting really sappy and off topic here. Sometime after returning home, Paul stops seeing the Kingston girlfriend and me and the ex separate not too long after that.
I see through the window that Paul’s making his way back to the room so I quickly jump back onto the bed and cross my hands behind my head like I’ve been laying there the whole time. He comes in and tell me his cousin is not here yet so we decide to chill out until she returns. He puts on the CD that he played the last time I was here. You know, THAT night. We lay back on the bed staring at the ceiling. “What am I going to do when you’re gone”. He says. I think about the inevitable getting on the plane tomorrow and how I’m going to feel when I step off the plane along, into my world of cold and snow. It’s hot today, he’s got the fan blowing in the room. My eyes turn to that same palm tree I saw blowing in the wind that night. It turn my back to him so he can’t see my tears.
We fall asleep and wake up about an hour or so later. He goes out to see if his cousin is there. She is, so he calls me out of the room. He sits in a chair in the middle of the yard and her fingers braid up his hair at lightening speed. I sit on his granddaddy’s verandah and watch. A little girl around three or four walks over to me and just looks at me with her head cocked to the side. I tell her “That’s a pretty dress you have on”. She looks down at her dress and runs off. I walk to the little drink shop and is his Aunt is in there now running the shop while looking after Paul’s cousin’s kids while they are at work. There must have been about five of them. And they are all so quiet and well behaved. She says “Come, sit down! When are you leaving”. I sit down and swallow hard. “Tomorrow”. “Well, I hope you had a good time”. “I did”. I can’t believe how fast time went. Five days is DEFINITELY not enough time. Felt like it was more like a weekend. Paul comes around, takes my hand and says it is time to go back. We get in the cab and head back.
Back at the room, I tell him I’m going to take a shower, it’s so hot and muggy out today. He says he’s going to run by his cousin’s to drop off something and get us some patty’s from the patty place. I finish my shower, feeling much cooler, and I sit out on the verandah. The sun is setting now and I watch the ocean from the distance. I see people chattering below and laughing. I try not to think about anything else except where I am right now. I especially try not to think about tomorrow. It’s dark now and Paul walks in with Patty’s, we sit on the bed and eat them. We talk and watch some T.V. He left one extra patty on the dresser, when he goes to bite it about ½ an hour later (remember it’s dark in the room) he lets out a yelp. I say “What”??? He turns on the lights and the dresser is FULL of ants. I guess he got a mouthful of them. He takes his lighter and burns them up. I wipe them all off and flush them down the toilet. I resist the urge to tell him ‘I told you so’. A few hours later he goes to the bathroom and I hear him yell out something in Patois and fall. OK, I know you are all thinking at this time that this is all just a little too much, but I SWEAR this happened. I sit up from the bed, and wonder what kind of creature it is now. I peer into the bathroom and he is standing up looking around the floor feverishly. “What happened”?? I say again. He tells me something about a big black bug that ran across his foot, but is nowhere to be found. I tell him “You must be really tasty or something”. Later on that night I go to the washroom and this time it is me screaming. I saw it. It was not a bug, it was a miniature monster. I ran out of the washroom, jumping up and down like I didn’t want my feet to touch the ground. He comes around to look in the bathroom, it is still there. He goes in there and takes care of the monster. I think it took a beating on behalf of the Fortyleg, Ants and It. The morale of the story ladies is, ALWAYS go with your gut instinct no matter what the man says.
It’s about 1:00 a.m. now. We lay face to face not saying a word. I swear he can look right into my soul. After awhile he says “Your eyes are blue, they look the ocean” and he kisses me. He knows how to make my head spin, and my heart pound like no other man before. I don’t really understand why he has such an effect on me. (Although it started to make sense when I read AngieB’s opinion). I tell him for the first time “I love you”. We stay up as late as we can to try and squeeze every minute out of this last night. A little after 4 a.m. he is looking at me, my eyes are so heavy although I fight to stay awake. He kisses me and says “Go to sleep my Dollybaby”. And I do.
Thursday
7:30. The sun is shining in our room and we wake. I get this sinking feeling in my stomach. My bus will be here in an hour and a half to take me to the airport. We get up, get dressed and head downstairs for breakfast. He takes my hand and we walk. We say nothing. That hour and a half goes by like 20 minutes. We eat breakfast then go back to the room and collect our bags. I close the door, lock it and we sit in some chairs outside the lobby. It’s 8:45. He plays with the bracelet lock on his wrist, takes it off and puts it on my wrist. He looks at me and says “Don’t ever take that off”.
I HATE good-byes. Life really sucks at this very moment. 9:05 and the dreaded bus pulls in. I think for a split second, I could just not get on that bus. But the rational part of me knows I gotta go. The driver loads my stuff. I kiss him good-bye for the last time – again. I think we put on a show for the other people on the bus. When I got on everyone looked at me. I sit down and a couple in front of me turnaround. The man says “Is that your boyfriend you’re leaving behind”? Yeah, twist the knife a little more, thanks. “Yeah”. Please don’t talk to me I silently tell him. I just want to crawl up under the seat and die. But the couple continues to talk to me the whole ride into the airport. I don’t hear a word they say. At the airport I’m feeling numb. That’s it. Just a big black hole of nothing. As the plane takes off, I look down the coast. That must be Ocho Rios way down there. I wonder what he’s doing now. I do OK up until I get off in Miami. I walk up to the airport Burger King counter. The counter guy asks “What can I get you”? And instead of ordering my Whopper a big sob comes out and I burst into tears. I had to excuse myself and dragged myself out of Burger King. For anyone that was in the Miami airport near the end of January and noticed a girl pulling two bags behind her crying hysterically, that’d be me.
This would be the end (for now). [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
[qb] Magic, I was going to make a comment about the ice cream you bought....thanks for clarifying what flavor it WASN'T. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
[/qb]
LOL Cho man! Is why mi need THAT flayva ice cream jus to read one trip report?? Brite an outta arda!!
[qb] He falls asleep in about 5 minutes while I work on his hair for a good hour. He looks like a baby lying there.
After I finish, I wake him up and he throws a hat on . [/qb]
Did it look THAT bad after you finish and done??
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
[qb] I HATE good-byes. Life really sucks at this very moment. 9:05 and the dreaded bus pulls in. I think for a split second, I could just not get on that bus. But the rational part of me knows I gotta go. [/qb]
It never hurts to extend your stay by a day, or two or 60! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]
[qb] I sit down and a couple in front of me turnaround. The man says “Is that your boyfriend you’re leaving behind”? Yeah, twist the knife a little more, thanks. “Yeah”. Please don’t talk to me I silently tell him. I just want to crawl up under the seat and die. But the couple continues to talk to me the whole ride into the airport. I don’t hear a word they say [/qb]
Why do complete strangers feel the need to chat you up, especially on airplanes. When fly to/from work in uniform I get it all the time. Cho man! Nuh badda mi!
Dollybaby, excellent trip reprt. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] You get 10 points taken off because there are no pictures!!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img] But you get 12pts. extra credit for entertainment value! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img]
Now go to Jamaica tomorrow and aquire more material for Part III. Thank you. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
Originally posted by Boopie:
[qb] Hi Everybody, I"m not new to Jamaican.com just new to this forum! I use to luv reading things from Mrs. K"s board and this site is quite new to me! I just finished reading the saga of Dolly and Paul and had some of these same experiences if not more if anyone is interested I would luv to share my experiences tomorrow for now it is just to late to start!!! I"m sure you get a good laugh if nothing else. Ta Ta for now, Boopie [/qb]
Magic, I fully intend to post pictures for trip #3, hopefully I'll redeem some points back. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] I reserved a car to tour around the island so I hope to actually post a REAL trip report this time.
Bandanna, June 12th is the big day. 26 days and counting!!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Somebody come help me with this big tight knot in my throat. Oh girlgirlgirl!!!!!! What can I say???? I fell like taking up a collection to send you back tomorrow. You sure know how to tell a story.
Angie and Barbara......She is stealing our idea. A male gogo club. All the men we talk to say this will bw an impossibility in Jamacia. I like the idea, but I think it has to do with that homophobic stuff, as if gay men would go in there and watch the guys or soemthing.
But your report was WONDERFUL!!!!!!!! But there should be a fate that would put you two together.
Marilyn,
LOL...about the male go-go club. The first thing Paul said when I mentioned it was "I'm sure it would just be gay men that would go". I told him that in Canada and U.S. there are many clubs like that and women go all the time. He just wouldn't believe me.
i feel you here dolly, your last installment for the trip #2 reminds me back with my trip in January. i had a long 40 hours flight back to Singaopre and I cried so bad the whole trip back after I left him at the airport... he was heading back to NY after the next day...we are in LDR and he's ni NY and i'm in Singapore every time when he left here it hurts but that was the hardest I've felt after leaving him at JA airport ...may be its the surrounding and nature of JA does us.
Well since you're heading for trip #3, I wish you all the best....
Re: 'male go-go clubs' for women....twice last year in Sav, the Hotel Comingle had a show...the men were billed as The Hot Boys From Atlanta...a stateside group of Chippendale type form.
They were a smashing success, tickets were not cheap to get in.
When Sala and I had the go-go club in Little London two years ago, I knew there was a market for this....not on a regular basis, but special events a couple times a year.
However, the one thing the women were emphatic about - NO local men - in other words, no dancers from their own community.
I looked into booking the Hot Boys....$500US per night, per man, a group of twelve men. Out of our price range was a VAST understatement! Local women at the clubs were making $700-$1000J per night (less than $25US at that time.)
So much for double standards, and branching out. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.