Re: Other - Around Di Island, July 2004
July 26 - I have a few things to do on the internet, so we decide to go to St Ann's Bay and try the internet connection at the library. We had met a delightful couple and their granddaughter from N Carolina at Silver Seas. They had been telling us how they paid $200 for the 3 of them to go see the Blue Mountains and shared the vehicle with another couple who also paid a big fee. The driver drove like a bat out of hell, did not stop anywhere except to pull off the side of the rode when the other woman got sick and never told them anything about the scenery. They were very upset over this and so we decided to ask them to go with us for the day. They were nicely surprised and said they would love to travel around with us. They were kind enough to fill the gas tank. While all the others walked around St Ann's Bay, JM got on the net. The computers there were great and the hookup was much faster than Falmouth. The statue of Marcus Garvey at the library:
On the grounds of the library, they were conducting a summer school for children. I was impressed with the way they handled themselves, being very quiet and not moving around, in other words being nice little Jamaican children. I have noticed that with the children on the island, that they are not the screaming banshees like American kids. Summer school:
Without the zoom feature:
We saw a very disturbing situation at Mammee Bay for several days as we traveled by the spot. They were evicting many squatters on seaside land for, you guessed it, another AI. The police were there with bulldozers and the people were scrambling to get their things, taking down their huts, salvaging wood, tin and their meager belongings. We were told they had plenty of time to get out and procrastinated, but it still disturbed us. By this day there was very little left of the village except a couple pieces of furniture near the road. The land had been cleared of any indication of a village. Does this sort of thing foretell the future of Jamaica? All seaside land in AIs with nowhere for the locals to enjoy the sea? Speaking of locals enjoying the sea, we went on to James Bond Beach again to enjoy some more swimming. Their granddaughter had learned to swim in Jamaica and by this time in her trip she was spending most of the day in the water whenever she could. Wouldn't it be nice to say all your life that you learned to swim in Jamaica? I was sorry to see that the little boy wasn't there that day. I took a liking to him, minus his brashness. On our return into town, we continued on Dacosta Drive instead of turning at Main Street and stopped at a place (I'm not good at names) to eat and had a wonderful meal sitting on the large eating area outside, enjoying the flowers growing and the butterflies flitting around. The waitress had dropped a $1000J bill on the floor. Dickey scoops it up and hides it from her. He is just rutheless in his kidding around. When she notices it's gone, she is just scrambling around trying to find it. I'm sure it would have come out of her pocket if she didn't find it. Finally I say you better be nice because she's almost in tears. When he calls her over and hands it to her, she hits him. He gets what he deserves!!! She calmed down then and chatted with us for awhile. When we return to Silver Seas, Dickey says goodby until my next trip, as he has to return to work. I chat with the couple for awhile at the bar, enjoying some more of the infamous rum cream. Then it's back to the room to pack for Mobay. How could 13 days have gone by so fast?
July 26 - I have a few things to do on the internet, so we decide to go to St Ann's Bay and try the internet connection at the library. We had met a delightful couple and their granddaughter from N Carolina at Silver Seas. They had been telling us how they paid $200 for the 3 of them to go see the Blue Mountains and shared the vehicle with another couple who also paid a big fee. The driver drove like a bat out of hell, did not stop anywhere except to pull off the side of the rode when the other woman got sick and never told them anything about the scenery. They were very upset over this and so we decided to ask them to go with us for the day. They were nicely surprised and said they would love to travel around with us. They were kind enough to fill the gas tank. While all the others walked around St Ann's Bay, JM got on the net. The computers there were great and the hookup was much faster than Falmouth. The statue of Marcus Garvey at the library:
On the grounds of the library, they were conducting a summer school for children. I was impressed with the way they handled themselves, being very quiet and not moving around, in other words being nice little Jamaican children. I have noticed that with the children on the island, that they are not the screaming banshees like American kids. Summer school:
Without the zoom feature:
We saw a very disturbing situation at Mammee Bay for several days as we traveled by the spot. They were evicting many squatters on seaside land for, you guessed it, another AI. The police were there with bulldozers and the people were scrambling to get their things, taking down their huts, salvaging wood, tin and their meager belongings. We were told they had plenty of time to get out and procrastinated, but it still disturbed us. By this day there was very little left of the village except a couple pieces of furniture near the road. The land had been cleared of any indication of a village. Does this sort of thing foretell the future of Jamaica? All seaside land in AIs with nowhere for the locals to enjoy the sea? Speaking of locals enjoying the sea, we went on to James Bond Beach again to enjoy some more swimming. Their granddaughter had learned to swim in Jamaica and by this time in her trip she was spending most of the day in the water whenever she could. Wouldn't it be nice to say all your life that you learned to swim in Jamaica? I was sorry to see that the little boy wasn't there that day. I took a liking to him, minus his brashness. On our return into town, we continued on Dacosta Drive instead of turning at Main Street and stopped at a place (I'm not good at names) to eat and had a wonderful meal sitting on the large eating area outside, enjoying the flowers growing and the butterflies flitting around. The waitress had dropped a $1000J bill on the floor. Dickey scoops it up and hides it from her. He is just rutheless in his kidding around. When she notices it's gone, she is just scrambling around trying to find it. I'm sure it would have come out of her pocket if she didn't find it. Finally I say you better be nice because she's almost in tears. When he calls her over and hands it to her, she hits him. He gets what he deserves!!! She calmed down then and chatted with us for awhile. When we return to Silver Seas, Dickey says goodby until my next trip, as he has to return to work. I chat with the couple for awhile at the bar, enjoying some more of the infamous rum cream. Then it's back to the room to pack for Mobay. How could 13 days have gone by so fast?
I enjoyed this!
MODERAYTAH!!!.... JMiss finish her report too soon...please to mek her post more!