Re: Coming In From The Cold...an unremarkable trip report
Muse, when he started posing off with the "gun" hand, I considered sitting him down and trying to establish his frame of mind. Perhaps at an earlier point in Jamaica's history I would have chalked it up as a schoolboy having fun. I remember many such poses that my cousins and I would strike after watching some James Bond movie on JBC.
I think this kid's predicament is exacerbated by the fact that he's living near one of the most violent areas in the country. Spanish Town wasn't Beverly Hills when I was growing up, but people weren't abandoning entire neighborhoods to escape violence either.
In the end I had to cling to the belief that despite one's environment, self-respect and moral fortitude can rule the day. I'm hoping these kids have parents who recognize the need for strong guidance and discipline in these troubling times. If it doesn’t stop with his generation, Jamaica will surely descend into anarchy.
Thanks for the kind words as well – link is on its way!
Originally posted by StAnnMuse:
[qb]
SH - this really resonates with me...poverty is indiscriminate but choices that we make, circumstances handed to us, a kind adult, etc. can make a difference. That bad bwoy culture take root fast...we need more young men like you returning to say a kind word and lend some motivation/inspiration to these little guys and girls. Thank you SH for this report...it lights my spirit.
Oh yes, and I'd like that link too!
[qb]
Originally posted by Soul Hunter:
These three young men are standing outside when we arrive. They see me get out of the car with my obviously tourist camera and hail me up with a “wheh yu a sey sah?!” I say hello and ask them what they are up to, and the “boss man” responds, “bwoy we jus a mek it, you no see it?!” This kid doesn’t look a day over 10 years old folks…David gives them each a U.S. dollar, and we become instant friends.

boss man…[/qb]
These three young men are standing outside when we arrive. They see me get out of the car with my obviously tourist camera and hail me up with a “wheh yu a sey sah?!” I say hello and ask them what they are up to, and the “boss man” responds, “bwoy we jus a mek it, you no see it?!” This kid doesn’t look a day over 10 years old folks…David gives them each a U.S. dollar, and we become instant friends.

boss man…[/qb]
Oh yes, and I'd like that link too!
I think this kid's predicament is exacerbated by the fact that he's living near one of the most violent areas in the country. Spanish Town wasn't Beverly Hills when I was growing up, but people weren't abandoning entire neighborhoods to escape violence either.
In the end I had to cling to the belief that despite one's environment, self-respect and moral fortitude can rule the day. I'm hoping these kids have parents who recognize the need for strong guidance and discipline in these troubling times. If it doesn’t stop with his generation, Jamaica will surely descend into anarchy.
Thanks for the kind words as well – link is on its way!