Anyone have much experience with this? I was thinking about going for a month or so and figured I could just throw a hammock up by the beach or in the trees somewhere most nights. Cash is tight so paying for a bed every night would definitely shorten the trip. And by the way, what chance does a white boy from the midwest have of making it all the way around the island on foot? =) From what I've read it seems most of the crime in Jamaica is centered around Kingston so I've been thinking about doing a 10-15 mile/day pace and making my way around the island's edge. I know it's not the safest hike in the world but I'm not expecting it to be. If anyone's done something like this before, tips would be greatly appreciated. And if anyone thinks I really shouldn't do it in the first place, ya might as well let me know that too. I really think it could a great trip though, as long as I can get away with the camping.
Camping in Jamaica
Re: Camping in Jamaica
Hi Silly, welcome to the board.
I would not try that adventure just because the roads are narrow and pot holed and the driving in Jamaica is wild. I'd be afraid that I'd get run over. I guess it could be doable but I'd advise some caution. Most places in Jamaica are pretty safe but you have to remember it is a thirld world country and there is poverty there. Begging goes on from drug addicts and ghetto children. Decent citizens in Jamaica do not beg. Just use caution as you would anywhere else. If you would like to save a lot of $$ in Jamaica you could live with a family or even pitch a tent at Roots Bamboo in Negril. Tenting is very cheap in Jamaica. Staying in the tourists parts are a lot more expensive than the outskirts of town or even in the country. I hope that you have a wonderful time.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: schultz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Hi Silly, welcome to the board.
I would not try that adventure just because the roads are narrow and pot holed and the driving in Jamaica is wild. I'd be afraid that I'd get run over. I guess it could be doable but I'd advise some caution. Most places in Jamaica are pretty safe but you have to remember it is a thirld world country and there is poverty there. Begging goes on from drug addicts and ghetto children. Decent citizens in Jamaica do not beg. Just use caution as you would anywhere else. If you would like to save a lot of $$ in Jamaica you could live with a family or even pitch a tent at Roots Bamboo in Negril. Tenting is very cheap in Jamaica. Staying in the tourists parts are a lot more expensive than the outskirts of town or even in the country. I hope that you have a wonderful time. </div></div>
curious ting but i have had more Americans zonked out on drugs beg mi fi money in Negril....my regular is dis lady who seems to specialise in trying to sell coffee r ask u to change her american coins fi yaad money...go figga....as to the ghetto children, where r they encountered as a touriss...the average jamaican is not encouraged to come on hotel properties an travel to the odda places fi a chile is hard, tedious an expensive....now, if on forays to the ghettos to avail self of wateva self thinks is available there, well, is like mi going places here in the States that r depressed...hell, coming out of Sams in my ritzy naybahood, i encounter people begging fi money fi a meal...had to advise a 300 pounder two weeks ago, dat askin mi fi a dolla fi get a meal was not di bess way to go...at juss about every off ramp i see someone wid a sign an quite a few claim to be veterans....so u can see third world is relative and poverty is everywhere
now, as for the original poster, hanging a hammock juss so, anywhere in the world is not necessarily a safe thing these days...in some countries, ur status wud make u a kidnap for money prospect...in some places, maybe white slavery, some, political ideology statement, if u r in fact white...on Jamaican beaches, definitely a trespasser, given the fact that property for the most part is private....places may be vacation destinations yes, but safety issues r the same everywhere in the world as not allll the places or the people u may encounter viewing u in a benign way...
the world has changed an juss as u r careful in wat u do in ur own bakyard, use that same care wen u venture out...being a touriss does not make u a prospective victim....making poor choices in ur actions, does....travel safely....u buy insurance fi a flight so why then go cheap wid u life once u land
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: turtledude</div><div class="ubbcode-body">what would you do if someone stripped you of the possessions you plan to pack around? Just curious. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70456-eyebrows.gif[/img] </div></div>
I'd guess I'd have to deal with it. Just like I would anywhere else. Guns aren't common in Jamaica though, right? As for the roads being bad, I heard about that actually. I'll probably just walk offroad as much as I can and not risk getting hit. As for the beggars and "ghetto children", that'll probably just make the place seem more like home. I mean I'm poor and I live in a city, my neighborhood isn't exactly filled with picket fences.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Seveen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">sounds like a great adventure to me
i would try it if i had the time (and no child)
seems like a great way to meet folks
It does sound like a great adventure. A trip around the island on foot. However, I think if the year was 1950, this idea would have been much more practical then.
The road 'around the island' is not a sleepy country lane anymore and actually it won't be a pleasure, and as was mention it will be a hazzard most of the time.
Another point is that some of the most beautiful parts of the country lie in the interior districts, and the coastline itlsef is not necesarily the best place to be at all times.
I know of only one person who has actually done it, and he did it 30 years ago. Even then people thought he was crazy for doing it.
Camping can only be a safe proposition on secure grounds of places like Roots Bamboo that someone mentioned in Negril, or in remote areas like the Blue Mountains where it's too high and too cold for 'badman' to come looking for you. Everywhere else, unfortunately, in this day and age it would be not advisable.
If you want to do a trip like this, I would recomment using public transport (coasta, robot) for transportation (very inexpensive) and family owned small B&B for lodging. I know that may exceed your budget. In that case you may have to limit your movements, as long term guests pay less, and establish a 'base' and make shorter trips from there.
And re: guns... yes we have those in JA.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: schultz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Hi Silly, welcome to the board.
I would not try that adventure just because the roads are narrow and pot holed and the driving in Jamaica is wild. I'd be afraid that I'd get run over. I guess it could be doable but I'd advise some caution. Most places in Jamaica are pretty safe but you have to remember it is a thirld world country and there is poverty there. Begging goes on from drug addicts and ghetto children. Decent citizens in Jamaica do not beg. Just use caution as you would anywhere else. If you would like to save a lot of $$ in Jamaica you could live with a family or even pitch a tent at Roots Bamboo in Negril. Tenting is very cheap in Jamaica. Staying in the tourists parts are a lot more expensive than the outskirts of town or even in the country. I hope that you have a wonderful time. </div></div>
curious ting but i have had more Americans zonked out on drugs beg mi fi money in Negril....my regular is dis lady who seems to specialise in trying to sell coffee r ask u to change her american coins fi yaad money...go figga....as to the ghetto children, where r they encountered as a touriss...the average jamaican is not encouraged to come on hotel properties an travel to the odda places fi a chile is hard, tedious an expensive....now, if on forays to the ghettos to avail self of wateva self thinks is available there, well, is like mi going places here in the States that r depressed...hell, coming out of Sams in my ritzy naybahood, i encounter people begging fi money fi a meal...had to advise a 300 pounder two weeks ago, dat askin mi fi a dolla fi get a meal was not di bess way to go...at juss about every off ramp i see someone wid a sign an quite a few claim to be veterans....so u can see third world is relative and poverty is everywhere
now, as for the original poster, hanging a hammock juss so, anywhere in the world is not necessarily a safe thing these days...in some countries, ur status wud make u a kidnap for money prospect...in some places, maybe white slavery, some, political ideology statement, if u r in fact white...on Jamaican beaches, definitely a trespasser, given the fact that property for the most part is private....places may be vacation destinations yes, but safety issues r the same everywhere in the world as not allll the places or the people u may encounter viewing u in a benign way...
the world has changed an juss as u r careful in wat u do in ur own bakyard, use that same care wen u venture out...being a touriss does not make u a prospective victim....making poor choices in ur actions, does....travel safely....u buy insurance fi a flight so why then go cheap wid u life once u land </div></div>
[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/notworthy.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70458-applaud.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/notworthy.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SillySOB</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> As for the beggars and "ghetto children", that'll probably just make the place seem more like home. I mean I'm poor and I live in a city, my neighborhood isn't exactly filled with picket fences.
So would you hang a hammock down your street and sleep with all your "monthly" possessions right there??? ~probably not~ [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70388-shameonyou.gif[/img]
Being an person who loves camping myself, I have taken a tent to Maui to camp, and I understand the cost savings, as well as the desire. But like evanovitch states, use the same caution you would at home.
I suggest camping at a property that offers those services, and using the public transit to explore the island.
Good Luck!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SillySOB</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Guns aren't common in Jamaica though, right?
[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] sorry...this comment made me laugh. Guns aren't anymore common in Jamaica than in the US. So...how to define "common" is up to you.
Hanging a hammock along the way...nah...not something I would recommend. How would you know if you are on someones property that doesnt want you there?
AS for hiking off the main road and along the coast instead...dat nah go work! The coast line is littered with All INclusive resorts that wont let you walk across their property...
So, dont mean to burst your bubble, but I would suggest finding somewhere that specializes in camping...pop up your tent...and use that as home base then do small day trips around that immediate area.
It's definatly possible to camp in Jamaica.
1st--only camp where you pay someone. I've camped in a nice woman's side lawn, 30' from the surf at Long Bay in Portland, $10US per night with use of kitchen and shower. If you pay someone, they take responsibility for you, and will watch out for you better than yourself in most situations.
2nd--d'ont camp in the vicinity of any major resort area, Negril, Ochi, etc. Treasure Beach has good camping options, as do Portland and the Blue Mountains.
3rd--travel by bus on the main roads, trust me you will get almost as much exercize riding on the busses (feeling muscles that you did'nt know you had) walk into the hills, cooler there afterall, and much less traffic if off the main.
4th--hammock could work, but finding trees can sometimes be troublesome better a light weight backpack tent that fits on a double bed. This can double when you stay in cheap places with no screens, put the tent pon the bed without the fly, voila, no mosquitos buzzing around oyur head at 3:00am!
I could go on, I have camped at several places on the North Coast, in the Blue Mountains, but me a St Bess Boy now, come up and camp at my place, Baboo's Garden in Accompong, I'll be open by New Year.
Happy Camping
of course it is possible to camp in Jamaica...juss not all ovah di place because parts of it cater to visitors....the whole island is not a resort....juss like how certain States in America know fi dem facilities depending on ur interest, said ting fi yaad...
i read a post di odda day where someone said dat going to camp was not done in Jamaica...i had to laugh as we do have camps....from Girl Guide awn, we send our kids to camp..maybe not as much as during our gentler time, but we still enjoy all the amenities people worldwide do....
Well then yeah, I would say that guns are common in Jamaica if they really are just as common as in the States. I thought it might be more like Great Britian considering Jamaica's past. And there really can't be that many all-inclusives, that their sheer number would make a walk around the island infeasible. As for camping on someone's property, you're right. That would always be an issue but if I'm going 15 miles/day then you'd think I could find at least one place that seems safe enough to stay at.
To completely change the subject, I was talking about my possible plans to someone the other day and she told me about her cousin, who went to Jamaica and now insists that Jamaicans, for the most part, just hate white people. I have a really hard time believing that, I mean maybe rich tourists but not just white people in general. [censored], even I hate rich tourists. So basically, what I'm asking is am I right or is her cousin? Do you guys hear that kind of thing a lot?