Yes a tourist in Jamaica who is quite obviously trying to vacation on such a low budget is not going to be made to feel very welcome by some in places like Negril or Mo Bay.
"Gay CIA agent"?
Maybe you should of carried a Bible with you so you could have been rumored to be an over zealous missionary. Probably would have served you better than the gay CIA label.
betty boy and gay cia agent made me laugh [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
is how mi miss da chread yah [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70394-bawlout.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
i are deading [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] betty boy
yuh seet freakyG [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] betty boy [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] lord ha mercy, i'm jus picturin this in a my mind.
OMG, [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] an i'm sure NOBADDY got the joke. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] my belly, i'm cryin here. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
but really - is not funny, cause yes as a foreigner you really must have basic patois if you're goin off the beaten path. for REAL. Even know we dedding in here, is no joke.
but sillySOB it sounds like you got through just fine anyway, you seem like an expereicned traveler and a good-natured fellow, and on the ball. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> truly is just a different way of living. Hard to describe I guess, but I'm sure most of the people on these boards already know exactly what I'm talking about. And I miss it, now that I'm back here. Sure I can finally find a copy of the Times but now I have to read it under fluorescent lights, surrounded by skyscrapers and angry Americans. </div></div>
<span style="color: #996633">(ok sing it wit me nah...)</span> another one bites the dust
another one bites the dust
Yes, some more detail would be very welcome.
But no photos.....oh no [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/crybaby.gif[/img] I have to take two identical Sony DSC07 cameras with us when we go (for backup) plus a laptop to pffload the photos and videos (I can fill up the 4GB memory stick with 1 hour of video and the way I shoot, it happens often). But then I have not attempted to hike the country carrying all that gear either [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70394-bawlout.gif[/img]
Anyway, this thread suggests to me that Jamaica needs a really in depth guide to hiking and camping.....we are going to try and develop such on our soon come website and hope to get a lot of contributors to it. My own thinking is that there are lots of individual hiking/camping trips that can be safely undertaken (bad choice of verb [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/scareyuh.gif[/img]).
Some ideas, some of which we will be doing either over Christmas or in late April include such treks as:
1. Hike the roadless St. Mary coast between Sonrise and Port Maria..incredibly beautiful and isolated, no all inclusives (yet), fresh water available, can be done in a day if you are in an almighty hurry but can also be an overnighter.
2. Lots of choices in the Rio Grande valley in Portland such as the hike to Nanny Town, a Guava River trek, a search for the "lost waterfall" of the Blue Mountains, etc.
3. A real trek would be to follow the "Ring Road" around the Cockpit Country....this would probably take a week of foot travel and there are all sorts of variations such as cutting across the heart of the Cockpits via either the Troy/Windsor trail or the Quickstep/Pantrepant trail.
4. Another major trek would be to follow the abandoned rail line from Saint Catherine to Montego Bay or follow the other leg up through Bog Walk to the coast and on out to Port Antonio.
5. For some real adventure, one could hike the South Coast along the wild coastline stretching east from Pedro Bluff. This could be 2 or 3 days, perhaps hike out by following the trail up to Lovers Leap. It appears that there are some big time waterfalls or cascades coming down the escarpment of the Santa Cruz mountains which I suspect not many folks have seen.
6. There's also a major wild stretch of coast on either side of the Morant Point lighthouse.....there the danger might be from crocs as there appear to be a lot of salt marshes behind the beach strip.
7. Finally, I wonder if anyone has ever done a kayak trip around the island? This would take some planning, hence the need for a guide. But that would enable a trekker to bypass any private stretches of land including the all inclusives.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Freaky_Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">yes Siscaf seems like he took it all in stride [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif[/img]
nothing to joke about but still funny. </div></div>
That's the thing, it really is nothing to joke about. Here in the states I can tell the story and get a laugh but nobody realizes just how serious of a rumor that was. At the time, neither did I. Being gay in Jamaica is like being Jewish in 1939 Germany.
But anyway, in Negril I was pitching a tent next to Roots Bamboo. My second or third night there was a wednesday (big night at Roots) and I fell asleep listening to some of the best live music of my entire life, being performed live 20 yards from where I was sleeping. Never made it south of the lighthouse I'm sorry to say but I did do an overnighter into the "mountains".
Okay, so that just reminded me of a funny story. I was walking down the beach one night, heading back to my tent at something like 2 in the morning, when I came across this guy that was painting under one of the lights. We started talkin and I told him he had the best "studio" I had ever seen (on the beach, with the waves and the moonlight) and the next day I went back to check out some of his work in the daylight. And the guy was good. Damn good. He used the name "Jamaica Kris" on his paintings but I can forgive him for that since he was just so talented. Anyway though, I was walking around, checking out some of his work, when I came across this one piece that just made me smile because right away I knew why he had made it. Maybe he had been having a slow week when he painted it or maybe he thought Americans would rather by paintings that looked American, but it was obviously an attempt at the American cliche of painting scenes. It was this nice idyllic mountain view with deer and a log cabin, a small creek and pine trees, but then in the background, instead of true snow capped colorado rocky mountains... he had just put in the jamaican "mountains" that he was used to. Big hills covered in green and they looked so damn out of place.
Heh, still makes me laugh. He really was a great artist though. One night when I stopped by, he was painting a nighttime lagoon scene and even half done, I knew how good it was going to be. Sure enough, when I stopped by the next day, before noon, he had already sold it and had started working on another one. Someday I'm going to go back there and have him do an original piece for me, I guarantee it.
Anyway, on the way back to MoBay, I stayed at half moon bay for a night (highly recommended) and then a nice little place called Sunset Village, run by a guy named Ruddy and his wife Verne. I had talked to Ruddy on the phone that morning and as I walking the road, thinking I had gone too far, sure enough he pulls up next to me and yells "Get in the car!" Meanwhile I have no idea who the hell this guy is so I just say "No thanks, but do you know where Sunse.." "Get in the CAR!!!" he yells, before I can even finish. So I got in the car. After all, he looked harmless enough, right? But then he explained to me who he was and we had nice long laugh. He said he knew who I was right when he saw me on the side of the road.
I have to thank Ruddy and his family for showing me a side of Jamaica that I hadn't been able to find in Negril and MoBay. I'm a city boy here in the states but I still remember growing up in the Iowa cornfields and I think the difference between city and rural is no less strong in JA. I remember that night, I wanted to buy some cigarettes so Ruddy sent his 8 year old son with me to show me the way. Took me a minute before I realized this little 8 year old boy was there for my protection =)
Like I said, a different way of life.
And by the way, it's getting worse. Yesterday, I just missed Jamaica. Today I'm jonesing for it.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">And by the way, it's getting worse. Yesterday, I just missed Jamaica. Today I'm jonesing for it. </div></div>
MM-HMM. . . [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
like i sed....... another one bites the dust
get used to it silly, cause that feelin will never leave you........ you gonna be in Jerusalem or Jordan or somesuch exotic place and yuh gonna look around and say to your self.. "Self, what the EFF am I doin HERE anyway???" [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">And by the way, it's getting worse. Yesterday, I just missed Jamaica. Today I'm jonesing for it.
yes, from now on, all your dollars will be going to fund your trips to jamaica . . . this thing is worse than any drug . . .
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: sistacaf</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">And by the way, it's getting worse. Yesterday, I just missed Jamaica. Today I'm jonesing for it. </div></div>
MM-HMM. . . [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
like i sed....... another one bites the dust
get used to it silly, cause that feelin will never leave you........ you gonna be in Jerusalem or Jordan or somesuch exotic place and yuh gonna look around and say to your self.. "Self, what the EFF am I doin HERE anyway???" [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] </div></div>
i know that's right [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.