Originally posted by Englan Girl:
[qb] I'd like to make a contribution but as part of a group. I have a Paypal account and can use Western Union/Monegram. [/qb]
Originally posted by kumba1:
[qb] I would prefer to contribute as a group. I have used Western Union and Paypal so am familiar with both. Would we need someone to offer/elect to be the collecting and transfer point? [/qb]
When I hear the lady in Jamaica again and publish that letter. I will then formally ask X to designate a person to deal with the collection and disbursements.
Okay. The Chief Social Worker at UHWI has now provided us with the contact info. for the St. Andrew Settlement which provides services and assistance at Majesty Pen where this family lives:
If you have any problems get back to me. Ms Fay says that the web site has lots of info & dept links (not had time to have a look yet)
she is a memeber..... Hope this helps, I'll be back to you soon Re:last email...
Bless,
Libby
Thanks Libby
Tuff Gong, as soon as you are able to post contact info. for the family, etc. I will pass it on to the Chief Social Worker at UHWI and she ca coordinate with St. Andrew Settlement and the other 2 organizations to provide assistance to this family. Please keep us posted about where we can send our money.
Originally posted by Tropicana:
[qb] Tuff Gong, as soon as you are able to post contact info. for the family, etc. I will pass it on to the Chief Social Worker at UHWI and she ca coordinate with St. Andrew Settlement and the other 2 organizations to provide assistance to this family. Please keep us posted about where we can send our money. [/qb]
This would be very good, as I am doing my own thing here...my own individual contribution. So far all the email addys posted here on this thread, have generated no replies. Hopefully, I'll recieve some after holidays. The telephone number posted here by Tropicana is incessantly busy.
So many contact names posted here, and I keep bumping into dead ends. What I would especially like to know, is the name of the recipient/mother receiving the donation..her name was posted here as Diane?
Further telephone numbers and email addys, etc. would also help, especially telephone numbers. I prefer to communicate person to person. It makes things so much easier. Please...for those of us giving confidentially. Thank you.
This would be very good, as I am doing my own thing here...my own individual contribution. So far all the email addys posted here on this thread, have generated no replies. Hopefully, I'll recieve some after holidays. The telephone number posted here by Tropicana is incessantly busy.
I can understand your frustration however, this might explain it. Jamaica had a holiday last Friday and one today so you won't get through to anyone. That may be part of the problem. Hopefully, Tuff Gong will post the other info soon. In the meantime, try working through Libby, she has gotten through a couple of times to that number in the past week. Also, if there is another Jamaican based boardite preferably in Kingston who can help out with local calls can help us. If I were on the spot, I would take half a day and drive around to those locations. At the best to times, it can be hard to get through on the phone. Especially with the holidays, there are a lot of people trying to get through to Jamaica right now and the exchanges are probably busy.
Originally posted by blueingreen:
[qb]...So many contact names posted here, and I keep bumping into dead ends. What I would especially like to know, is the name of the recipient/mother receiving the donation..her name was posted here as Diane? xxbig [/qb]
All gifts even within a group is going to be confidential. What caused some members includiong myself to say how much they were planning to contribute is that originally it was to meet the figure mentioned by the lady. That is not so no more.
Apparently the IOJ-YC is marshalling donations for the family. One contact from there who the writer of the story was helpful enough to point me to has contacted me a gave some names including hers.
As soon as she gets in touch with me to say that I can publicly post the names and the telephone numbers and if not those which ones, then I will post it on the Board.
It is a holiday in Jamaica and anyone who knowa enough about Jamaica knows that a Holi-day might easily mean a holi-week, so Friday or Monday would most likely be the day when I will here. I will also put in a few callls to the number starting from Thursday to see if the office is open.
Very likely any or everyone wishing to verify the family's story or to contribute directly to the family and/or their rep(s) can use the addresses, links, names, phone numbers and email addresses that will be posted here.
igglesfan
would like to be part of the group contribution, and I have a paypal account
Peace....no need to be scared just watch this post and looks for more details.
Originally posted by remo:
[qb] A job well done
Tuff Gong,Tropicana,SistahD.thanks [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img] [/qb]
You know what, I'm sooooo I'm having second thoughts about this Aston business. I cannot get in touch with anyone about it, phone lines are busy, etc. Excuses, excuses, delay, delay..and the most important question of all is...
Why the hell should I allow myself to be bullied or intimidated into giving my money away to some careless woman, who obviously doesn't have enough respect for herself, let alone these poor innocent children whom she brought into this world, where one of these very same children, Aston, is now terrorizing Kingston? Ah mean..what the dil-lio?
Referring to my first question "would it help?" HEEEEEEEL NO!!! If you folks want to go ahead and place a bandaid over this situation..go right on ahead..feel free. You all want to send her that $10,000? You have my blessing. I already have my charities I donate to in Jamaica, plus others I support here in the US and other countries. I don't particularly need another one, especially through some internet community.
This is the internet, so I'm not going to take anyone of you seriously. I'll just laugh off it off, because I feel a few of you on this thread at this moment are frauds anyway. Suh latah fe unu!!
Originally posted by blueingreen:
[qb] You know what, I'm sooooo I'm having second thoughts about this Aston business. I cannot get in touch with anyone about it, phone lines are busy, etc. Excuses, excuses, delay, delay..and the most important question of all is...
Why the hell should I allow myself to be bullied or intimidated into giving my money away to some careless woman, who obviously doesn't have enough respect for herself, let alone these poor innocent children whom she brought into this world, where one of these very same children, Aston, is now terrorizing Kingston? Ah mean..what the dil-lio?
Referring to my first question "would it help?" HEEEEEEEL NO!!! If you folks want to go ahead and place a bandaid over this situation..go right on ahead..feel free. You all want to send her that $10,000? You have my blessing. I already have my charities I donate to in Jamaica, plus others I support here in the US and other countries. I don't particularly need another one, especially through some internet community.
This is the internet, so I'm not going to take anyone of you seriously. I'll just laugh off it off, because I feel a few of you on this thread at this moment are frauds anyway. Suh latah fe unu!!
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.