Re: Riddim & Ryme Sunday 11th 9 pm (8 Jamaica time)! with Joan Hutchinson
Originally posted by Compry:
[qb] Logging in from the road and trying to catch up. Not sure if anyone has asked this before...Joan, are you planning on performing in Canada this year? [/qb]
Truth be told, I have not been performing much recently. Butin answer to your question.. no.. have no plan for Canada. But if a prmoter invites me.. I may consider
Originally posted by Young Blood:
[qb] hi Joan, can my mom get your cd to buy??
Where in can she get it?
do you write only in jamaican? [/qb]
You didn't say where your mom is. No I don't write only in Jamaica. Even when I do, I am very conscious of internatinal audiences because it is part of the role of using Jamaican culture to bridge gaps and erode negative stereotyes of Jamaica. I teach each year at the University of The West indies, groups of students who are here on a college semester abroad programme, from School for International Training in Vermont. I teach them Jamaican language and culture, so yes I use the Jamaican language, but I explain a lot of stuff so non Jamaicans can understand.
Oh boy, Joan Young Blood is mi 11 yr old journalist [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] wi live a canada
Joan - is the CD out yet? If so... we have about 40 members who will be hitting the sands at Ochi in the next few days... Xavier included... they could pick up a few copies to send back [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
especially one for my special little ((YoungBlood)) who isn't quite 12 years old yet! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
Originally posted by yardy:
[qb] How dod you fit performing, writing and all the other activities in your schedule ?
Misses yuh have yuh han dem full [/qb]
It takes planning and organizing, and learning to prioritixze. My day starts at 4.00 a.m.. If I hagve a psare moment, let's say I am at the doctor's office waiting for an appointmetn, I am either writing, reading, editing, or sleeping, I utilize my time relatively well. You have to , when you have a busy schedule and a young pbaby. Right now I am helping to trian the finalists in the Miss Jamaica Festival Queen competion, in how to answer interview questions , present themselves on stage and how to perform their talent piece. Training starteed last week.. summer school at UWI ended the week before,..so a bit of scheduling has to take place also
Arite, mi figive yuh.... Si di questian here... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
Hello Joan!
Welcome to ja.com!!! We are very fortunate to have you....
Lets talk about the name.... DatBumbyHeadGal..... Love it!!!
I know you probably have had tons of questions about "why" and "how" you came up with that.... But let me ask you again .... "why dah name deh?" [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Originally posted by Young Blood:
[qb] Joan mi understan jamaican, but mi cannot write it good [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [/qb]
That means you are perfectly normal. you see, because it has been an oral language, there is no standardized writing system, . so what is correct and incorrect is totally subjective. There is a writing system developed at the university but it is meeting some resitance especally among older people. A couple of schools are embracing it. It is loosely called the Cassidy system and it was developed by two British Linguists who were in Jamaica, Frederick Cassidy and Robert lePage
Yuh eva, do nuttin special fi Mass Ran yet??
Mi noh seh yuh do fi Miss Lou dats why mi hask [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Where do you see Patomime 10 - 15 yrs from now?
Do you see more young jamaicans taking part in cultural events?
Mi noh seh wen mi did a grow mi did love Miss Lou dialect dem aan every play a schoool mi did haffe een deh
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.