Re: EXCLUSIVE: Condoleezza Rice Threatens Jamaica Over Aristide
Originally posted by CEW:
[qb] So do we take the focus off Aristide and his alleged atrocities because the US wants him out of JA/the region? Give me a break! If you look at it from the Haitian perspective, the man was a threat to his own people and his removal from office was within the best interest of all concerned. Perhaps if we lived in Haiti, we would see things a tad differently. [/qb]
Originally posted by MarieK:
Didn't he stand by while Charles Taylor maimed and murder people in Liberia just last year. What did he do, he positioned his troops on the water. Where was the humanitarian service in that?
[/QB]
Excellent example of Dyammed if you do, dyammed if you don't.
Originally posted by Night Nurse:
[qb]
Didn't he stand by while Charles Taylor maimed and murder people in Liberia just last year. What did he do, he positioned his troops on the water. Where was the humanitarian service in that?
[/qb]
Excellent example of Dyammed if you do, dyammed if you don't. [/QB]
in Liberia's case he should have ousted him because the torture was much worse. the Liberians were facing rape and murder the likes of which Haiti could only dream about. If it was political corruptedness then it would be bad and not so bad, but the anguish fo the people for years did nothing to heed Bush. People petitioned the government for help and they did nothing.
Who petitioned him on behalf of Iraq? The Oil maybe?
So tell me something, if he didn't go into Liberia which was much worse why did he go into Haiti.
Hmmmm could it be be because fo Haiti's strategic Location.
Nuff a we weh up yah a swear fi di US and dem soon tek we tun we out.
[qb]
[qb]
[/qb]
Excellent example of Dyammed if you do, dyammed if you don't. [/qb]
in Liberia's case he should have ousted him because the torture was much worse. the Liberians were facing rape and murder the likes of which Haiti could only dream about. If it was political corruptedness then it would be bad and not so bad, but the anguish fo the people for years did nothing to heed Bush. People petitioned the government for help and they did nothing.
And reportedly, they tried to avert the same bloodshed in Haiti, and look at the reaction? The US is damned if they do, and damned if they don't. Do you have any idea what was going on in Haiti? The bloodshed the rebels swore was going to happen if Aristide did not resign? At that point the rebels were virtually in control, and were already executing people. I guess CARICOM standing by and watching would have helped the Haitian people, huh?
aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon
[qb]
[qb]
[qb]
[/qb]
Excellent example of Dyammed if you do, dyammed if you don't. [/qb]
And reportedly, they tried to avert the same bloodshed in Haiti, and look at the reaction? The US is damned if they do, and damned if they don't. Do you have any idea what was going on in Haiti? The bloodshed the rebels swore was going to happen if Aristide did not resign? At that point the rebels were virtually in control, and were already executing people. I guess CARICOM standing by and watching would have helped the Haitian people, huh? [/qb]
so, the rebels who were executing Haitian people were rewarded by having Bush come in and help them out by getting rid of Aristide?
My point is MG that it was the rebels who won. But wiat wasn't that what they did in Afghanistan when Russia invaded. They went down there and put the Taliban which was a recognized group into power and look.
They have successfully corroded democracy in that country only to take it over 8 or so years from now.
maybe a me and PJ one see dis but umm, he was re-elected. HOld another election before the time and have the soldiers there monitoring it but you don't go into someone's yard and kidnap them. Oh well you can if you are USA.
[qb] And reportedly, they tried to avert the same bloodshed in Haiti, and look at the reaction? The US is damned if they do, and damned if they don't. Do you have any idea what was going on in Haiti? The bloodshed the rebels swore was going to happen if Aristide did not resign? At that point the rebels were virtually in control, and were already executing people. I guess CARICOM standing by and watching would have helped the Haitian people, huh? [/qb]
I absolutely agree with you CEW. If the US did not step in (whether by force or otherwise) and remove Aristide, can you imagine the havoc that would have escalated in Haiti? How many more lives would have been taken?
I agree Jamaica should decide who they accept on their land, but IMO, special provisions should not be made for a man who failed and caused corruption in his country!! He should suffer the consequences for his actions.
Furthermore, Jamaica has enough of its own problems which need to be addressed much less taking on or creating more!!!
in my humble opinion,jamaica shouldnt have got involved in this ugly mess in the first place.
aristide was nothing but a little jumped up powermad dictator,and its obvious his term in office was not in the best interest of haiti,and the people of haiti.
pj patterson shouldah lef him weh him deh
a since when jamaica start get involved innah international politics to that extent.
I dont think jamaica is in any position to be playing on big bwoy table juss yet,it cant even afford to blow its own damn nose.
however,there are proper diplomatic channels to resolve these issues without the bullying that america is reported to be applying.
as I stated before,I think its just a storm in a rum bottle,....and all this hype is a bit premature.
if aristide is in jamaica against the wishes of the americans,then pressure will be added,..and I guess in the end pj will buckle,even with the support of caricom,..I rather hopes he stands firm if it comes to it,but we have a saying in jamaica......if yu han inna tigah mout pull ie out slowly.
Can any tell the United States who they should have in this country. United States got involved in Haiti's problem because they do not want these boat load of refugees landing at their shores.
[QUOTE]Originally posted by mountaingal:
[qb] [QUOTE]Originally posted by CEW:
[qb] [QUOTE]Originally posted by MarieK:
[qb]
[qb]
And reportedly, they tried to avert the same bloodshed in Haiti, and look at the reaction? The US is damned if they do, and damned if they don't. Do you have any idea what was going on in Haiti? The bloodshed the rebels swore was going to happen if Aristide did not resign? At that point the rebels were virtually in control, and were already executing people. I guess CARICOM standing by and watching would have helped the Haitian people, huh? [/qb]
so, the rebels who were executing Haitian people were rewarded by having Bush come in and help them out by getting rid of Aristide? [/qb]
TRIED TO AVERT WHAT? AFTER THE CARICOM DELEGATION HAD A CONFERENCE WITH THE REBELS TO STOP THE BLOODSHED SINCE THEIR ACTIONS WERE CAUSING SO MUCH INNOCENT DEATH, THE REBELS WOULD NOT AGREE TO A COMPROMISE OF A POWER SHARING COALITION AND THEN LETTING THE PEOPLE DECIDE IN THE NEXT ELECTIONS COMING UP. SO AT THAT POINT CARICOM WENT TO THE UN, US AND FRANCE TO SEND PEACEKEEPING TROOPS TO STOP THE BLOODSHED SWEEPING HAITI, NOW THIS WAS WEEKS BEFORE THE TERRORIST ENTERED PORT-AU-PRINCE, BOTTOM LINE IS THERE WAS NO RESPONSE, SO I DO NOT KNOW WHICH PART OF TRYING TO AVERT ANYTHING THAT THE US TRIED TO DO. ESPECIALLY SINCE THE BLOODSHED IS STILL OCCURRING NOW AND THEIR ARE REPORTS COMING OUT OF HAITI ABOUT AMERICAN TROOPS IGNORING THE KILLING OF INNOCENT IN THE STREETS.
US AND UN HAD ENOUGH TIME TO COME IN AND GET INVOLVED BEFORE IT GOT TO THIS, THEY DECIDED NOT TO. CARICOM DID NOT STAND BY, THEY TREID EVERY AVENUE OF DIPLOMACY, ONCE THAT DID NOT WORK THEY DEMANDED THAT THE UN STAND ON THEIR SUPPOSED MANDATE AND GET INVOLVED BUT WERE SNOOBED BY THE UN.
WHY DID CARICOM AND PJ GET INVOLVED?
IF A SMALL GROUP OF CRIMINALS CAN BE WELL FINANCED AND ARMED BY OUTSIDE AGENCIES AND BE ALLOWED TO GO THROUGH A CARIBBEAN COUNTRY MURDERING PEOPLE AND THEN DEPOSING A DEMOCRATICALLY ELECTED LEADER THEN ONE MUST REALIZE THAT COULD HAPPEN TO ANYONE OF US, HENCE IT MUST BE STOPPED
CARICOM HAS MADE A STANCE ON DEMOCRACY THEY MUST MAKE EFFORTS TO UPHOLD IT IN THEIR REGION
HAITI IS A PART OF THE CARIBBEAN, WE SHOULD BE LOOKING OUT FOR EACH OTHER'S WELFARE IF WE ARE TO MOVE FORWARD WITH SOME KIND OF STRENGTH IN THIS NEW ERA
Originally posted by neutral:
[qb] in my humble opinion,jamaica shouldnt have got involved in this ugly mess in the first place.
aristide was nothing but a little jumped up powermad dictator,and its obvious his term in office was not in the best interest of haiti,and the people of haiti.
pj patterson shouldah lef him weh him deh
a since when jamaica start get involved innah international politics to that extent.
I dont think jamaica is in any position to be playing on big bwoy table juss yet,it cant even afford to blow its own damn nose.
however,there are proper diplomatic channels to resolve these issues without the bullying that america is reported to be applying.
as I stated before,I think its just a storm in a rum bottle,....and all this hype is a bit premature.
if aristide is in jamaica against the wishes of the americans,then pressure will be added,..and I guess in the end pj will buckle,even with the support of caricom,..I rather hopes he stands firm if it comes to it,but we have a saying in jamaica......if yu han inna tigah mout pull ie out slowly. [/qb]
JAMAICA HAS ALWAYS BEEN INVOLVED IN INTERNATIONAL POLITICS, WE HAVE ALWAYS BEEN THAT SMALL NATION THAT HAS STOOD UP ON PRINCIPLE AND HAD A BIG VOICE WITH IT, IT IS A TRADITION I AM PROUD OF.
I AM VERY PROUD OF PJ FOR STANDING ON THE PRINCIPLED FOOT, I AM VERY PROUD OF JAMAICA FOR ALWAYS TAKING THE HIGH ROAD
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.