Rest In Peace Sweetssop
This is a sticky topic.
Originally posted by CurtisD View PostHello Sweetssop,
I know that you are still around looking out over all of us.
The kind and gently words that you posted in all your messages to me will be missed.
The way that you expressed yourself shows what type of person you are.
I am sure that you went ahead to pave the way for all of us when it is our turn to join you.
There are so many reasons why I will always remember you SS.
We were born in the same parish of St Bess.
The way that you put your sentences together using kind words.
Careful not to offend anyone.
You inspire one person and that person will inspire someone else and the chain goes on and on.
Proving the point. Write in a way that people will understand you,
Not in a way that they will mis-understand you.
To the X-MAN and all the administrators here,
may I suggest that we continue the work that SS started.
A forum award for kindness to fellow j’cans.com boardites.
With her name on it.
Lately I have been shocked and amazed at how cruel some people from this planet have become.
It would be nice if we all re-read or rethink any answers before sending out the reply.
Be nice – avoid confrontation- ignore the person if possible.
They will soon learn by their own mistakes.
Here are a few lines from a poem that I wrote about Jamaica in the year 2006.
“Visitors who come to our shores
often rave about how much they have
learned from our people.
How to have fun, be friendly,
courteous and show respect.
Now that you have learned this,
please go out and help all
new visitors to our island.
Share all the good that you have learned.
Start this by being
polite on this forum.
Isn’t this why you love
Jamaica and keep returning.
Someone stepped up and
made an impression on you.
Now it is your turn to help
others to feel the same way” ……
LOVE ALLA UNNU! Hate that it took this to bring me back to this wonderful place.
Great suggestion Curtis. We should add it to the end of year awards we used to do. I know we have not done it in a while...please throw something at me in October to remember.
Ochigal that was really funny....dwlOut of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com
Originally posted by Xavier View PostIf I remember correctly Sweetssop was instrumental in the annual call-a-thons we did at the beginning of each year. One of the fun events that was such a blessing. Seeing all the old friends come back here to pay tribute to Sweetssop is really great.
Who is gonna talk about mi crusty heel back now?
SS never mek mi figet seh mi foot noh tan good.
CurtisD - good to see you and love your post.
Going to end with one note and that is: Death ends a life, not a relationship. SS will always be with us in spirit.
One Love.
Let's do the Call-a-thon in her honor. Lets pick a date. Who know the logistics of it?
Ms Portmore sorry for your loss.Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com
I am truly sorry to hear this. She was way too young to be gone so soon.
I pray for strength of spirit for her children. I know the road they now have to walk.
Lawd, life is for the living....love the ones you are with since tomorrow doesn't belong to us.
Sleep well SweetSop. Sleep well.
Ah, NO!
Now I know why I chose to visit Jam.com today. This is devastating news. I, too, spoke with Sweetsop during one of call-a-thons and even so many years later, have very fond memories of that time with her. She was such an easy person to speak with.
I feel as though she allowed us to go along with her on the journey of her darling daughter growing up. Bre was certainly the light of her life. I did not know she had a son, but I have no doubt that his light shined brightly for her as well.
This is hardly the way I wanted 2013 to begin. Rest well, sweet lady.