Originally posted by MaasDee:
[qb] Do you think that if Seaga was black, he would have been just as or more loved than Manley?
Do you think Patterson has held on to power so long because he's black or because of his abilities as a statesman? [/qb]
Patterson has held on to power because Seaga refused to go quietly which is good if you are a PNP supporter...but then again his replacement so far isnt doing any better.One could say that there is no effective opposition to the ruling party at the present time [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
MaasDee yuh sure know yuh way roun de politrix fi summady new [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
Originally posted by MaasDee:
[qb] Do you think that if Seaga was black, he would have been just as or more loved than Manley?
Do you think Patterson has held on to power so long because he's black or because of his abilities as a statesman? [/qb]
Patterson has held on to power because Seaga refused to go quietly which is good if you are a PNP supporter...but then again his replacement so far isnt doing any better.One could say that there is no effective opposition to the ruling party at the present time [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
MaasDee yuh sure know yuh way roun de politrix fi summady new [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img] [/qb]
I am not new to Jamaican forums as I belong to a few.
I didn't post here before in a past life so if I resemble someone that used to post under another avatar it purely coinsidental.
On the Seaga issue, why did he "have to go"? Most Jamaican politians employ garrisons and dons in ther bid to gain/keep control of their power bases. He was also a master financial wiz and Jamaica's biggest problems, next to murder, has always been financial.
People just hate Seaga because he's white, in my opinion.
Seaga was what kind of financial whiz?? was he not a sociology major or something similar at Harvard. I respect Seaga as he helped pave the way to bring home the body of Marcus Garvey, but he also "help" started the bad man business with the infamous 1968 election, then he bankrupt his own business forget to pay taxes to the goverment took out big million dollar US loan when he was prime minister, "forgot" to pay it back, the whole black scandal bag comment did not help either. People also angry how he handled the Gilbert event, carrying camera crews to show rachet fight at stand pipe, also there were "alleged" reports of using the relief money and materials from the US to give to his buddies.
PJ and the PNP have maintained power because there was chaos in the party, when Golding left, the party was infighting and divided, people saw that. Seaga know alot about the country history but because he is not a Jamaican by birth also, people might not like him, also he is too confrontational...I remember watching parliment on TV and here was Seaga telling some MP "fi go watch him chicken farm, and no watch mi"...it did funny no hell to me as pickney but pickney no vote.
If jamaicans hate him dem sure have a funny way of showing it..This man was elected into office continually since 1959 this must be some kind of record for a democratic society,But yet according to you he was hated because he is white [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
Elected twice as Prime Minister(but hated because he is white [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img] )
In spite of his alleged wrongdoings
Initially seen as a man of the left when he began his political career, Seaga moved to the right when he took over the JLP from Hugh Shearer in 1974 in a sustained attempt to wrest political power from the rival People's National Party led by Michael Manley. In this regard Seaga helped foment a culture of political terror that bordered on civil war in the 1970s. To ensure external support that would lead to electoral success, Seaga's Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) is alleged to have actively supported and funded many of Jamaica's vicious gangsters and street gangs who unleashed a reign of terror in which many homes were set on fire, people shot as they tried to escape the inferno and fire-trucks prevented from putting out the fires. His efforts were counteracted by the party of his opponent, Prime Minister Michael Manley, but the forces of the JLP prevailed even though Manley won the 1976 general elections. source
Originally posted by Kingston20:
[qb] I remember watching parliment on TV and here was Seaga telling some MP "fi go watch him chicken farm, and no watch mi"...it did funny no hell to me as pickney but pickney no vote. [/qb]
Reminder Swallow tea before reading Kingston20's posts.
If jamaicans hate him dem sure have a funny way of showing it..This man was elected into office continually since 1959 this must be some kind of record for a democratic society,But yet according to you he was hated because he is white [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
Elected twice as Prime Minister(but hated because he is white [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img] )
In spite of his alleged wrongdoings
Initially seen as a man of the left when he began his political career, Seaga moved to the right when he took over the JLP from Hugh Shearer in 1974 in a sustained attempt to wrest political power from the rival People's National Party led by Michael Manley. In this regard Seaga helped foment a culture of political terror that bordered on civil war in the 1970s. To ensure external support that would lead to electoral success, Seaga's Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) is alleged to have actively supported and funded many of Jamaica's vicious gangsters and street gangs who unleashed a reign of terror in which many homes were set on fire, people shot as they tried to escape the inferno and fire-trucks prevented from putting out the fires. His efforts were counteracted by the party of his opponent, Prime Minister Michael Manley, but the forces of the JLP prevailed even though Manley won the 1976 general elections. source
Oh come on now Remo, there may be people reading this thread who dont know the truth so why yu trying to mislead them with tainted information?
Seaga didn't start the gun wars in Kingston, "Mad Dog" Dudley Thompson did. He first started issuing guns in Denham Town and surrounding area from the Back-a-wall era, Seaga only evened the game. Plus how could anyone forget Tony Spaulding and his Junglist garrison, that's where the real terror in Kingston was and still is? Remember how they burnt down Eventide Home aka Almshouse? Remember that and the hundreds of poor people they killed when yu want to talk about fire. They even threw babies into the fire.... PNP.... please!
Don't have much more to add now as mi got turkey fi go brush but stop posting half-sided biased arguments trying to demonize Seaga and just write the whole truth, if yu realy know it.
If they hated seaga so much fow come he was s0 successfull as an MP?
Are you suggesting that the people in his coonstituency only voted for him because they have to?
Oh what an emotional expression!!
When are we going to realize that emotions feel good to express,but is not always right.
Are you suggesting that the people in his coonstituency only voted for him because they have to?
When are we going to realize that emotions feel good to express,but is not always right.
"THEY?" Which "they" yu talking about?
How come you act like yu so intelligent when yu talking bout your party and when it comes to Seaga and JLP yu tun idiot? I didnt say the whole of Jamaica hated Seaga but your reply infers that, why?
Anybody using their faculties would understand that I am speaking about those that voted against him and not everybody in Jamaica.
Cho, yu a waste a time! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70392-silly.gif[/img]
"THEY?" Which "they" yu talking about?
How come you act like yu so intelligent when yu talking bout your party and when it comes to Seaga and JLP yu tun idiot? I didnt say the whole of Jamaica hated Seaga but your reply infers that, why?
Anybody using their faculties would understand that I am speaking about those that voted against him and not everybody in Jamaica.
Cho, yu a waste a time! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70392-silly.gif[/img]
A use of emotions again!
When will you learn,that emotions speak about you, while logical analysis deals with the topic?
essentially jamaicans are race conscious in the sense that they know they are african majority, but not racist. so seaga & manley for that matter were judged as individuals by the people, not races.
now in a place like latin america they would be watching his race a lot more closely.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.