While browsing the pages of the Gleaner and the Observer I've noticed the following pattern:<ul type="square">[*]the opposition party is very tepid indeed and the statements they do make don't seem to be widely publicized
This statement was reported in a news brief in one paper and on the Radio Jamaica web site. I never saw it reported elsewhere, i.e. the other major daily paper.
[*]the party in power NEVER responds to allegations made against it
The rebuttal is made by the JPS although Mr. Mullings directly addressed the govt. regulatory body and ministry in a call to action. The regulatory body fobbed the problem off on the GOJ, from where, like a black hole, it has never come out again.
[*]neither party ever seems to address the common man on the issues and in terms that can be understood by the electorate ("more man have cyar" does not count)
It took a board member in post #19645971 to explain what all the fuss was about. Why the dickens didn't Mr. Mullings say all that in the first place? I may have missed it, but I haven't seen any follow-up from either party after the JPS issued their statement. Does this mean the problem has gone away?[/list]So what do you think? Should the level of discourse be improved and how? Or is it just right as it is?
This statement was reported in a news brief in one paper and on the Radio Jamaica web site. I never saw it reported elsewhere, i.e. the other major daily paper.
[*]the party in power NEVER responds to allegations made against it
The rebuttal is made by the JPS although Mr. Mullings directly addressed the govt. regulatory body and ministry in a call to action. The regulatory body fobbed the problem off on the GOJ, from where, like a black hole, it has never come out again.
[*]neither party ever seems to address the common man on the issues and in terms that can be understood by the electorate ("more man have cyar" does not count)
It took a board member in post #19645971 to explain what all the fuss was about. Why the dickens didn't Mr. Mullings say all that in the first place? I may have missed it, but I haven't seen any follow-up from either party after the JPS issued their statement. Does this mean the problem has gone away?[/list]So what do you think? Should the level of discourse be improved and how? Or is it just right as it is?