OK, I'm yet again behind times with technology so I don't know anything about these gadgets and was wondering how to use one in a car? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70361-embarassed.gif[/img]
MP3 Player
Re: MP3 Player
Well compry so far as far as I know this is an issue.
You can go to Future Shop or Best Buy and get a little transmitter device. You plug it into your MP3 player's headphone jack. You then turn on the device and turn on your MP3 player and tune your radio to a FM station that is given to you in the instructions for this transmitter device. And there you have it. The music on your MP3 player will be played over your radio.
The bad news is that I purchased one about a year ago did not give a really clear signal. I ended up taking it back to the store to get a refund.
I think the new car stereos have MP3 jacks built into them so that would be the way to go.
There is a special cable with whcih you can attach the mp3 player to the radio in your car. In case your the cassette player/radio in your car doesn't have this facility, there are some mp3 players that you can connect to the lighter in the car.
Or, probably the best choice would be buying an mp3 player for your car. It may cost more than buying a portable mp3player but it's more certain it will work properly even when you're driving on a bumpy road (portable ones have an anti-shock system but they usually stop playing when it is moved violently and when the shock is over they resume playing).
Hope this is of any help to you.
several methods available, but probably the easiest is to buy a cassette adapter that plugs into your mp3 player's headphone jack and has a cassette on the other hand that you insert into the tape deck in your car. quality isn't crystal clear digital, but it works. from there it could be player specific (lots of options for ipods) but you can do the same wirelessly, hard wired, etc.
Hold up...hold up. I don't have a MP3 Player...my car supposedly has one. I know how to use a cassette, the CD player and even the radio but I thought MP3's were little boxes that you can save a bunch of music on. How would I save music in the car? I'm totally clueless.
My friend said it enables you to play burnt CDs but that doesn't make sense to me since it also has a CD player. Why would they put two of the same devices in the car?
Compry - Nowadays CDs come in different styles. If you go and purchase your favorite artist at the music store, that CD will be in "WAV" format. If you download songs off the 'net and have them sitting on your computer, they're going to be (probably) in MP3 format. Usually when you burn them to a CD, the burning process converts them from MP3 to "WAV".
What this means for you is your car's CD player can play both file types. Mine is the same way: I can burn a couple dozen songs to a regular CD in MP3 format instead of WAV and my car's stereo will play the CD.
The benefit? MP3 files are significantly smaller than WAV (which is what a commercial CD plays), which means that you can burn a couple dozen songs on one CD as opposed to just 14 or so WAV. I hope this makes sense [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
The downside? You end up with CDs that can only be played in your car or with your computer - which to me isn't a big downfall since the audio on my computer is far superior than my reguar CD player [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
I guess you initially confused us. Compry the term you are looking for is: You have an "MP3-compatible CD player" in your car radio. The circuitry automatically will scan the CD and determine what type of CD you have inserted and it is about to play. Depending on the make of the radio, you may have a slight delay initially while it figures out the CD format.
THIS VERY IMPORTANT:
To burn MP3 to a CD you copy them as files, don't allow your CD burner software to convert them. If you do you won't get the results DanielTh mentioned above. There is a difference between CD-audio tracks which are on a normal CD and MP3's as was already explained. Usually there is a function somewhere in the software that says, "copy mp3 to CD" or Burn MP3 Play-list to CD". If you use drag-and-drop method, with programs like Easy CD creator, the software will usually assume you want to convert to CDA/wav format. You need Software like MusicMatch to do it.
J-kid, I confuse me a regular basis. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Under the sound systems feature it says AM/FM stereo with CD and MP3 players. It's the section in bold that confused me. Why didn't they say, CD/MP3 players.
Sanks for your help.
Mek mi ask yu. Do you si anyting anywhe dat look like ah likkle memory card slot?
If yuh spot wan, dem dem is correct, it has ah built in MP3 player dat allow yuh fi plug ah memory stick in deh fi play yuh MP3's. Look real good den com back an tell mi.
Opppsss forgot about this. It has the ability to play MP3s CD and that's it.
Thanks everyone.
I would also like to point out that (H)AnnA(H) had given me the correct information and so I am taking this opportunity to publicly acknowledge that (H)AnnA(H) is quite knowledgeable beyond her years. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Soul Hunter</div><div class="ubbcode-body">several methods available, but probably the easiest is to buy a cassette adapter that plugs into your mp3 player's headphone jack and has a cassette on the other hand that you insert into the tape deck in your car. quality isn't crystal clear digital, but it works. from there it could be player specific (lots of options for ipods) but you can do the same wirelessly, hard wired, etc. </div></div>
You can also use an FM Transmitter!
Tuff Gong, a wey yuh find dis ole thread? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
I no longer have that car and I can't play MP3 CDs in the new car [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70394-bawlout.gif[/img] but it does tell me how many kilometres I can drive based on the amount of gas I have.
Speaking of which, anybody know if I can convert MP3 CDs to regular CDs? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70402-thinking.gif[/img]