Dutty Blue screen of death twice
Re: Dutty Blue screen of death twice
What you can do is to download that to a media that is boot-able to the laptop. .
So that even if the laptop completely freezes, due to software errors, this program will repair the BIOS and then you can reload the operating system and start over like a brand new computer
the next thing you need to do is to check the key you need to press to get in the BOIS.
And when you get in the BOIS the first thing you need to do is to check the clock date.
If it is not right correct it,and try the laptop, before doing anything else.
Sometime just that will cause a lot of errors. You can find the Key, by just Googling it.
every maker seem to use different keys.
Although they are kind of settling down to F2. Buy yo be sure just check.
All the stuff that use to run through before windows come on in the old computers were BIOS sector information. What happen is that as they get modern,n and to save time, the conputers bypass that to speed up installation of windows.
All you have to do is don't mess with whatyou don't know. And if you change anything,put it back to how it was.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: dahJahPawtTwo</div><div class="ubbcode-body">so would this be what I need??? </div></div>
Hmmmmm. I haven't played with a raid drive in ages, but I recall using utilities to sync them up. Screw what the manufacturers tell you. It's kinda' like Microsoft telling that you upgrade Win98 to WinXp instead of a clean install. Those of us that been around Windows long enough know a clean install is best to keep your sanity.
Here is what I would do. Check if the hard drives are infected in any way. I'm not yet convinced they are clean of any malware, hijacks, viruses.
www.eset.com
malwarebytes (sorry, look this one up. Mi tired.)
trendmicro.com
If anything is found, quarantine it so that you can go back and reference the names.
Then if you can list some of the information in the blue screen before the screen shuts off. (especially the filenames if there are any.) It seems to be happening often enough where we can determine if the same memory info, or filename is involved. That will give me something to research. Memory has already been mentioned. When memory is going bad, it can do strange things that will drive you crazy until it fails for good. Some of these chips will test perfectly fine with diagnostic tools.
What about overheating? That can cause the blue screen too. BTDT until I realized the stupid fan wasn't working.
So here I am at this time wid dis eedyat ting.
I put back in the new HDD's 250GB's each since we now know is not de drive.
I went to toshiba's euro site and got the latest BIOS which was 2008, I loaded that and was still able to recreate the same fufool error.
My bredren gave me a program called <span style="font-weight: bold">combofix</span>, I ran that and it got rid of the error
So now mi a guh duh everything like b4 to try and bring back the error again.
Combofix is a powerful program. If that resolves the problem, then it confirms that the pc had malware. Did you keep any of the logs from the program? It would be helpful for future reference as some of these things will reload, even after using combofix. If you know the name, then you could get specific help for the particular malware. Some of them are a RPITA to remove.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Where would this malware come from?</span>
Even aftah I re-do the whole computah wid de dvd it came wid de ting was still popping up after a while.
The error has come back again, but Combofix got rid of it until it come back a next time.
I can post the log nex time, cah it nuh mean a dyam ting tuh mi.
i look chroo it an mi cyan si a couple a de name een deh dat I saw when the errors started.
There are so many out there, it is difficult to say where it came from. If you can find a name, you can get more information. Some of them will even prevent online scanning from the sites I listed above and some will shutdown antivirus programs that are running. Like technology, they are always changing. It's tough to keep track, but the behaviors are quite similar in how all of them work. The way you described the problem is why I said that I'm not yet convinced the drives were clean. That said, it might not be the <span style="font-style: italic">only</span> problem. It might just be the start...
Nuh mean fi scare you, but ah d troot.