Get a Droid.
You get GPS free with it.
This include the use if Google maps voice search.Google goggles picture search.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Bizi_Oh_Em_Gee</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> </div></div>
Subscribe to the Compusa.com (compuseless) email. You'll get an email a day with some pretty good deals. A Garmin 265wt is around $130 now. You get Waas and traffic. The only issue is that traffic is going to go away next year IIRC. My biggest gripe with the stand alone units is that they are not detailed enough. If I turn up the detail, it still isn't detailed enough and some units slow to a crawl. I used to use streets and trips on my laptop for my travels and since I got my pda two years ago, I've been using google maps and bing maps. Bing maps has the turn by turn with a minor bug, but it works. I have a nationwide, north america plan with no roaming charges. Also been to Canada too with no roaming and the maps feature works great. The GPS does pull quite a bit of battery, but usually it's enough to get me where I'm going. I also carry an inverter in the car, so I can plug in the phone. The carrier is trying hard to get me to upgrade but I have no reason to do that yet.
Any of the smart phones with 3g or the new ones with 4g should be good. The edge network sloooooooow. If using that phone, I sometimes get blocks of missing maps. No issues with that on the 3g phone. The features on the stand alone gps vary. Some have bluetooth, sd card, fm transmitter. The fm transmitter allows the sound to go through the car radio. It works when I want to play mp3, but it seems I have to change the channel every 1 hr or so because the station I choose gets noisy. You also get the gps instructions through the radio. IMO, it works most of the time, but if I were to get my own stand alone, I'd modify the antenna to work better. The picture viewer is so slow with a large card, IMO, not worth the feature. I usually position the stand alone so it isn't sitting directly in the sun and if I can, point an AC vent to it to keep it cool. Garmin IMO is better with ease of learning. It is the same with aircraft stuff they prepare. Much easier to learn and figure out without having to resort to reading the manual. Other than that, have fun trying to decide.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Mi partial tuh Magellan Roadmate, but mi second choice is Garmin Nuvi.
Tom Tom graphics is terrible. </div></div>
I got a Tom Tom when I rented a car when I was out of town one time, and mi neva si de use a it...i ended up having to print map quest directions everywhere i was going
I was about to say TomTom. I love my Tommy. I was in Cleveland on Sunday and decided to take a human being word over my Tommy. Got lost and eventually had to apologize to my Tommy because he was leading me in the right direction. I've had no issues with it.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Compray</div><div class="ubbcode-body">..had to apologize to my Tommy because he........
(((TomTom))) </div></div>
Ah pure mad people pan Jamaicans.com
Did he tell yuh sey, him accept yuh apology, an forgive yuh?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Compray</div><div class="ubbcode-body">..had to apologize to my Tommy because he........
(((TomTom))) </div></div>
Ah pure mad people pan Jamaicans.com
Did he tell yuh sey, him accept yuh apology, an forgive yuh? </div></div>
Hey, mine has a nice male British voice. I'm pretty sure he forgave me because he brought me to my destination then brought me back home to Canada.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.